Jensyne M. (smoothiemaker) - Reviews

1 to 18 of 18
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
24 Hours (aka Trapped) (Mississippi, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 349
Review Date: 6/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I have been so impressed with a book. 24 Hours by Greg Iles was an intense thriller that I couldn't put down. There is absolutely now way I could put this book down once I started reading it on a 2 hour airplane ride. The storyline carried the characters through to the very, heart stopping end. Now that I think about the book again, it really did cover a 24 hours period.

The characters were intense. Parts of the storyline were complex, but not overly so. A great, quick read. I have read a lot of thrillers, but the first time I read this book, my experience could never be repeated. It was a very intense, exciting book, with a great ending.

I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys being on the edge of their airplane seat.


50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
50 Harbor Street (Cedar Cove, Bk 5)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 8/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Another great story from Debbie Macomber. I was really interested in Cal's story. It's so nice to sit down, get comfy, and read a great book. I would recommend this book to someone new to the series, or someone who hasn't read each book of the series. It was a great book. Very interesting characters.


Air Battle Force (Patrick McLanahan, Bk 11)
Air Battle Force (Patrick McLanahan, Bk 11)
Author: Dale Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 6/13/2009


This book was very exciting. I have always been satisfied with Dan Brown's writing. This book didn't disappoint.

The plot was weaker than I expected, and the story dragged a bit during the middle. There was no "Top Gun" theme, so don't read if you are expecting that.

This is a intense, military-thriller, war-type book. A very interesting idea that takes a while to grab your attention, then you can't put it down.


America (Jake Grafton, Bk 9)
America (Jake Grafton, Bk 9)
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/14/2009


This book was great. It was a sit-down-you're-going-on-a-thrill-ride! Wow! The plot kept moving, and it was definitely a great story. Stephen Coonts is a great author, and this is another one of his great books.


Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Bet Your Bottom Dollar (Bottom Dollar Girls, Bk 1)
Author: Karin Gillespie
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 8/14/2009


The book was a great read! I got really involved in the character's and their story. It was great that the author kept the series going.


Can't Stand The Heat
Can't Stand The Heat
Author: Louisa Edwards
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 3/15/2010


This book was shocking! It was really hard to get involved with the story as the content was shocking. I really liked the Acknowledgment at the beginning of the book. But the story was not that great. It was not captivating.


The Chief (Highland Guard, Bk 1)
The Chief (Highland Guard, Bk 1)
Author: Monica McCarty
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 4/22/2010


The Chief by Monica McCarty was a GREAT book! I totally got sucked into this story. Tor and Christina's story is exciting, intriguing, and captivating. I absolutely loved the characters. I wanted these two to have a happy ending and I wanted to learn more about the members that Tor was training. It has a "surprise" ending, and it's a lot of fun to get there. This book has put the author at the top of my read list.

This story was better than your average historical/Scottish romance novel. I was totally involved in the characters. This book is a keeper!!!!!!

Note: Sexually explicit material. If it's not your thing, skip this story. It was a hot book.


Eat More, Weigh Less
Eat More, Weigh Less
Author: Dean Ornish
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/14/2009


What an interesting book. Before you know it, you're ready to try one of the many included recipes. I can't wait to share this book with others who are trying to change their lifestyle. It's a great program.


Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Executive Power (Mitch Rapp, Bk 4)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 318
Review Date: 8/14/2009


I want to reread this book over again. It was so good, powerful, compelling and an intersting story the first time through, it's almost like I want to read it over and over again.


Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 123
Review Date: 9/10/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book was VERY GOOD! This was another of Vince Flynn's great stories, that captivated, and completely held your attention. With a great story, an intriguing plot line, and a modern story, it was really a great book. If you haven't already read Vince Flynn, pick up one of his books today. You won't be disappointed if you enjoy patriotic themes and the "good guys" winning despite the odds and consequences. This was a class Vince Flynn book. Read it today!


For My Lady's Kiss
For My Lady's Kiss
Author: Linda Needham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 2/27/2012


I had loved another Linda Needham book, so I picked up this book to give it a try. I was very disappointed. I couldn't get involved in the characters, or their story. I finally managed to get to the end of the story. At the beginning, there was so much hatred between the two main characters. It was unbelievable that they could fall sooo in love by the end of the story. As usual, the story involved the lady holding back the truth about her past, and the hero sticking with her to the end. I was disappointed with this story.


Highland Honor (Murray Clan, Bk 2)
Highland Honor (Murray Clan, Bk 2)
Author: Hannah Howell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 119
Review Date: 3/17/2010


Could not get into this story. Was an unbelievable love story.


It Happened One Night: The Fall of Rogue Gerrard / Spellbound / Only You / From This Moment On
Review Date: 3/15/2010


These stories started out great, but the storylines were boring. I wasn't captivated by the stories. It was basically the same storyline, told by 4 different authors. Boring!


The Secret Duke (Malloren, Bk 10)
The Secret Duke (Malloren, Bk 10)
Author: Jo Beverley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 6/9/2010
Helpful Score: 3


What a great read! This book kept me up all night. I can't believe how intricate the story line was. I really got involved in the characters. I can't wait to read the next book by this author!


Someone to Watch Over Me (Bow Street Runners, Bk 1)
Someone to Watch Over Me (Bow Street Runners, Bk 1)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 516
Review Date: 3/15/2010


A great book! The storyline was original. The characters felt real. Reading the book put me into the story with the characters. What a great story! The ending was predictable, but it was a great ending anyways. I cannot believe how much I loved this story.


A Tale of Two Lovers
A Tale of Two Lovers
Author: Maya Rodale
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 2/27/2012


I was eagerly anticipating the next book from Maya Rodale. When I finally got my copy, I was disappointed. I couldn't get into the story and I was left unsatisfied when the story finally ended. I hope for another great story from Maya Rodale.


Texas Destiny (Texas, Bk 1)
Texas Destiny (Texas, Bk 1)
Author: Lorraine Heath
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 2/21/2012


This is the first of the Texas series. I didn't start with this book, but I loved it. It was very captivating, and the story transported me to Texas with Amelia and Houston's story.

Read this book first. It helps introduce the characters and I wish I had started this one instead of Texas Glory (Book 2).


A Turn in the Road (Blossom Street, Bk 8)
A Turn in the Road (Blossom Street, Bk 8)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 83
Review Date: 1/17/2013


I really enjoyed this book on a day at the beach. It was a good story and it kept me involved. I really wanted the story to go on because it was so good. When I was laughing out loud, I was seriously loving the story!


1 to 18 of 18