Kris P. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
The 14 Day Stress Cure: A New Approach for Dealing With Stress That Can Change Your Life
Review Date: 12/27/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Easy read, you basically read a chapter a day for two weeks if you do it how the book says. It really does make sense, stress is just a word. Have to say I did feel better after reading the book and trying to incorporate the techniques into my daily life. I used to have very bad anxiety and the book isn't the only thing that helped but it did give me things to think about and consider. Worth the read.


The Autobiography of Vivian
The Autobiography of Vivian
Author: Sherrie Krantz
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 5/1/2009


I was a bit surprised as I normally find biographies boring or sad. This one is hilarious. I'm in my mid 30s and can definitely relate to this story of a 20-something "green" adventurer. I went to NYC about a week after I finished the book and really got a feel for what she was talking about. Her struggles with work and relationships is very real and common. Her quirkiness and clumsiness are so funny, definitely familar to those of us that are not so graceful. It actually made me LOL while reading it. Enjoy!


Briar Rose
Briar Rose
Author: Kimberly Cates
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/27/2006


Great read! Very suspenseful and it's the first time I've seen an author have so much conflict, not only internally but externally in a romance book.


Couplehood
Couplehood
Author: Paul Reiser
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 12/31/2005
Helpful Score: 1


very funny and cute


The Devil in Crystal
The Devil in Crystal
Author: Erica Lindley
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/31/2005


romance and terror, it is set in very old times. This book is from 1977 but still in good condition. The cover is torn on the corner


Emotionally Engaged: A Bride's Guide to Surviving the "Happiest" Time of Her Life
Review Date: 10/5/2009


This is a must read for those engaged or talking about getting engaged. Even if you're a newly wed I'd suggest it. Initially I read this to help find out why BF and I were bickering more lately and why I was feeling so insecure despite knowing he has a ring and a proposal ready. The waiting was driving me nuts. What I got from the book was much more. The author takes you through relationships not only with your SO, but others that are close to you and goes over the dynamics of how those relationships change. I recently cut ties with two long term and very close friends, one over her wedding and the other over my SO, so I really got to understand what may have happened in those. I understood things differently from my friend that got married and how she may have felt about the situation. On the flip side I understood better my other friend and how she was feeling like she was losing me. While it did not repair either relationship for me, I defintitely have a better sense of peace with what happened. And now that our engagement is fastly approaching (or so I think!) I feel more prepared to handle the ups and downs of emotions and planning.


False Accusations
False Accusations
Author: Alan Jacobson
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/31/2005


Great story, a prominent surgeon is accused of rape and murder. Follow his story and try to figure out his secret. Couldn't put this down. This is an advanced copy but is the same as the printed copy as I checked it out at the library to make sure.


HOW TO TURN AN INTERVIEW INTO A JOB
HOW TO TURN AN INTERVIEW INTO A JOB
Author: Jeffrey G. Allen
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  ?
Review Date: 12/31/2005


still in plastic, never opened


The Invisible Circus
The Invisible Circus
Author: Jennifer Egan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 8/9/2006
Helpful Score: 2


Great read! Suspenseful and emotional. Phoebe struggles with the death of her father and then a few years later her sister. Her sister was always daddy's girl and Phoebe's insecurities take her on a trip to find not only the resolution to death's mystery but herself as well.


A Knight in Shining Armor (Montgomery, Bk 16)
A Knight in Shining Armor (Montgomery, Bk 16)
Author: Jude Deveraux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 244
Review Date: 1/21/2006


Very cute story! Dougless starts off as a timid and bullied woman going on a small vacation with her boyfriend and his spoiled rotten daughter. She then finds herself helping a man that has come from the past. He doesn't understand and she helps him to find his way back to his own time. Along they way they try to discover why they have such a bond and feel as though they've known each other for centuries. The story takes a surprising twist and Dougless finds herself going back in time into a flithy and repulsive town where her knight was from. They are lost to each other.............will they find their way back together and how can they love when they are from such different times?


A Little Fate: The Witching Hour / Winter Rose / A World Apart
A Little Fate: The Witching Hour / Winter Rose / A World Apart
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 225
Review Date: 12/31/2005


Three Nora Roberts stories in one book. I couldn't put them down, read the entire thing in 2 days!


My Scandalous Bride: The Lady and the Tiger / Melting Ice / Wedding Knight / The Proposition
Review Date: 1/19/2007


This is a collection of short stories, love, tragedy, historical romance. Very good read and for those just wanting shorter stories instead of a long novel, this is perfect.


Natural Causes
Natural Causes
Author: Michael Palmer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 1/23/2007


A young doctor encounters several deaths of women dieing in similar circumstances during labor, finding that the herbal vitamins she herself perscribed is the common link. She is now fighting to save her career and reputation although she's certain there is an unknown fact. Is murder and set up this game?


One True Thing
One True Thing
Author: Anna Quindlen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 7/9/2006


Very moving and can relate to anyone that has taken care of and suffered the loss of a loved one. It's very true, doesn't sugar coat the family life of someone that's terminally ill. A great read and actually very inspiring.


The Pilot's Wife
The Pilot's Wife
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1651
Review Date: 1/28/2006


Riveting story, very hard to put down. It will make you cry and be just as shocked as the character in the book. After Kathryn's husband dies in a horrific plain crash, she tries to remember if she really knew her husband as well as she thought she did. Her daughter seems to have more insight into this. In her search, she discovers love and laughter, betrayal and hurt. An Oprah's Book Club book.


Saint Maybe
Saint Maybe
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 6/27/2006
Helpful Score: 3


Very interesting. The main character who is torn between living a normal life or that of raising his son's children is quite manages to also join a church that is almost cult like. Along the way he struggles with his decision and debates whether to become a priest, marry, be a father, and then live with the secret that he punishes himself with daily.


The Secret Life of Bees
The Secret Life of Bees
Author: Sue Monk Kidd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5487
Review Date: 1/28/2006


For me this was a strange but interesting story. Set up in older times, when racism was still prominent in the south, a young girl sets off to seek her mother. Her mother has been dead for many years. Discover how the bees are her map to a home filled with love and many hurtful events.


Sexual Detours : The Startling Truth Behind Love, Lust, and Infidelity
Review Date: 11/12/2010


Not only for those dealing with an affair but also helpful when reading about SLA (sex and love addiction). There are real scenarios and stories as well as logical explanations for the behaviors.


Short Straw Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 339)
Short Straw Bride (Harlequin Historical, No 339)
Author: Dallas Schulze
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 8/28/2006


Very cute story!! The main character lives in her aunt and uncle's home, miserable as she watches her greedy and coniving cousin try to steal the attention of every man. Then two brothers decide one must find a wife, they must choose between the two cousins. The chosen wife must deal with a husband she barely knows and the employees he expects her to feed.


Skeleton Crew
Skeleton Crew
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 300
Review Date: 1/23/2007


Welcome to the world of terror!!! Another Stephen Kig fearful spellbinding story.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: