Deena C. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 33 - Page:
Alamo House
Alamo House
Author: Sarah Bird
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 1/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


This books starts slowly, but as it progresses you become increasingly more involved in the lives of the main "stars". You begin to empathize with their struggles and laugh as they attempt to outwit the nasty boy's house across the street. The girls grow as people as they grow together as friends. Not a book to read over and over, but compelling still and the scenes with the fraternity across the street are laugh-out-loud funny.


Angels All Over Town
Angels All Over Town
Author: Luanne Rice
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 2/19/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Anyone with two (or more!) sisters will appreciate the author's exploration of the relationships between three Irish Catholic sisters. You will empathize with the situations and understand Una's heartbreak and undying love of her sisters. If you don't have sisters, you may not understand this book. I loved it as the theme and characters resonated with me. It's not a great book, but a goodone and one I'm very glad I read.


Angus
Angus
Author: Charles Siebert
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/13/2012


Angus is the life of a Jack Russell Terrier as seen through his eyes, from his birth on a farm to his tragic death. Anyone who loves dogs will like this book. Anyone who knows Jack Russells will LOVE this book. Mr. Siebert perfectly captures this feisty breed. I loved the way the story is told from Angus' viewpoint and enjoyed looking at the world through his eyes. WARNING: you WILL cry and not just at the end. The book is written in flashbacks as Angus reflects on his life while he brokenly crawls back towards his home. The final chapter is from the owners' viewpoint as they reflect on Angus' life. I highly recommend, but keep a box of tissues handy!


Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Annie Freeman's Fabulous Traveling Funeral
Author: Kris Radish
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 297
Review Date: 3/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Moving story about four women who don't really know each other, but all know the title's Annie Freeman. Annie posthumously sends them on a trip to scatter her ashes in spots across the U.S. that were important to her in her life. As they travel they become friends and share their secrets, fears, and love as well as re-examine their life choices. Sometimes the plot was contrived and occasionally the characters were a bit one-dimensional, but this was a great ride! You'll cry and want to buy your own pair of red tennis shoes! My only complaint is that I wish she had chosen fewer women so we could have become more familar with the characters.


The Black Ship
The Black Ship
Author: Christopher Rowley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/30/2008


Back Cover:
Deadly Distraction
After the War for Eternity, the Arizel aliens appointed the Highland Clans of Fenrille to lead the planet's defense. But just fifty years later, Fenrille was under dual attack-- not only had a wayward son of the Fundan clan revolted, but THE BLACK SHIP, a huge spacecraft from Earth, was attacking clan strongpoints from orbit, hoping to fill her stores with stolen longevity drugs before fleeing to hide among the stars. And, distracted by the deadly combat, hardly anyone took notice that the universe was in deadly peril...


Blood on the Moon (Lloyd Hopkins, Bk 1)
Blood on the Moon (Lloyd Hopkins, Bk 1)
Author: James Ellroy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/27/2008


Detective Sergeant Lloyd Hopkins cant stand music, or any loud sounds. Hes got a beautiful wife, but he cant get enough of other women. And instead of bedtime stories, he regales his daughters with bloody crime stories. Hes a thinking mans cop with a dark past and an obsessive drive to hunt down monsters who prey on the innocent.

Now, theres something haunting him. He sees a connection in a series of increasingly gruesome murders of women committed over a period of twenty years. To solve the case, Hopkins will dump all the rules and risk his career to make the final link and get the killer.

A brilliant detective and a mysterious psychopath come together in a final dance of death. --The New York Times

One of the great American writers of our time. Los Angeles Times

Ellroy is either our greatest obsessive writer or our most obsessive great writer. Either way, he is turning the crime novels mean streets into superhighways. Financial Times

Nobody in this generation matches the breadth and depth of James Ellroys way with noir. Detroit News

"A blood poet who writes as chain saws crank, Ellry has vigorously redefined the well-shadowed turf of contemporary crime fiction." --The Atlanta Journal-Constitution

"His spare noir style . . . hits like a cleaver but . . . is honed like a scapel." --Chicago Tribune

"Ellroy's characters are drawn with a firm brush, he has an excellent line in flinty, sardonic dialogue, and you terribly want to know how the whole thing is going to work out in the end." --The New York Times

"Our best living mystery writer. . . . Literate, suspenseful, honest. . . . His pages crackle with maniac energy. . . . Ellroy captures the vocabulary, the rituals, the smells and rhythms and colors of real people living on the edge. . . . Nobody since Chandler has evoked so perfectly the seamy side of LA." --Austin Chronicle

"Bold, electrifying. . . . Ellroy strips prose to its raw, gleaming bone. . . . James Ellroy is an American original, a sophisticated primitive as smooth as the snick-snick! of a pump shotgun and as subtle as the inevitable blast." --The San Diego Union-Tribune

"Ellroy's writing is powerful . . . his pacing relentless . . . his characters real. He is a major talent." --Miami Herald

"More than any other contemporary author, Ellroy gets inside the skull of the sadistic psychopath. . . . A true original." --Jonathan Kellerman


Bump and Run
Bump and Run
Author: Mike Lupica
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/23/2009


Let me say right out front that I'm a woman who never watches football. However, a friend recommended Lupica and I read this book. While the inside look at football was fun, it was really the relationships between the new owner and his team/family/girlfriend that drove this book. There are some scenes that are rauncy, but in a funny way. Many scenes will make you laugh until you cry.


Burning Bright
Burning Bright
Author: Melissa Scott
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/15/2009


Set on the free-port planet "Burning Bright". Features human and "Hsai" empires, fighting for dominance. Burning Bright is the center of virtual-reality gaming and the book tells the tale of a young programmer that becomes enmeshed in political intrigues far above their imagination. Very interesting.


But Inside I'm Screaming
But Inside I'm Screaming
Author: Elizabeth Flock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 186
Review Date: 1/21/2012


Extremely sympathetic main character. Very easy to read and deeply moving at times. You journey with Isabel as her life falls apart and she slowly puts it back together. You discover her back story in bits and pieces as she confronts those "demons". Very enjoyable.


California Demon: The Secret Life of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 2)
Review Date: 1/6/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Not as good as the first, but the first made you care so much about the main character that it's a no-brainer to get the second. It's a little more serious than the first, which had hysterically funny moments. Still, a good book.


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 276
Review Date: 1/6/2009


This is one of my favorite paranormal mystery books. The others in the series are okay, but this first one makes you really care about the main character and it's FUNNY! I've had to keep buying the series so as to follow the character, but none compare to this first one.


Carrie Pilby (Carrie Pilby, Bk 1) (Red Dress Ink)
Carrie Pilby (Carrie Pilby, Bk 1) (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Caren Lissner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 81
Review Date: 3/3/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Let me start by saying that this book is not "chick-lit", however it's very interesting and had me glued to the pages the whole plane trip. Carrie is a child genius who skipped three grades in school and ended up in college at 15. Because she was rarely with her age group, she never learned to interact socially. She tries to apply logic and reason to all her relationships, with poor results. The book is about her at 19 and her journey towards finding out how to interact with people and to make friends, as well as how to give her life meaning. It has a slow start, but Carrie grows on you and you end up rooting her on as she searches for a way to reconcile her oh-so-logical mind and her heart's need for human relationships.


Crocodile Soup
Crocodile Soup
Author: Julia Darling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 5/7/2009


Gert is trying to live her life while coming to terms with her past. She realizes that she had buried herself (archeologist humor, wink-wink) in her work as a way of coping with her traumatic childhood. She has obviously suffered from mental illness, as did her mother and twin- a boy genius. A fasinating look at a dysfuntional family trying to cope with mental illness in an age where there was little to do about it. Wild twist at the end that is perfect.


Dating Big Bird
Dating Big Bird
Author: Laura Zigman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 3/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Funny, touching book about a woman who is hearing her baby clock ticking LOUDLY, but is dating (and in love with) a man who can't commit. Great exploration of her relationship with her sister and niece as well as how the two of them relate to their mother. Not too deep, not too teary- just a great fun read with a little substance set against a fashion industry backdrop.


Decked (Regan Reilly, Bk 1)
Decked (Regan Reilly, Bk 1)
Author: Carol Higgins Clark
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 130
Review Date: 12/30/2008


I like both Mary Higgins Clark and her daughter Carol. Carol's books tend to be lighter. Both are good reads. This is the first of the Regan Reilly series.


Devil's Punch (Corine Solomon, Bk 4)
Devil's Punch (Corine Solomon, Bk 4)
Author: Ann Aguirre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 11/13/2012


I enjoy Ms. Aguirre's books and this one was no exception. There were several places where I wondered where she was going with this character and how she would ever get her back, but it concluded with a believable ending and is even possibly better than the first in this series.


Dogs and Goddesses
Dogs and Goddesses
Author: Jennifer Crusie, Anne Stuart, Lani Diane Rich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 2/13/2009
Helpful Score: 7


I'll start by saying that I LOVE Jennifer Crusie's books, so I have high expectations for any book with her name on it. However, this is not her finest. It's good, but not as good as "Welcome to Temptation", "Tell Me Lies", "Agnes and the Hitman", etc. It was well worth the price (got it on sale at Target!) and enjoyable, but just not as great as I expected. The talking dogs were funny and the three main women were well-fleshed out, but the guys were pretty interchangeable. I wish they had narrowed down the number of females in the group as seven plus the goddess was too many. The concept was fasinating and the ending funny, but "The Unfortunate Miss Fortunes" (the other book Crusie has co-written with two other authors) was better.


The Dress Lodger
The Dress Lodger
Author: Sheri Holman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 12/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I really enjoyed this book. Such a stark contrast between the poor mother's earnest devotion to her son and the way the rich doctor and his fiancee treat them as less than human- even when being "charitable". You can really FEEL like you're in the setting- the images are evocative and the characters deeply compelling. I cried along with the mother in the story!


The Galaxy Builder (Lafayette O'Leary,  Bk 4)
The Galaxy Builder (Lafayette O'Leary, Bk 4)
Author: Keith Laumer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/15/2009


Older sci-fi novel about a man who can create alternate realities through mental power. He finds himself in an alternate reality and is not sure if he put himself there or if he was put there, but wants to get back home to his wife in his own reality/world. Interesting foundation for a light sci-fi novel.


Good Citizenship (Little Books of Wisdom)
Review Date: 2/20/2009


Originally published in 1908, this little book contained an essay by President Grover Cleveland on what constitutes "good citizenship." It includes observations on patriotism and holiday observance. It's fasinating to read what this very early President thought about our rights and obligations as citizens.


1 to 20 of 33 - Page: