Shawna P. (shawna-pinsky) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 75 - Page:
30 Guys in 30 Days
30 Guys in 30 Days
Author: Micol Ostow, Amy Saidens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/10/2012


This was cute, entertaining, lighthearted read. Bets part is reading some of the things that happens to Claudia on this journey. Her embarassing moments is what made the book in my opinion. I couldn't help but laugh at some of the things she did or would say. Makes me think back to some of my more humiliating moments that I now laugh at


Avoiding Commitment (Volume 1)
Avoiding Commitment (Volume 1)
Author: K. A. Linde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/2/2013


I'm probably one of few since we didn't get to read allot about him in this book but I am really cheering for Ramsey.

I really enjoyed reading this book from the first page on to the very last page and can't wait to read book 2 and 3 in the series (3 is not out yet and no release date that I have found).

I love how the author went from present to past throughout the book. We got to read about Lexi and Jack's relationship throughout the entire book. I got to read the ups and downs. I was able to read how it all started and what happened between them from the very beginning.

Jack does have 2 sides. He has his loving side that he does show Lexi, but he also has his side that he says awful things to her. When reading his interactions with her you can feel he does love her but to my Jack will always be the grass is greener kind of guy or wants both, never really just choosing one or the other. Even though Lexi is a constant throughout his relationships he is never truly ready to make the commitment to her. He is always unsure of what he wants to do and never sure if he wants to end it with someone else to be with her or end it with her to be with someone else.

As for Lexi..she is not innocent in this mess either. She does love Jack with everything she has. She is always willing to sacrifice the good in her life because she thinks that Jack is what is good in her life. She seems to think that without him she will never be happy or complete.

I however have to disagree with her. To me even if you love someone it doesn't mean you are meant to be together, even if they love you in return. Jack can never make up his mind and while he is trying to he keeps Lexi on a string preventing her from moving on with her life and over him. It's always his way as well and he expects her to keep waiting for him to make up his mind. Lexi has been doing that for him every time. So of coarse he's going to keep on doing it because he doesn't see it as being wrong or the emotional damage it's doing to Lexi. Lexi does need to grow a back bone when it comes to Jack. I get that she has loved him for 6 years but we aren't always meant to be with our first love. Sometimes we are just suppose to learn from that relationship and move on. That person will always carry a special place in our heart but it doesn't mean you can't move on and love someone else.

To me Ramsey would be the right guy to move on with. Afterall throughout the book he never really takes advantage of Lexi's vulnerability. Even in the end when he's close to it and she says stop he stops. He lets her go even though he doesn't want to, because he wants what is best for her and not what he wants to happen. That is what caring about some one is about, doing what's best for them. Jack never understood that concept throughout his relationship with Lexi, in my personal opinion


Avoiding Responsibility (Volume 2)
Avoiding Responsibility (Volume 2)
Author: K.A. Linde
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/2/2013


I knew we would finally see Jack's true self. Even if I had to wait until the end of the book. I liked Jack in the first book and I still liked him in the second book. Although it's probably because I already had him pegged as being someone that just could not settle down and be happy with one person. He truly is terrified of committing.

That's why I loved Ramsey. This man was never afraid to commit to Lexi. He was willing to give her everything from the very beginning. he just becomes even more fantastic throughout the second book.

Since I fell in love with Ramsey in the first book I was so happy that we got more of him the 2nd book. I think I liked this one even more than the first. Lexi in my opinion was stronger in this book. She did fall back into some of her old habits but in the end she proved she had a back bone when it came to Jack, Ramsey, and stood by her choices. She definitely grew in this book in my opinion.

Looking forward to book 3. Although for once there wasn't this cliff-hanger at the end of the 2nd book. I'm looking forward to see what the future holds for the characters but am satisified where book 2 ended.
flag


Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Backstage Pass (Sinners on Tour, Bk 1)
Author: Olivia Cunning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


What is there not to love about Brian. He is incredibly hot. Not only a rocker but the fingers of a god so to speak..Not just with a guitar apparently. However there is more to Brian than the hands and rock god status. He is a true romantic at heart that wears is heart on his sleeve. Constantly trying to get Myrna to fall in LOVE with him rather than in LUST with him. Afterall Myrna is not your average girl. In fact she is not a girl but a true woman...which is something new for Brian. She is a professor and actually has a mind of her own.

Myrna however does not want to even speak the "L" word again. If her past relationship has taught her nothing else it's you can't give up control to a man...It never leads to anything good, she is emotionally and physically damaged. But Brian is incredible...not just in the bedroom but can she still have fun with him and not grow attached.

This book is definately hot..not for weak hearts. We see Brian struggle to get over his untrusting nature around Sed the lead singer and try to be patient with Myrna. Afterall he is in it for the long haul but must convince Myrna that he is different. Myrna has to figure out that their steam in the bedroom is not just lust but that she does feel something much stronger for him.

With each hot encounter Brian chips away at the wall Myrna built. Trust me when I say hot encounters...definitely raises the temps a few degrees. I picked it up and couldn't put it down. Brian is sexy and sweet..a conmbination everyone enjoys


Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Bared to You (Crossfire, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 189
Review Date: 10/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


hmmm....still have no idea what to think of this book a full day later. Was it hot, YES. Was Gideon goregous, YES. Did we learn allot about the characters....I don't think so. That's where I am having a hard time rating this book. We know something happened in Gideon's background to cause him to be so closed off and dominant. We get a glimpse of what it is. However we don't find out for sure and we don't find out by whom.

I don't know there was just something missing in the book that I can't put my finger on. I think for me I would have liked to have read more interaction between the 2 characters besides just the sex. I would have like to read more conversations between the 2 so I could get a feel as to what connects them besides the sexual connection and what appears to be possibly shared past experiences. However I do look forward to reading book 2, yes. I think in book 2 is when we might finally see Gideon open up and that's when we will really be able to connect with him and see what he is like. What drives the man to be what he is like today.

I for one really liked Cary and hope that he works through his issues and gets Trey back..Cary is definitely troubled.

So 3 stars it is for now. I might pick it back up and re-read it to see perhaps I missed something and perhaps I will rate it higher then. For me I want to read more about Gideon's past and the connection between him and Eva. I want to read an emotional connection besides their physical one. Although don't diminish the sexual one either...it is definitely hot


Be With Me
Be With Me
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 192
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I like the fact that we got to see interaction between all of the characters. Not just physical interaction but emotional as well. I also liked how we got some view points from the guys as well. All in all I enjoyed the book and glad I picked it up on a whim. I loved how the 3 guys work as a team and discuss how to approach the situation about trying to get Regina to stay with them.


Bloodrose (Nightshade, Bk 3)
Bloodrose (Nightshade, Bk 3)
Author: Andrea Cremer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I am willing to give it 3.5 stars. The final installment was filled with action throughout the entire book. I couldn't put it down wanting to find out what happens in the end. While I really enjoyed reading the book I was very disappointed with the ending which is why I can not rate this book higher than 3.5 stars. I was hoping that of coarse every character would get their happy ending. I want happy endings and of coarse being a fan of Ren I was really hoping something would work out for him. Afterall in reality he is the one that lost the most throughout the series. While every other aspect of this book was fantastic and worth the read it just didn't end the way I wanted it to. That being said I still enjoyed reading the book and the entire series. I just wished for a different ending


Callum & Harper
Callum & Harper
Author: Fisher Amelie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/11/2012


Even though were some errors through the book I was able to read past those and really enjoyed it. There are definitely some gut wrenching scenes and throughout I felt like screaming at both Callum & Harper but I enjoyed the book. I was glad I purchased it for my nook and finally read it. Callum is definitely a sweetheart, kind, generous, and loving. What more could you ask for out of a male character. I do recommened reading this book. It's a quick read and enjoyable read in my opinion. But you be the judge for yourself


Caressed by Ice (Psy-Changelings, Bk 3)
Caressed by Ice (Psy-Changelings, Bk 3)
Author: Nalini Singh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 271
Review Date: 10/11/2012


Hello Judd...Definitely a favorite. I can not get enough of this series. It has everything you could want. Hot men, Strong women, action, drama, romance, steaminess. Page after page. Once I start I can't put the book down. Seriously love it


Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks, Bk 1)
Catching Jordan (Hundred Oaks, Bk 1)
Author: Miranda Kenneally
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 1/2/2013


What is there not to Love about Jordan. She is a very strong, independent lead female character. She has to be in order to be part of a football team. Not only part of the team but the quarterback and captain. So you have to be strong in order to keep your team in line and rule on the football field. Go Jordan!!!

Since I am huge fan of football I loved the idea of Jordan being a star quarterback. She makes waves in the sport ruled by Men. Even though her father doesn't really support her decision being a star NFL quarterback himself she at least has her mother, brother, and team that support her. Not only her team but her Best Friend and Star receiver Sam Henry.

I was happy in the end with how things worked out Jordan, Sam, and Ty. It was great to see that even though her Father wasn't in agreement with her decision in the end he was willing to help her with her future.

I will definitely read more books from this author.


Chain Reaction
Chain Reaction
Author: Simone Elkeles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I just can't even described how much I LOVED this series from the first book with Alex, the second book with Carlos, and now the final book with Luis. I loved them all and am disappointed that the series is over and I will no longer be reading about the Hot Fuentes boys :-(

I can't even give a review because I don't want to ruin it for anyone. We have Luis the youngest Fuentes brother with the same Fuentes attitude and temper. He has a match in Nikki. A strong willed young lady that is willing to stand her ground against that temper/attitude that Luis has.

Througout we feel their tension and attraction grow. I loved every bit of it too. I loved how Simone brought in Carlos and Alex in this book as well. We get to see how their lives are going at this point in time as well. I loved the family feeling that the Fuentes' always provide.

I just loved this series from beginning to end and inbetween. If you you have not read this series go get it and read it. There was not one book in this trilogy that I did not like. I like how each book focused on one of the Fuentes brother's as the main character (along with their love interest. We get to see each Fuentes brother grow up. Never once was I disappointed in this series


Changing the Game (Play-by-Play, Bk 2)
Changing the Game (Play-by-Play, Bk 2)
Author: Jaci Burton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I'm not sure why some people aren't rating this series higher. I guess to each their own. But I happen to really enjoy this series. Perhaps because I love sports and this series has a little sports thrown in. Not to mention the guys are definitely sexy. The women in the series are independent and successful on their own. I am always for a strong, indepenent, and smart woman as the female lead.

I recommend the series. I have loved reading book 1 and 2. Looking forward to book 3 :-)


Crushed Seraphim
Crushed Seraphim
Author: Debra Anastasia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/2/2013


I don't know what it is about this book but for me I just couldn't get into it. I couldn't connect with Emma.

This won't prevent me from reading further into the series. I do want to find out what happens with everyone. I just felt like the book jumped all over the place for me and I couldn't get my bearings and truly settle in with the book.

Perhaps the next one will be more coherent. I still plan on reading this author's other book. Poughkeepsie. One book will not deter me. Some books are just not for certain people and this one just wasn't for me


The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 2)
The Darkest Kiss (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 2)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 691
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I loved this book. Lucien was absolutely stunning. Tortured in the fact that he thinks no woman will ever love him because of his scars. Also the fact that he thinks he will never find another woman to love sinc he is the Lord of Death and will have to take his love's soul to heaven or hell. He is so sad and lonely.

Yet low and behold Anya enters his world. A tough, strong, independent, sarcastic, smart, beautiful woman that loves him. though he can not understand why. Anya loves Lucien. Being the strong willed woman goes after him with everything she has. From the beginning, I knew I would like Anya. She was the kind of heroine who knows what she wants, and is willing to work for it.

Anya's sarcastic humor and strong will drew me in right away. Even though she lied at times she was the kind of woman that Lucien needed to bring him out of his solitude. Her love frees him from the way sees himself, as ugly and an unlovable monster.

I felt bad for Anya. Being the daughter of the most promiscuous goddess on Olympus, Dysnomia, couldn't have been easy. Everyone was just waiting for her to follow in her mother's footsteps. Yet Anya is not that person. She fears being committed to a person and therefore never truly has given herself to anyone until Lucien. She is cursed by a goddess and Anya must make the decision is Lucien worth giving into that curse and committing herself to Lucien for eternity. Lucien could do worse than have a woman who completely adored him, even to the point of being willing to give up her freedom in more than one crucial way.

Lucien is the strong, silent type, and wonderfully broody. He's actually pretty honorable. He is a man that caused his own scars for fear of a falling for another woman after his first love died. His insecurities about the way he looked and Anya truly liking him made gave him that human feeling. Even though he is a demon/lord/immortal this gave him a human side.

This book had action, romance, steamy love scenes, and side stories to make the book even more interesting. Even Maddox and Ashlyn make an apperance. So you still are kept up to date from the previous books. Gena Showlter is doing a fantastic job with this series so far. I can not wait to read the next book in the series. Ladies I recommend you read this series


The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 9)
The Darkest Lie (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 9)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 10/11/2012


Once again another book in this series that I couldn't get enough of. Once I piked it up I couldn't put it down. Seriously I LOVE Gideon. Such a tough guy but in reality all he wants to be able to do is actually tell someone how he truly feels. Only problem is he can't. He can only Lie because of is demon.

Then there is Scarlet who is incredibly fierce. Talk about a woman that can kick some ass..without any help from a man. She was pretty awesome. At times I did get upset with her but she redeemed herself.

I was pretty stunned as well with the outcome of the memory loss. I wasn't expecting the situation to unfold the way it did. That was a twist for me. Way to go Gena for keeping me on my toes. I thought I had it all figured out and them wammo..thrown for a loop.

I loved Gideon and Scarlet together. The way she would tease him and get under his skin was pretty great. It was nice to see him confused and brought to his knees so to speak because he couldn't understand this woman.

Loved every page of the book and hope that you ladies read this series. It's not for everyone but I for one have really enjoyed it. What's not to like about Gideon. Tattoos, Piercings, Blue Hair, and muscles upon muscles. Delicious is what I call him


The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
The Darkest Night (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 907
Review Date: 10/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Definitely a book that will get your blood boiling on a cold winter day ladies. What is there to say about this book. I could not put the book down once I started it. Maddox so protective of Ashlyn almost to a fault. The fact that you truly get to see his feelings for her by the end of the book is great. It's a little heartwrenching of a scene but you tryly get to see his love for her at that point. Ashlyn is the only women that could tame Maddox and his demon violence. She did this with kindness, love, and understanding. Something Maddox never thought he could experience.


The Darkest Passion (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 8)
The Darkest Passion (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 8)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 342
Review Date: 10/11/2012


What is it about this series. So far out of 5 books I have loved them all. Loved the men, loved the females. Nothing in this series has let me down, not once.

Anyone else wondering if William and Gilly (when she is of age of coarse) will get together...I think I would like to see those 2 together. I know I haven't had much interaction with those 2 but just something about them. Plus I love William. He cracks me up.

Seriously ladies...if you haven't read this series start


The Darkest Pleasure (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 3)
The Darkest Pleasure (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 3)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 624
Review Date: 10/11/2012


What is not to love about book 3 in this series.

Reyes is fantastic. Then again I did fall for him in the 1st book. For a warrior who's demon is Pain he is rather sweet. He needs pain to survive. Yet he sweet, kind, caring, gentle, and loving to Danika. Besides he is so very YUMMY.

As for Danika I think she is his perfect companion. She is strong, independent, fierce, and loyal. She is strong enough to give Reyes what he needs but at the sametime remain who she is.

Could there have been a little more steam, probably. But my favorite parts were reading about the nice little sweet things he did for Danika before she came back to the fortess...The clothes and art supplies. That was really sweet.

This book had it all action, drama, steam, and emotion. I loved everyt second of it.
flag


The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
The Darkest Secret (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 7)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 204
Review Date: 10/11/2012


honestly wasn't expecting to like this book as much as the others because we don't really get to have interaction with Amun in the previous books. That being said this exceeded all of my expectations. With each book released I seem to have a new favorite Lord...hey waht can i say I loved them all :-)

Way to go Gena once again an excellent book in this series.

This book hooked me from the beginning and never let me down. There was plenty of action througout the book. My oh my Amun sure can get the temperature rising. I loved him. His confrontation with Strider was pretty epic. I never pictured Amun as being so fierce since he is so quiet. But I was wrong. Haidee...she is one tough chick. She never back down even when she might be out matched. The fact that she wears a Hello Kitty shirt is pretty awesome.

I can't wait to read the next book in this series. I wonder if William will get his own book. I would like to see him and Gilly end up together...of coarse when she is of legal age. I don't know why..I just think she is the only one that might be able to save him from himself. Or at least hope so. I don't think I could like him with someone else.
flag


The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
The Darkest Seduction (Lords of the Underworld, Bk 11)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 10/11/2012


There is not one thing not to love about this series. Every book is excellent and never lets me down. I really honestly thought that book 1 would be the best in the series but I was wrong. I don't think I can choose and absolute favorite they have all been terrific.

Seriously finally a book about Paris. I am sure anyone who loves this series has been waiting patiently for his story and final Gena gives it to us. Boy oh Boy does she follow through and sure makes it a good one.

Paris goes through so much throughout the past few books after losing Sienna. He has so much to overcome. His addiction to Ambrosia and his darkness that he himself created. He is truly tormented without Sienna and will stop at nothing to get her back, Nothing.

This book had loads of action and I loved every minute of it. The part Sienna had with Cronus' end...didn't see that one coming. Seriously...who would have thought that's how it would have happened. Oh but it was so good and definitely deserved. Not only was there action but seriously Paris is the lord of sex so you know there was going to be some steaminess to it.

Now we have to wait until next year for Kane's book. I really hope he is able to recover from what happens to him this book. I am sure he is going to have some emotional damage to get over after what he suffered through. I hope that he truly doesn't bring the apocolypse. But I guess I must wait and see.

I seriously hope that Gena decides to write William and Gilly's story soon. I would love to see William and Gilly together and of coarse to truly find out exactly how all powerful he truly is. Afterall rumor is he his Lucifer's brother. Eitehr way he is a favorite and I would love to read his story


1 to 20 of 75 - Page: