CINDY M. (CMoonShell) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 40 - Page:
Afternoon of the Elves
Afternoon of the Elves
Author: Janet Taylor Lisle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 9/30/2008
Helpful Score: 2


For what it's worth, I just loved this book. I read it out loud to my daughters when they were in grade school (maybe 2nd and 3rd grade?) and we all loved it. I have a horrible memory and don't really remember much about it, except that we enjoyed it together.


And the Sea Shall Hide Them
And the Sea Shall Hide Them
Author: William Jackson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/23/2014


I met Mr. Jackson and had talked to him several times when he mentioned that he lived in the Caribbean as a child. ( think we had been complaining about the Chicago area winter weather.) Later he mentioned that he had written a book. I started looking for it and put it on my wish list here. I got the book a few months after he passed away and just recently read it. I so wish that I had read it while he was still alive so I could tell him how much I enjoyed it. It is very descriptive of the island, the time period in which it takes place, and the way the people there lived. It's a shocking story, based on a true story, that is full of unique characters, including an evil man and a very brave young lady. It is about a man who plans to murder everyone on board a schooner just off the island of Utila, but one young woman escapes and fights to make it back to her family to tell them what has happened. She is badly injured and it seems impossible for her to make it, yet she must if the murder is to be revealed. Fascinating story, told in a way that brings it all to life.


Autobiography of a Face
Autobiography of a Face
Author: Lucy Grealy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 171
Review Date: 11/14/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book after reading Anne Patchett's "Truth & Beauty" which is about her friendship with Lucy Grealy. It was an interesting pairing. I can't say that I like Lucy. She had a hard life dealing with facial deformity (due to having a form of cancer as a child) and numerous surgeries during the rest of her life.


Away
Away
Author: Amy Bloom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 122
Review Date: 1/14/2011
Helpful Score: 2


I didn't really enjoy this book. I disagreed with many of the choices the main characters made in the story and didn't find anyone easy to like. When I finished the book I felt like it was a waste of time. Yet days later I'm still thinking of the story and remembering it more the way I would remember a movie, so the imagery is still very vivid in my mind. I can't say that I'd recommend it, yet it stays with me. Very unusual for me.


Babyface (Red Dress Ink)
Babyface (Red Dress Ink)
Author: Fiona Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 6/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I have to admit that I wasn't too crazy about this book, but only because it's British and I had trouble knowing what some of the words meant. If you enjoy British Chick Lit, you would probably like this story about a single woman who accidentally gets pregnant and how she deals with raising her son.


Breach of Promise
Breach of Promise
Author: James Scott Bell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 5/6/2011


While I liked the story, I found the preaching to be over the top. It wasn't a waste of time but I may not try this author again.


Certain Women
Certain Women
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 6/16/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book and didn't want it to end! Interesting views on marriage and father/daughter relations ships as well as other family relationships.


CRUDDY: An Illustrated Novel
CRUDDY: An Illustrated Novel
Author: Lynda Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 11/16/2009
Helpful Score: 2


I couldn't read this book. The topic sounded interesting, if dark, but the language is just too crude for me. I hesitated to post it, but saw that it was wish-listed by several people and decided to let the next person judge for him/herself. I guess I decided I'm not one to ban a book just because I don't like it.


Dear American Airlines
Dear American Airlines
Author: Jonathan Miles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 6/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


Odd little book. First of all, it is fiction. It begins as a rant about how a cancelled flight causes a man to miss his estranged daughter's wedding. It rather quckly becomes a lament about his life and many choices he made. There are large sections about a book the main character is translating, which rather bored me. I'm sure there was material there that related to the main story, but I just couldn't stay interested in that side story. I did find the book interesting, in an odd sort of way.


Family Tree
Family Tree
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 129
Review Date: 9/20/2009


I really enjoyed this book about how the birth of a baby with obvious biracial features (to a couple who think they are completely caucasian) changes the way both sides of the family feel and think about themselves and each other. Really made me think about how people define themselves and each other. Also made me want to learn how to knit. The mother in the story is an avid knitter and owns a yarn shop. I can't post this book soon, because I want both of my daughters and my best friend to read it. Then I might have to send it to my mother. It's that kind of a book. It discusses race, class distinction, aging, family secrets, marriage, how important friends are to us, and family ties.


Fanny and Sue
Fanny and Sue
Author: Karen Stolz
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/1/2009


What a pleasant read! I really enjoyed this story of a pair of identical twin sisters telling of their childhood, beginning in the 1920s, and early adulthood.


First Class: Women Join the Ranks at the Naval Academy
First Class: Women Join the Ranks at the Naval Academy
Author: Sharon Hanley Disher
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/24/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I bought this book at the Naval Academy bookstore while attending my niece's graduation. It gave me a better idea of what attending school there was like, although things have changed since the author attended. I'd recommend it to anyone who has a child, spouse, grandchild or friend with ties to the USNA.


First We Have Coffee
First We Have Coffee
Author: Margaret T. Jensen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 4/12/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Charming little book about Scandinavian Lutherans. I read it while dating a Swedish Lutheran and it gave in insight into his family.


Gidget
Gidget
Author: Frederick Kohner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/14/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I was a big fan of the old Gidget TV show when I was a kid, so this book was so much fun to read! I highly recommend it to anyone who remembers Sally Field as Gidget or anyone interested in the early surfers, before the Beach Boys made them popular.


The Girls Who Went Away: The Hidden History of Women Who Surrendered Children for Adoption in the Decades Before Roe v. Wade
Review Date: 8/26/2010
Helpful Score: 3


---- Warning: person opinions included. No offense intended, I'm just puzzled. ----

Very interesting book, but I'm still puzzled about the title. The stories about women who surrendered children for adoption, feeling they had no other choice, were very sad and I learned a lot about their experiences and feelings. But I'm not sure what it has to do with Roe v. Wade. The book doesn't discuss abortion, except to say that it wasn't an option for most women during the time period written about. I can't imagine that anyone would feel that abortion is a better choice for many of the young women in the book. Most were well along in the pregnancy before they admitted to themselves or their families that they were pregnant. Others, who at first expected to keep their babies and get married, would not have considered abortion. Many were Catholic and ended up at Catholic maternity homes. Even if abortion had been legal back then I can't imagine many of them would have chosen it as an option. Or is the idea that after Roe v. Wade these young women who were convinced by their parents, doctors & priests to surrender their baby for adoption, would have been convinced to have an abortion instead?

Is the premise that once abortion became legal these unwed, young women would have had abortions instead of adoptions and saved themselves from the years of grief that they experienced? If that's the assumption, I want to see the book about how some women experience years of grief, guilt and pain due to the decision to have an abortion in the years since Roe v. Wade. I guess I'm feeling that the title suggests that Roe v. Wade offered a better solution and I just don't believe that is true. Still, it's a fascinating book that I am glad I took the time to read. I very much agree with many of the women's suggestions that young moms can be good moms if they are given the support that they need to do so.


Going Down
Going Down
Author: Jennifer Belle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 60
Review Date: 10/25/2007


Explicit. Not my cup of tea.


Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Good in Bed (Cannie Shapiro, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 2851
Review Date: 10/25/2007


This book is wonderfully perceptive and descriptive regarding being plus-sized. Chick lit, but better. Recommended to me by my 70-year-old mom and I recommended it to my 23-year-old daughter.


The Heart of New England (The Heart of America Series)
The Heart of New England (The Heart of America Series)
Author: William Bigelow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/22/2009


Beautiful book! Full of colorful pictures of New England. Vermont farmland and, of course, trees in the fall. Fishing villages. Historical sites. Lovely!


Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Homecoming (Tillerman, Bk 1)
Author: Cynthia Voigt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 89
Review Date: 6/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


"This is a wonderful, heartwarming book! I just loved it. It is written for YA, but ANYONE from 9 to 99 would enjoy it."

I agree with Carol S. and want to add that the book is (as usual) much better than the movie. (I think it was a made-for-TV movie.)


The Icarus Girl
The Icarus Girl
Author: Helen Oyeyemi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 6/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Interesting story about an 8-year-old girl living with her English father and Nigerian mother who has a friend, TillyTilly, who may or may not be imaginary. I don't want to give too much away, but it kept me up late at night reading to find out what happens in the end. The book cover says that the story draws on Nigerian mythology.


1 to 20 of 40 - Page: