Amy F. - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
The Acorn People
The Acorn People
Author: Ron Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/21/2009


I really enjoyed this book. I was a quick read, was heartwarming and enlightening. Sad as well. Shows the human side to people with significant, fatal disabilities and their very human needs and desires to be treated as people. From the perspective of a young counselor who has no experience with disabled children and who is enlightened because of his experience. Some profanity, some referral to sexual feelings. A good read for an older teenager/young adult and an enjoyable read for any adult age.


Angela's Ashes
Angela's Ashes
Author: Frank McCourt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 784
Review Date: 1/18/2009
Helpful Score: 2


When I first started reading this book, I didn't like it. But I couldn't put it down until, a few days later, I finished it. I'm glad I read it, although I could have done without all the sexual content that McCourt felt necessary to include. His writing style -- as through the eyes of a child -- was very effective. I always mentally rate a book by whether I learned something in a book. This book was a teacher to me of the extremes of poverty, of Irish culture, of Irist humor and the love of the Irishmen of words and music and poem. Intelligence isn't only from the halls of university; it can indeed be found among the most humble of men. McCourt's father himself is quite a study of humanity. Indeed, the very title of this book has many implications and possible meanings. Yes, I am glad I read it, and I will read his further books although I cannot wholeheartedly recommend it due to its profanity and vulgarity.


The Courage of Sarah Noble
The Courage of Sarah Noble
Author: Alice Dalgliesh, Leonard Weisgard (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An adventure story for boys and girls alike who are building up their reading skills. A "Living Book" in that it tells an entertaining story that children will love set in a real time in history (America 1707).


If You Lived In Colonial Times (If You...)
If You Lived In Colonial Times (If You...)
Author: Ann McGovern, June Otani (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/3/2006


I have 2 copies of this book, so I am offering one of them here. My kids really enjoyed my reading this book to them. It is a great book to go-along with studies in colonial America.


Maria: A Christmas Story
Maria: A Christmas Story
Author: Theodore Taylor
Book Type: School Library Binding
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/24/2009


This was an enjoyable read, and I always like to read heart-warming stories, and this is definitely that. My only reservation about this book is that the main character is disobedient, and there are several incidents of disrespect and name-calling by the characters.


The Sodbuster Venture
The Sodbuster Venture
Author: Charlene Joy Talbot
Book Type: School & Library Binding
  ?
Review Date: 7/13/2008


Summary: Following a dying man's last request, thirteen year old Maud helps the man's fiance homestead his claim on the Kansas prairie in 1870.

An entertaining book that gives a look at life in frontier Kansas. A lady and a girl encounter threats and danger as dangerous men covet their property. They endure drought, grasshoppers, and fire. This book is historical fiction and would be appropriate for ages 12+.


Stasia's Gift
Stasia's Gift
Author: Mark R. Littleton, Alsie Kelley, Brian Kelley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/11/2013


This is a very touching true story of the value of a human life and how God can use the "little" things of the world in a big way.


The Torpedo Run (Great Railway Adventures, Series 1, Adventure 3)
Review Date: 4/28/2006


If you have a child who loves trains, this is a fun adventure story of 2 children who cross the country via train to meet their parents in New York. This is the 3rd book in a series of 3. My boys are 6 and 7 and have enjoyed this story since they were each 4. I have another of these, so I am offering one here.


Women Leaving the Workplace: How to Make the Transition from Work to Home
Review Date: 4/28/2006


This is a very helpful and compelling book encouraging women to stay at home. Burkett addresses the financial impact on the family. This book is written from a Christian perspective.


1 to 9 of 9