Renee B. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 39 - Page:
The Abandoned Rake (Signet Regency Romance)
The Abandoned Rake (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Emily Hendrickson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/13/2012


As this was a new author to me I was mildly surprised at how fast I went through it. Witty dialogue, Caring Aunt, A Mutt, some Mystery, sinking boats. A bit of Danger and Romance. Nice Read.


The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
The Adventures of Huckleberry Finn
Author: Mark Twain
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 118
Review Date: 1/29/2015


This ISBN 1559029838 is not Huckleberry Finn but is a book titled THE RED BADGE OF COURAGE by STEPHEN CRANE


And Then He Kissed Her (Girl-Bachelor, Bk 1)
And Then He Kissed Her (Girl-Bachelor, Bk 1)
Author: Laura Lee Guhrke
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 301
Review Date: 2/11/2010


This was a bit slow in the beginning. The hero didn't even give a kiss till half way through the story but it moved right along building up in Guhrke fashion with an overall satisfying read. The heroine making her way in a man's world and being truthful to herself about what she wanted in her life and going for it.


Best Revenge (Silhouette Desire, No 821)
Best Revenge (Silhouette Desire, No 821)
Author: Barbara Boswell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/19/2011


This had potential...if only the 27 year old Alexa would stick to her guns and not say one thing and turn around and do the exact opposite and she acted like a hormonal teenager! All that bickering and nit-picking, And the Ex- ...! if you took all that out you'd have a great read but it would only be about 80 pages of book. I had to skim through all the bickering, it's just not something I want to read about, getting to the meat of the story was pretty ugly and in a way petty on both the stars of the debacle. Would like to see if the writers potential improved by reading a second book of hers...we will see.


The Bounty Hunter and the Heiress (Harlequin Historical, No 909)
The Bounty Hunter and the Heiress (Harlequin Historical, No 909)
Author: Carol Finch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 11/11/2011


Strong willed and determined heiress sets off after a swindler who stole (temporarily) her sisters heart and childhood fantasies. And a bag full of inheritance.
Enlisting the unwilling aid of a Bounty hunter a few luck breaks and we have a romance teaming with perseverity and pizazz. Seems the Swindler is also the Bounty hunters Stepbrother and he commences some target practice as he tries to take down his pursuers.
Some animal abuse I didn't really like and the bad guy...well, I don't think He got what he deserved.


Cop on Loan (Count on a Cop) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1520) (Larger Print)
Cop on Loan (Count on a Cop) (Harlequin Superromance, No 1520) (Larger Print)
Author: Jeannie Watt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/8/2012


This was a very pleasant surprise. Witty banter, down to earth people and everyday troubles making it more real. Also liked the fact that the attraction grew out of admiration and not your average Lets-sleep-together-just-because-your-hot. Love Ghengis (Yes, that is how it's spelled in the book) and Mutt as they are as real as it can get with the holes (Mutt)and terrorizing the neighborhood. (Ghengis) I enjoyed this book very much and will be looking for more of this Author to add to my collection.


The Daddy Factor (Silhouette Desire, No 885)
The Daddy Factor (Silhouette Desire, No 885)
Author: Kelly Jamison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/18/2012


Sweet story with very little conflict theme which was really nice. Mother with 2 children 1 has Down's Syndrome and all the extra love it requires and a man sent to find her by her Ex-husband who is looking for some PR and unaware he's being investigated for Arson/insurance scams. I enjoyed this book and though it's older the overbearing-dominant-male theme was blessedly absent.


Dark Whispers
Dark Whispers
Author: Samantha Garver
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 12/10/2011


Really enjoyed this book. Ghosts and all.


Dragon Thief
Dragon Thief
Author: S. Andrew Swann
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2016


A madcap race to save the kingdom. The hero of the hour is transferred from one body to the next all the while trying to figure out what his nemesis is up to while trying to avoid cannibals, cut throats, con jobs,and jumping to assumption his dear wife! is put to the test but forgiven in a trice when she appears as herself and hating every moment of it! Great continuation, dare I wonder about a third? Good fun read though a little confusing if you have not read the first of the two.


The Floating Island (Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme, Bk 1)
The Floating Island (Lost Journals of Ven Polypheme, Bk 1)
Author: Elizabeth Haydon
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 12/6/2011


Great series.


The Flying Sorcerers
The Flying Sorcerers
Author: David Gerrold, Larry Niven
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 8/29/2012


This was an enjoyable read. The stranger was a space traveler and the things that happened to him and his ship!! Found myself laughing a few times over the antics of Shoogar trying to be the best.


The Gallant Heiress
The Gallant Heiress
Author: Mary E. Butler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/22/2012


The scene opens with a Coach hold up and murder! Trudging through a snow storm the single survivor collapses on a door step. A mystery in a mystery and some romance thrown in. I was not expecting 4 murders, secrets that were soon revealed and a Chase of subterfuge. The romance was subtle the Mystery taking precedence I really enjoyed this book and will be looking for any others Mary Butler wrote.


Heart to Heart (Silhouette Romance, No 632)
Heart to Heart (Silhouette Romance, No 632)
Author: Marie Ferrarella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/12/2015


This was a sweet story about a woman who is struggling with her self confidence and her 'disability' that effects her everyday life. Our hero in this story is a tenderhearted man and gives this woman a job when his poor luck is about to drive him crazy. She is a god-send in his time of crisis but the immediate attraction is unwelcome on her end as she is struggling with her secret. Despite her reservations she can not help herself from falling in love with this loving, patient man. I would recommend this book for those looking for a clean sweet romance without the overbearing macho male theme. I'm glad I picked this up and will be looking for more Ferrarella titles.


Her Mysterious Stranger (Harlequin Intrigue, No 587)
Her Mysterious Stranger (Harlequin Intrigue, No 587)
Author: Debbi Rawlins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/11/2010


Kick ass independent woman who don't take crap from no one. Tough looking stranger shows up looking to hire a bounty hunter...throw them together and you get some sparks and a whole lot of intrigue. Good detective strategies and an Over all satisfying read but would have like to know more about Taryn's previous relationship and why all the sad-bitterness pertaining to it.


If I Had a Gorilla
If I Had a Gorilla
Author: Mercer Mayer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/20/2010


Fun easy-read story about getting(needing)something(someone)to lean on when times are tough :)


Jar of Dreams
Jar of Dreams
Author: Liz Flaherty
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/1/2016


K. Branfield's review on amazon says it all. Very good reading. Made me go and get her other books.


A Lady Like Sarah (Rocky Creek Romance, Bk 1)
A Lady Like Sarah (Rocky Creek Romance, Bk 1)
Author: Margaret Brownley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 58
Review Date: 10/31/2011
Helpful Score: 1


What a great story! Sarah's transformation from running from everything to standing for what she came to believe in is a remarkable journey with heart. Great job Ms Brownley


The Lost Stories (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 11)
The Lost Stories (Ranger's Apprentice, Bk 11)
Author: John Flanagan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 12/19/2011


Awesome! I was so excited to see this on my local library shelf! I loved the 10 other books and felt a bit disappointed that the story had come to an end. These stories start with Halt himself finding Will as an infant and several short stories to fill in the intervening years to end with Will and his marriage to Alyss and the hint (YAY!) of a branch-off series about one of the other Characters. These short but satisfying stories brought a good bit of closure and I'm not one bit disappointed now. :) Great series.


Louisa the Poisoner
Louisa the Poisoner
Author: Tanith Lee
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/9/2012


Creepy Thriller. Short story but has a lot of good spine tingling morbid deaths.


Love and Honor
Love and Honor
Author: Randall Wallace
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/14/2011


First time I have read a Wallace novel And it sucked me in by the first 3 pages. I loved this book and could not put it down from the first chase of the Russian wolves to the last. Awesome story.


1 to 20 of 39 - Page: