Mary Anne B. (bradyediting) - , - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
God's Plan for Pregnancy
God's Plan for Pregnancy
Author: Nerida Walker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/18/2015


This is a WONDERFUL, faith-building book for conception, pregnancy, and beyond! I recommend this to any woman (or man soon to be a father!) who wants to build her expectations beyond just the "norm" for pregnancy that the world says. What an encouraging book!


The Greatest Gift: Unwrapping the Full Love Story of Christmas
The Greatest Gift: Unwrapping the Full Love Story of Christmas
Author: Ann Voskamp
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/30/2016


The content of this book is uplifting for the Christmas season and draws the reader's focus to Jesus, which is great. However, there were so many issues with the writing style that I could hardly register the message. Voskamp's flowery style made these chapters confusing and choppy. If you really enjoy her poetic style, you may also enjoy this book. If you are distracted from her message by her forced writing style, you will likely have a hard time with this book.


Hind's Feet on High Places
Hind's Feet on High Places
Author: Hannah Hurnard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/31/2013


This is a classic Christian book, and has revealed fresh truths each time I've read it. Very encouraging for anyone seeking to grow closer to God and know they are LOVED!


Kingdom of Love
Kingdom of Love
Author: Hannah Hurnard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/21/2014


This book was a disappointment. I didn't finish the last few chapters, so maybe it gets better at the end. I was expecting so much from the author of Hinds' Feet on High Places! In this book her thoughts seemed unorganized, and some of the theological points she mentioned almost seemed to deviate from her stances before. I am giving the book a 2.5-star rating because she shared SOME good thoughts, but overall I didn't take much away from the book.


A Long Obedience in the Same Direction: Discipleship in an Instant Society
Review Date: 4/10/2016


This book did not draw me in and I put it down about a third of the way in. It has some good points but is not very "devotional" style and I just found it hard to follow.


Names for the Sea: Strangers in Iceland
Names for the Sea: Strangers in Iceland
Author: Sarah Moss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/25/2013


After being enthralled with the idea of Iceland for years as a teenager and eventually honeymooning there in my 20s, I have not lost my curiosity and love of this strange and wonderful country. Sarah Moss writes a compelling, mostly-objective narrative that will absolutely teach you MUCH about Iceland! So very worth the read if you are interested in learning about the culture more. Picked up so many tidbits of info along the way, even though there were a few chapters or personal viewpoints of hers I didn't care for.


The Power of a Praying Wife
The Power of a Praying Wife
Author: Stormie Omartian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/31/2013


This book could definitely be a life-changer, and marriage-saver! Even though I am reading it without being in hard times in my marriage, I'm still challenged and encouraged and convicted in the most wonderful ways, and have already seen good fruit from it! I see this book not as a "book of prayers" to read out loud and something magical happens, but as a guide to HOW we women can pray for our husbands and a starting point for even more prayer!


The Practice of the Presence of God
The Practice of the Presence of God
Author: Brother Lawrence
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/14/2014


This is a short book (abridged edition) that is encouraging and uplifting. Even though I may not have agreed with every detail of its content, I still finished the book feeling equipped with some new ways to love and serve God. Great thoughts in this little book!


Supernatural Childbirth Experiencing The
Supernatural Childbirth Experiencing The
Author: Jackie Mize, Jackie Mize
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/13/2015


Wonderful, inspiring, life-changing! There are so many Scriptures in this book, unlike what one of the reviewers said. There are large sections that are the author's personal story, but separate sections list Scripture after Scripture after Scripture on various topics relating to faith in pregnancy and beyond.


With You All the Way
With You All the Way
Author: Max Lucado, Chuck Gillies (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/31/2013


Very sweet children's book with an uplifting and important lesson--stay in close connection with Jesus, which kids should learn early on. Nice illustrations as well.


1 to 10 of 10