Michael H. (bookdoc) - , - Reviews

1 to 19 of 19
Careless in Red (Inspector Lynley, Bk 15)
Careless in Red (Inspector Lynley, Bk 15)
Author: Elizabeth George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 80
Review Date: 1/30/2011


Tried to get into this book. Just could not do it. Maybe in the future but I am not a fan of books this thick.


Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Chocolate Chip Cookie Murder (Hannah Swensen, Bk 1)
Author: Joanne Fluke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 12/26/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Nice little mystery. Hannah goes out behind her store the Cookie Jar and finds a body. She then is drawn into finding the murder and why the person was killed. She compiles a list of suspects and starts investgating to come with the murder. It was enteraining and a nice easy read.


Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight
Courage and Consequence: My Life as a Conservative in the Fight
Author: Karl Rove
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 1/1/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Karl Rove takes you into the inside workings of the politcal machine how it works. It is a chronicle of his rising up through the ranks and gives you a birds eye view of what goes on and why the things that happen the way they do I enjoyed this CD, I may not have always agreed with what was going on but I now have a better understading of why some the things that happened the way they did. An educational listen .


Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Extreme Measures (Mitch Rapp, Bk 9)
Author: Vince Flynn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 12/28/2010


Fast moving, it pulls you in and keeps you on the edge. Not only are charaters and the plot believable it seems that this could be the next attack in the war on terror. Hope that no one who wants harm to come to America reads this book. This is all to beliveable and could happen.


Friedman's Fables (with Booklet)
Friedman's Fables (with Booklet)
Author: Edwin H. Friedman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/29/2010


This book is insightful and makes one think. The Fables can be aplied to real life and how we react to each other. It is best if you read one fable a day and think about it before you go on to the next one.


The History Book
The History Book
Author: Humphrey Hawksley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/5/2010


I enjoyed this book. It is fast moving and keeps you interested. It reads like a action/adventure movie. It keeps moving not giving you chance to catch your breath.


Killer Weekend (Walt Fleming, Bk 1)
Killer Weekend (Walt Fleming, Bk 1)
Author: Ridley Pearson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 10/11/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Enjoyed this book. Really got into the charaters. It was fun following the battle of wits between the Sheriff and the killer. Was never quite sure who was behind the plot until the end. Four out of Five stars.


Larceny and Old Lace (Den of Antiquity, Bk 1)
Larceny and Old Lace (Den of Antiquity, Bk 1)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 107
Review Date: 11/30/2010


I have to admint that I did not see the ending coming. First time that I have read this author and will be looking for more of her books. It was an ejoyable read.


Magician's Gambit (Belgariad, Bk 3)
Magician's Gambit (Belgariad, Bk 3)
Author: David Eddings
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 48
Review Date: 12/21/2010


Enjoyed the book can not wat to read the fourth in the series


Murder One (Ben Kincaid, Bk 10)
Murder One (Ben Kincaid, Bk 10)
Author: William Bernhardt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 31
Review Date: 12/13/2010


Three out of five stars. Author kept me guessing and I caught me totaly off guard with the ending. I am not a real fan of courtroom dramas but this had me going. Ben Kincaid coms across as a real human being with all the faults and doublts of an atourney defending a client. Is he doing the best that he can is he serving justice, is he doing the ring thing? As one caharter states "Justice in not simple."


The Only Good Yankee (Jordan Poteet, Bk 2)
The Only Good Yankee (Jordan Poteet, Bk 2)
Author: Jeff Abbott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/15/2010


I enjoy Jeff Abbott's books. They are set in small town Texas. They capture that mood in a small town and the little things that go on there. An old girlfriend from Boston comes to town and life becomes complacted. Jordon Poteet finds himself in the middle of murder and trying to juggle his exgirlfriend with his ladylove. Sparks fly.


Projection (Frank Clevenger, Bk 2)
Projection (Frank Clevenger, Bk 2)
Author: Keith Ablow
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/19/2010


This is the second book by Keith Ablow and is about Dr. Frank Clevenger. It takes up where his first book Denial left off. It explores the human frailities and our weaknesses. Dr. Clevnger has to fight his own demons along with the demons of an accused killer to find out the truth and bring to justice those who have commited the crimes. Good read. However I strongly suggest that you read Denial first.


Reading the Bible Again For the First Time: Taking the Bible Seriously But Not Literally
Review Date: 10/31/2010


Marcus J. Borg puts into words the feelings that I have had for along time but was not able to put in words myself. There are many Ah Ah moments in the book where I had to stop and say yes that is what I mean. No matter what your belief is this book will make you stop and think. Why do I believ what I believe and how have I come to believe it.


Shadow of Power (Paul Madriani, Bk 9)
Shadow of Power (Paul Madriani, Bk 9)
Author: Steve Martini
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 93
Review Date: 11/29/2010


Great book! Kept me in suspense to the end. This is the first time that I had read this author. I am defently going to be looking for more of his books. Steve Martini laid out a mystery in such a way that you never quite knew what was going to happen next. The courtroom scenes kept on the edge of your seat wondering what piece of evidence was going to be brought out next and how each lawyer was going to counter it.


Silent Partner (Alex Delaware, Bk 4)
Silent Partner (Alex Delaware, Bk 4)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 149
Review Date: 11/12/2010


Dr. Alex Delaware is drawn into a case invlolving an old flame. He sees her at party and is taken down memory lane. The next thing that he knows he is in the middle of a invesagation questining his actions from years before and did he do the right things then and now.


SPLIT SECOND
SPLIT SECOND
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2010


Great charaters and good story. Enjoyed the twist and turns. Kept me on the edge of my seat waiting find out what was going to happen next. Enjoyed the reader he seemed grasp the plot and read it claearly and kept your attion.


Swan Peak (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 17)
Swan Peak (Dave Robicheaux, Bk 17)
Author: James Lee Burke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 54
Review Date: 10/29/2010


James Lee Burke does it again. You feel the oppresion and the fear of the victims in the story. The villans are truly evil. However both Dave Robichaux and Clete have their own demons to fight. They try to overcome some them while also trying to find justice for the victims. Good read.


Trial by Fire (Alison Reynolds, Bk 5)
Trial by Fire (Alison Reynolds, Bk 5)
Author: J. A. Jance
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 63
Review Date: 2/4/2011


J.A. Jance has done it again. She has written another book capuring the beauty and spledor of Arazona. Ali Reynolds finds herself in the middle of a case to identify and burn victim. She comes to realize that there is more to this case than meets the eye. She becomes partners with a nun who cares for critily burned patinets to find out who the woman in room 814 is and how she came to be in the burning house. Their investagation takes them both into danger and on the path of a murderer who has no quams about who he kills.


Vengeance in Death (In Death, Bk 6)
Vengeance in Death (In Death, Bk 6)
Author: J. D. Robb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 546
Review Date: 12/3/2010


Vengeance is mine sayth the Lord. That is until a psycopath takes it into his head that Roake must pay for what he sees as past sins. Lt. Eve Dallas must unite with her husband to unravel the mystery and solve the murders of people that Roake knew in his prevous life. It is a wild ride and a trip down memory lane for them as they track the killer to Ireland and back to N.Y.


1 to 19 of 19