Gloria W. (Glors1116) - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 495
Review Date: 3/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I found the story to be average at best. It is well-written but I found that I could not identify with the female character. I was disappointed with her reasoning behind why she must write him a "Dear John" letter and found it difficult to believe she ever had true feelings for him in the first place.


Dream of the Blue Room
Dream of the Blue Room
Author: Michelle Richmond
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 3/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I did not enjoy this book as much as I thought I did. It did a great job describing the scenery of China from ten years ago but I was distracted by what I felt was the author speaking out against China's propaganda...I don't dispute that it's true but it seemed like the story was more about the evils of the Three Gorges Dam than the description on the back of the book would have led me to believe. The ending was satisfying to me and the author's description of how this story came to be explained a lot to me. It's a decent read but it could be a little boring for some people.


Gemma
Gemma
Author: Meg Tilly
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 3/11/2010


This was a quick read for me, but difficult because of the content. It is about a girl who is sexually abused and while this is not described in great detail, it made me sick to my stomach. It is overall a good story.


Her Fearful Symmetry
Her Fearful Symmetry
Author: Audrey Niffenegger
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 334
Review Date: 3/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was hoping this book to be as good as Time Traveler's Wife, but was sorely disappointed. It was not a bad story, but it didn't move me like Niffenegger's other novel. The plot twists were kind of predictable and the pace of the book was a little slow for me.


The Last Secret of the Temple
The Last Secret of the Temple
Author: Paul Sussman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 5/26/2010


This was an exciting story that reminded me of the Indiana Jones movies! Mystery, history, action... It was a little confusing at first because of the British lingo and foreign names. The lessons learned by the two main characters were endearing and were not shoved down your throat like it could have been. I very much enjoyed this story and highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys mysteries or action-packed stories.


More Than It Hurts You
More Than It Hurts You
Author: Darin Strauss
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 5/12/2010


Just reading the description on the back made this book seem very intriguing to me, but I was disappointed that the pace was a little slow. It picked up towards the end and the ending was unsatisfying, but probably more realistic than what I would have wanted. I detested one of the characters but there really are people like that out there.


The Nightingale
The Nightingale
Author: Morgana Gallaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/25/2010


This novel was about a young Iraqi woman torn between obeying her father and honoring her family and doing what her heart desired and felt was right. This story depicts what life is like for Iraqis in modern day Iraq, dealing with insurgents and coalition forces. I did not like some of the anti-American sentiments, but perhaps I am biased. I disagree on some of the things that happened and how it is depicted in this novel, but then again, I don't have to agree on everything.


The Queen of Sleepy Eye
The Queen of Sleepy Eye
Author: Patti Hill
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 5/25/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This story is about a 17 year old girl desperate to start her own life away from her mother. As you start reading this book, you can see why, but as with most mother-daughter relationships, you still love them even if they aggravate you. I enjoyed seeing how the way the characters evolved and realized things about themselves and other people. However, I did feel the sections that took place in the present could have been linked a little better with the sections that took place in the past. The true story takes place in the past, not the present, although the present does wrap up loose ends pretty nicely. Overall, the story was a bit slow and jumped around too much for me, but enjoyable.


The Scent of Rain and Lightning
The Scent of Rain and Lightning
Author: Nancy Pickard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 6/13/2010


This was a well-written story. The cover description led me to believe it would be different than what it was, but I'm very glad for it. It's a mystery/thriller with a splash of romance - I highly recommend this!


The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
The Story of Edgar Sawtelle
Author: David Wroblewski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 480
Review Date: 3/11/2010


I was looking forward to reading this book and was well-rewarded. I enjoyed the story but was left slightly confused about why certain things happened. The section that describes Edgar's adventure out on his own was by far the best part and extremely well-written. The ending was disappointing to me but I was willing to accept it.


The Survivors Club
The Survivors Club
Author: Lisa Gardner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 424
Review Date: 6/6/2010
Helpful Score: 5


This book was impossible to put down! A great thriller with a plot twist I didn't see coming. Don't read this at night if you're a single female living on your own...every little noise could start to spook you! I recommend this if you're looking for something fun and exciting to read.


1 to 11 of 11