Deb T. (desertdreamer) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
After You'd Gone
After You'd Gone
Author: Maggie O'Farrell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 19
Review Date: 10/25/2010


One of the best books I've read. It haunted me for days after because I could feel what she felt.


An Autobiography of George Washington As Told to His Scribe
Review Date: 11/26/2008


This is NOT a true autobiography by George Washington. In 1944 Edith Ellis claimed that the spirit of George Washington made contact with her requesting that she write his autobiography. So this book is his life "channeled" through Ms. Ellis during the 110 days she says the spirit was with her. If you want to read a true autobiography of George Washington this is probably not the book for you.


Bad Dirt : Wyoming Stories 2
Bad Dirt : Wyoming Stories 2
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I can't say I've been disappointed with any of her short stories about Wyoming.


Bones of Betrayal (Body Farm, Bk 4)
Bones of Betrayal (Body Farm, Bk 4)
Author: Jefferson Bass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I absolutely love all of the Jefferson Bass books, this one included.


Brave New World (P.S.)
Brave New World (P.S.)
Author: Aldous Huxley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 216
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I read this years after it was recommended to me. I think that was a good thing because I feel that I appreciated this book a lot more. Highly recommend this and hope it makes you think.


Cereus Blooms at Night
Cereus Blooms at Night
Author: Shani Mootoo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2010


One of my favorite reads. Shani Mootoo's words made me smell the flowers.


Close Range: Wyoming Stories
Close Range: Wyoming Stories
Author: Annie Proulx
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Annie Proulx's stories of Wyoming are wonderful. I wish she had more of these.


The Cutting Room
The Cutting Room
Author: Louise Welsh
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Rather disturbing book but worth a read.


Death of a Mythmaker (Texana Jones)
Death of a Mythmaker (Texana Jones)
Author: Allana Martin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/25/2010


The Texana Jones series turned into one of my favorite cozy reads. Recommended for anyone who wants to feel like they are in the desert.


Death of the River Master (Texana Jones)
Review Date: 10/25/2010


The Texana Jones series turned into one of my favorite cozy reads. Although this is the 6th in the series, it's one of the best.


The Devil's Star (Harry Hole, Bk 5)
The Devil's Star (Harry Hole, Bk 5)
Author: Jo Nesbo, Don Bartlett (Translator)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 10/25/2010


Jo Nesbo has become one of my favorite Norwegian authors. You can't help but root for Harry Hole.


Dublin 4
Dublin 4
Author: Maeve Binchy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/25/2010


This was the first Maeve Binchy book that I read. I liked this enough to order copies to send to a couple friends.


Final Exit (Third Edition) : The Practicalities of Self-Deliverance and Assisted Suicide for the Dying
Review Date: 10/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Just what it says. I'm keeping my copy close at hand.


Foggy Mountain Breakdown and Other Stories
Foggy Mountain Breakdown and Other Stories
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 10/25/2010


I love Sharyn Mccrumb's style of writing. These stories are good for reading by a fire on a cold winter night.


The Graveyard Book
The Graveyard Book
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 10/26/2010


This is the only Neil Gaiman book I've read. It was a wonderful read.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1995
Review Date: 10/26/2010


One of the best, and most disturbing, books I've ever read.


Mallory's Oracle (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 1)
Mallory's Oracle (Kathleen Mallory, Bk 1)
Author: Carol O'Connell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 10/26/2010


This has been my favorite series ever since it was first published. You just know Kathy Mallory is going to get the bad guys. There are 9 books in the Mallory series and they are worth reading from start to finish.


Mexican Days: Journeys into the Heart of Mexico
Mexican Days: Journeys into the Heart of Mexico
Author: Tony Cohan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 10/26/2010


Every time I pick this up and re-read parts I pine for Mexico and a road trip.


Pocket Oxford English Dictionary
Pocket Oxford English Dictionary
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 10/26/2010


Wonderful copy of this OED. I got this to keep and it sits on my bedside table.


Rough Trade
Rough Trade
Author: Red Jordan Arobateau
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/26/2010


I thought this was pretty boring. If I could rate it with less than 1/2 a star I would.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: