Wanda B. (wandagirl) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 36 - Page:
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Agatha Raisin and the Quiche of Death (Agatha Raisin, Bk 1)
Author: M. C. Beaton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/7/2011


This is a delightful story with fun and mystery to spare. I look forward to reading more in this series. :)


Aspire to the Heavens
Aspire to the Heavens
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/21/2015


Mary Higgins Clark did a grand job of research to write this book. She added depth to the characters of George and Mary Washington that I found wonderfully interesting and refreshing. They were really brought to life for me. Their separate and shared experiences are revealing so that the strength of their lives and adventures at the get-go of our United States becomes more real to me. I think it is a wonderful, insightful and thought provoking book. ?


Autobiography of Mark Twain, Vol 1 (Complete and Authoritative Edition) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 1/10/2012


I LOVE this book. I have always liked Mark Twain and in reading his own autobiography has given me a deep and enduring appreciation for his life and his work. It is a different kind of autobiography but one filled with surprises and detail we often miss out on when people write about their own lives. It is huge and took me a while to get through it. But it is divided into sections which makes reading a joy. :)


Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Cold Sassy Tree (Cold Sassy, Bk 1)
Author: Olive Ann Burns
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 9/7/2010


I really do love this book. It is warm and caring and explores relationships as time changes the characters. Here you will find a memorable story of "family" and challenges to be overcome with grace. Fun along the way adds to the whole atmosphere. I have listened to Cold Sassy Tree several times in the audio form which is read by Richard Thomas. He made all the pages come alive. :)


Corrie Ten Boom: Her Life Her Faith
Corrie Ten Boom: Her Life Her Faith
Author: Carole Carlson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/20/2010


From inside cover:

Corrie ten Boom is a legend in our time. Her remarkable ministry has touched millions all over the world.

But who, really, is this unusual Dutch woman? How did she emerge from a traditional Dutch background to become God's "available tool?" What is God saying through her today?

In this biography you can read, for the first time, the entire life story of this renowned woman of faith.

More than a story, this is a saga. Through her friendship with Corrie, and extensive research, best-selling author Carole C. Carlson reaches into the past to grasp the spiritual thread woven into the ten Boom ancestry. She then traces that thread right up to the present as Corrie's ministry climaxes with a startling message to this generation.

As you read the fascinating details of Corrie's heritage, you'll realize the far-reaching impact of family life rich in faith and purpose. You'll see how God used everyday circumstances to cultivate a unique blend of determination and compassion--the hallmark of Corrie's ministry. And you'll understand Corrie as never before when you read how God re-channeled the thwarted romantic yearnings of her youth into a love that has embraced thousands.

As you walk with Corrie through Ravensbruck, you'll experience the tragic depths of the Nazi holocaust...and marvel at the greater depths of God's grace that enabled her to proclaim Christ's message of healing and forgiveness to post-war Europe.

But that's only half the story. You'll travel with Corrie to places around the world as she doggedly used her experiences to win an audience with prisoners and princes alike. You'll be intrigued by Corrie's response to her own notoriety, as books and movies made her one of today's most admired Christians. And, for the first time, you'll walk with Corrie into her twilight years to hear the profound message God still voices through a servant silenced by illness.

Yes, Corrie's life--the legend--will enthrall and inspire you as never before. For you'll realize that Corrie's story is HIS story...and "the best is yet to come."


A Crack in the Edge of the World: America and the Great California Earthquake of 1906 (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 5/21/2011


This book is very interesting. A whole lot to learn. I was about to give up on it after 2 or 3 discs because I found a lot of geological foundation. There is so much included that I felt overwhelmed. But I decided to stick with it and am glad I did. As the book progresses the stories of places, people, things, reasons, events are so well told and intertwine so fully that after a while it becomes amazing. Having lived in the Bay Area of California, especially during the EQ of 1989, I have a very real relationship to the stories that were told of the 1906 EQ and others. Quite an experience that doesn't stop....even after this many years. So, read it, enjoy. :)


Destiny of the Republic: A Tale of Madness, Medicine and the Murder of a President
Review Date: 9/7/2014
Helpful Score: 1


I loved I his book. So much history about people and events I have not heard before. I knew little to nothing about James Garfield the man and president. The roll his doctors played in his death, his wife and family, Alexander Graham Bell and the inventions Garfield's illness inspired, the surge that brought grieving people of America together. The new interest in germs and their deadly effects,resulting in more study and understanding. The man who shot the President....all amazing stories bound together in this historical account. Very interesting and thought provoking. :)


The Devil in the White City : Murder, Magic, Madness, and the Fair that Changed America
Review Date: 8/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


This is quite an interesting book from many aspects. Characters are carefully created and many are based on fact. The time setting is true and Larson gives nice details which lend the reader to the feeling of "being there". I learned much I did not know about Chicago and the Fair and the people of the time as well as the state of our country and the world. Brought together with mystery....This is a good one. :)


The Dollhouse Murders
The Dollhouse Murders
Author: Betty Ren Wright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 1/23/2016


I think this is a very good book. In my second childhood I suppose. Childrens mystery, interesting, kept me wondering what was to happen next, well written, lessons to learn about relationships gently taught. Excellent. :)


The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
The Duchess of Bloomsbury Street
Author: Helene Hanff
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/22/2011


I LOVE the writing of Helene Hanff and this book is no exception. It is in diary form and covers the several weeks she visited London after 84 Charing Cross Road was published. Her descriptions and glimpses of history and people are written in words of profound insight. I wish I had found her sooner. :)


Eat Cake (Brilliance Audio on Compact Disc)
Eat Cake (Brilliance Audio on Compact Disc)
Author: Jeanne Ray
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/31/2012


This book is so delightful. I enjoyed it all, lots of love, laughter and creativity between the pages. If you need a lift, light and with also a message and great ideas....read this one. :)


Fat Ollie's Book (87th Precinct, Bk 52) (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 8/2/2013


Most books I can find something I like about...but this one I cannot. It is full of very bad language and it is hard to keep focused on the story because of it. alas.


fingersmith
fingersmith
Author: sarah waters
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 4/23/2011


Sarah Waters really takes us on a ride with this book. Full of surprises that I did not see coming, rather wordy but details, characters and story line are all well formed. I enjoyed it and couldn't put it down after a certain point. :)


The First Patient (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The First Patient (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Phil Gigante (Narrator), Michael Palmer
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 5/14/2010


I do like this book. It is a good mystery with surprises along the way. :)


Ghost Hunter (Ghost Hunters, Bk 3) (Harmony, Bk 7) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 7/19/2010


I thought the storyline was okay and got better as it went along. I (personally) did not care for the reader's voice. Ms. Merlington's Cooper Boone did not fit at all...to me. And Elly sounded wimpy at times. Sorry Ms. Merlington... :)


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Lori Lansens
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 9/7/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I read this book while in my book club. The leader chose the book and I paid no attention, just started reading it. I was almost finished with it when I learned that the book is a NOVEL and not at all in the category of non-fiction. That blew me away. Lori Lansens made me believe the whole thing. Such good writing and information about how conjoined twins live that I would never have guessed. It is a wonderful and heartwarming story, full of surprises and challenges with which the characters had to deal. :)


Hotel America: Scenes in the Lobby of the Fin-De-Siecle
Review Date: 5/20/2010


From inside cover: In HOTEL AMERICA, Lewis Lapham draws a portrait of a society at a loss to know what to think or make of itself at the end of a century once defined as America's own. His observations speak to the moral and intellectual confusions visited upon the American ruling elites--in the media and the universities as well as in business and government--during the years 1989-1995. The spectacle is both comic and sad, a march of folly that calls forth Lapham's unique range of talents as an essayist--clarity of mind, acerbic wit, a thorough knowledge of American history (both ancient and modern), a sense of the absurd, a gift for the apt word and memorable phrase. .....


How to Buy a Good Business with Little or None of Your Own Money
Review Date: 5/20/2010


From inside cover: From the master of the leveraged buyout, the handbook for anybody who has ever dreamed about owning a business; a complete step-by-step guide to buying a business with someone else's money.

Lional Haines combines his business experience with the instincts of a teacher. His book assumes no prior knowledge or experience and demystifies the whole process of making a business yours. It includes detailed instruction on a number of topics including:

how to educate yourself about an industry
what to look for in an owner
how to analyze a business
how to turn assets into cash for a down payment
how to negotiate
how to use financial instruments to defer payments and put together a deal package
how to write a business plan and approach a lender
how to close a deal
how to anticipate problems in the first year of ownership


I, Richard
I, Richard
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/17/2010


I just finished this book of short stories by Elizabeth George. I seldom read short stories but I do love the writing of Elizabeth George. Each story was different and carried its own surprises, mysteries, characters and solutions. If you or someone else did not care for this book, please don't judge the author by it. Her full length novels are really good so give them a try.


The Joy Luck Club
The Joy Luck Club
Author: Amy Tan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 9/17/2010


I fell in love with the writing of Amy Tan in The Joy Luck Club. I am always eager for her next book to come out and I have really enjoyed them all. She has such a lovely way of describing emotions and life situations that the rest of us dance around and try hard to avoid. I highly recommend this book. :)


1 to 20 of 36 - Page: