Nita A. (nawatramani) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
Aloha from Hell (Sandman Slim, Bk 3)
Aloha from Hell (Sandman Slim, Bk 3)
Author: Richard Kadrey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/30/2015


Perhaps I should have read the first two books in the series first because I did not enjoy the book as much as I had expected to, based on the book reviews and the genre/sub-genres represented in the book. Perhaps I had a surfeit of angels and demons and visitations from hell and heaven and just couldn't get into it.


The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby, Bk 1)
The Anatomist's Wife (Lady Darby, Bk 1)
Author: Anna Lee Huber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 4/29/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Quick and enjoyable read! Well-written with a passable story-line and a distinct lack of dithering, helpless female characters which is always a plus for a book based in England in the historical fiction genre


Any Other Name (Longmire, Bk 10)
Any Other Name (Longmire, Bk 10)
Author: Craig Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 4/11/2015


For someone who is a fan of mysteries and thrillers as well as westerns, the Longmire series has been heaven-sent. The series continues to do well and this book is a worthy addition. Looking forward to reading the next book in the series!


The Bells of San Carlos
The Bells of San Carlos
Author: Max Brand
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 2/25/2007


This volume cllects some of Max Brand's greatest novellas and stories. There are four Western classics - "Cayenne Charlie", "The Bells of San Carlos!", "Between One and Three" and "The Gift". Enjoyable read, though Max Brand is in no danger of replacing Louis L'Amour as my all-time favourite author of Westerns.


Bone Island Mambo (An Alex Rutledge Mystery)
Bone Island Mambo (An Alex Rutledge Mystery)
Author: Tom Corcoran
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 5/4/2010


Bone Island Mambo was a good read. A lot of Key West history included so it rambled at times but that is what I enjoyed. The plot was pretty convulated and a little thin in some parts but enjoyable nevertheless.


Burglars Can't Be Choosers (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 1)
Burglars Can't Be Choosers (Bernie Rhodenbarr, Bk 1)
Author: Lawrence Block
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 12/5/2009


This is book #1 in the Bernie Rhodenbarr series by Lawrence Block! Another winner from a master of the genre! Lawrence Block has the ability to make you root for the so-called bad guy. :-)


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4384
Review Date: 3/30/2015


I tried reading this book when it first came out and there was so much hype about it. I couldn't make it past page 10. This time around, I made it through but it did not change my opinion of this book. I found it to be tedious. Perhaps there is a novelty to the viewpoint presented that appealed to people. Bottomline, I did not enjoy the book at all.


A Darker God (Laetitia Talbot, Bk 3)
A Darker God (Laetitia Talbot, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Cleverly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/22/2015


I do not like the Laetitia Talbot series as much as the Joe Sandiland series. The series has progressively deteriorated and I am not surprised that there is no Bk # on the horizon after this one.


Death Cap (Inspector Finch / Inspector Rudd, Bk 2)
Death Cap (Inspector Finch / Inspector Rudd, Bk 2)
Author: June Thomson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 4/12/2015


Old British procedural with Inspector Rudd and Sergeant Boyce! I wish I had started with book #1 in the series but that is a personal preference. Since I have #2 to #4, I didn't want to wait on that. It looks like each book can be read stand-alone. Nice little mystery set in the countryside!


The Demon and the City (Detective Inspector Chen, Bk 2)
The Demon and the City (Detective Inspector Chen, Bk 2)
Author: Liz Williams
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/29/2015


I had enjoyed book #1 in the series and was looking forward to book#2. However, I must admit that I found this offering to be sub-par. Some interesting sub-plots showed promise but the storyline foundered and seemed to have lost its way. Too many loose ends and the late introduction of Inspector Chen in the story makes me wonder if book #3 is worth reading.


Double Ellery Queen: Murder with a Past / Kill as Directed
Double Ellery Queen: Murder with a Past / Kill as Directed
Author: Ellery Queen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/10/2007


This is a double mystery from Signet containing two Ellery Queen stories - Murder With A Past and Kill As Directed.


Enter Pale Death (Detective Joe Sandilands, Bk 12)
Enter Pale Death (Detective Joe Sandilands, Bk 12)
Author: Barbara Cleverly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/16/2015


While I have been a huge fan of the Sandilands series, this latest offering is not quite up to par.


The Fool's Run (Kidd And LuEllen, Bk 1)
The Fool's Run (Kidd And LuEllen, Bk 1)
Author: John Sandford
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 152
Review Date: 4/22/2015


Johns Sandford is a wonderful author. Not sure why I waited this long to read this series. The Lucas Davenport series is one of my favorites.


Iceberg (Dirk Pitt, Bk 3)
Iceberg (Dirk Pitt, Bk 3)
Author: Clive Cussler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 5/12/2007


This is an adaptation of the actual novel for young adults.


The Lonely Sea
The Lonely Sea
Author: Alistair MacLean
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 2/25/2007


This is a collection of sea stories by the master story teller Alistair Maclean. There are stories of wartime battles, of rescues from sinking ships, of gunboat espionage. This is a treasury of vintage Maclean, the only problem being the length of the stories. One wants them to go on and being short stories, they end way too quickly.


Masterpieces of Murder: The Murder of Roger Ackroyd / And Then There Were None / Witness for the Prosecution / Death on the Nile
Review Date: 4/1/2007


Four stories are included:
The murder of Roger Ackroyd
And then there were none
Witness for the prosecution
Death on the Nile


The Moonpool (Cam Richter, Bk 3)
The Moonpool (Cam Richter, Bk 3)
Author: P. T. Deutermann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 4/27/2015


Not as good as Cat dancers or Spider Mountain but at least it is fast-paced.


Moriarty
Moriarty
Author: Anthony Horowitz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/19/2015


I had enjoyed House of Silk by Anthony Horowitz but for some reason, couldn't get into the next offering from Anthony Horowitz in his Sherlock Holmes' series. Moriarty left me feeling a bit let-down, perhaps because my expectations had been built up too high after House of Silk.


Nightwalkers (Cam Richter, Bk 4)
Nightwalkers (Cam Richter, Bk 4)
Author: P. T. Deutermann
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 5/1/2015


I have enjoyed the Cam Richter series by P. T. Deutermann. Bk #3 (moonpool) was probably the weakest of the lot in terms of plot and story-line but Nightwalkers is a better offering and a good ending to the series.


The Ninth Daughter (Abigail Adams, Bk 1)
The Ninth Daughter (Abigail Adams, Bk 1)
Author: Barbara Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 4/25/2015


I don't normally read cozies. I am also not particularly fond of female protagonists and don't have any patience with women (in books & in real life) who can't make up their mind or make illogical decisions, all of which abound in cozies so consider this a biased opinion. :) Once in a while, the teaser on the back cover or a recommendation makes me read one. Rarely do I find one that changes my mind about reading more cozies but this was not one of them. That said, the story wasn't too bad and the writing was decent. Could have done with less sub-plots!


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: