Sarah G. (angellove1705) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife
Anne Frank: The Book, The Life, The Afterlife
Author: Francine Prose
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book was disappointing. This book was a review or examination of Anne Frank's diary. Nothing special.


Better Each Day: 365 Expert Tips for a Healthier, Happier You
Better Each Day: 365 Expert Tips for a Healthier, Happier You
Author: Jessica Cassity
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book was useless for me. If you keep up with health news you already know what is in this book. It had a lot of get more exercise, try a new vegetable, take a vitamin, etc. This is best for a beginner in working on their health.


Chocolate, Please: My Adventures in Food, Fat, and Freaks
Chocolate, Please: My Adventures in Food, Fat, and Freaks
Author: Lisa Lampanelli
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/12/2013


Really disappointed with this book. I couldn't make it past page 10 because I was bored and a little disgusted. The author cusses. A lot. Ok a lot is an understatement. Most of it is distracting. Add to this being bored and you have a bad combination. Couldn't figure out how she was considered funny.


The Chronicles of Narnia: The Lion, the Witch, and the Wardrobe : The Official Illustrated Movie Companion (CHRON NARNIA)
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book was fabulous. An an adult I loved seeing and reading the details to make the movie. Would definitely recommend if you are a fan of the movie.


Decorating Ideas Under $50
Decorating Ideas Under $50
Author: Better Homes and Gardens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book wasn't bad, but it also wasn't amazing. I didn't mark a single page to remind me of something I liked.


Dirt is Good for You: True Stories of Surviving Parenthood
Dirt is Good for You: True Stories of Surviving Parenthood
Author: Editors of Babble.com
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book was horrible. I found so many of the stories literally made me cringe. I was disgusted with the woman who is always naked around her kids, the woman who allows her child to be naked in public, the woman who thought it was fun to cross nurse with a friend, etc. I was shocked that these stories could be considered interesting and entertainment. Would not read and would not recommend.


Dollar Store Decor : 100 Projects for Lush Living That Won't Break the Bank
Review Date: 3/7/2012


This is a really disappointing book. Most of the crafts are pure ugly or repeated over again in a different version. This is more suited to the 10 and under age group.


Dumbemployed: Hilariously Dumb and Sadly True Stories About Jobs Like Yours
Review Date: 12/28/2012


This is an alright book. Some of the stories are funny and some are not. There seems to be a lot of filler with the little cartoons. The way she book is organized doesn't make much sense. I would say this has some funny bits, but a lot are things that are boring.


Eating for IBS: 175 Delicious, Nutritious, Low-Fat, Low-Residue Recipes to Stabilize the Touchiest Tummy
Review Date: 10/5/2013


This has a ton of restrictions and she doesn't want you to ever stray from her way. Most of the recipes are of things I wouldn't normally eat. I had high hopes for this one, but it falls short. Only thing I liked was the intro of what IBS is for so many of us that suffer through it.


Home by Novogratz
Home by Novogratz
Author: Robert Novogratz, Cortney Novogratz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/28/2014


This book is disappointing. The designs in this book are not really anything I would want to use in my home. I found a lot of the looks look like they were not really designed with any really idea in mind. I really only liked the tree house which I found was beautiful. The other problem is that the budgets on the spaces is really high, which an average person cannot afford. Altogether this book is something I would not pick up again.


I Surrender All
I Surrender All
Author: Clay Cross, Renee Cross
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2012


I could relate to what happened, but could not get into the book itself. Things were repeated over and over and I never finished it.


Lauren Luke Looks: 25 Celebrity and Everyday Makeup Tutorials
Lauren Luke Looks: 25 Celebrity and Everyday Makeup Tutorials
Author: Lauren Luke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/10/2012


I am very divided on this. I had never used Lauren Lukes videos, but liked I could have this book to refer to. I loved the feel of the book with lots of bright colors. I liked a few of the makeup looks, but felt a lot were too out there. I agree with the other reviewer that most of the looks do not really look like what she is copying. I find that hard to understand considering people rave how closely her looks match up. I tried two looks and thought they did not look like the intended look so stopped trying after that. My other problem was that she describes the colors needed, but doesn't given an example. Even if she had just given a reference to her makeup line it would have helped explain the colors needed better. Not impressed.


Rescue Your Nails
Rescue Your Nails
Author: Ji Baek
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 8/10/2012


This book gives great, detailed steps to taking care of your nails. I personally didn't learn much, but I have been doing my own nails for years and before that had regular appointments with professionals. I would have liked to see more tips to prevent smudges and such.


Weekend Baking: Easy Recipes for Relaxed Family Baking
Weekend Baking: Easy Recipes for Relaxed Family Baking
Author: Sarah Randell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 1.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/10/2012


I am an experienced baker and found this book much more complicated then it seems. This book called for a couple of ingredients not usually found at the grocery store. And a lot of the recipes are of the gourmet variety. Disappointing.


What's The Number For 911 Again?
What's The Number For 911 Again?
Author: Leland Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/13/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is a horrible book. I laughed at one story in the whole book. I agree there are a lot of weird stories, but zip on the hilarious stories. This felt like someone needed to fill space in the book. I would not want to read this again.


1 to 15 of 15