Jeanne B. (hobbitlady) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 24 - Page:
1900
1900
Author: Rh Value Publishing
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/26/2009


Nice coffee table book with lots of pictures,chronology, giving a nice overview of the year 1900, art,architecture,history, famous people.


Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori, Book One)
Across the Nightingale Floor (Tales of the Otori, Book One)
Author: Lian Hearn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 155
Review Date: 4/24/2009


Excellent story line, good action, adventure with philosophy and romance too.


Airs Above Ground
Airs Above Ground
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/14/2012


Excellent suspense, good characters and Mary Stewart's wonderful way of evoking time, place and landscapes.


American Gods
American Gods
Author: Neil Gaiman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 968
Review Date: 4/10/2010


Amazing fantasy with lots of philosophy involved. Sympathetic characters, a roller-coaster ride!


Apollo 13 : Lost Moon
Apollo 13 : Lost Moon
Author: Jim Lovell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 1/17/2010


Good story even though you already know the outcome. Reminded me of all the space and moon shots we've just taken for granted and how really risky they were and are!! Gave me the astronaut's perspective.


THE BLACK MOON
THE BLACK MOON
Author: Winston Graham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/26/2009


Great continuation of the Poldark series featureing four major women characters including Demelza. Subtle,nice suspense, well written.


Bob Hope: A Tribute
Bob Hope: A Tribute
Author: Raymond Strait
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/30/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Interesting take on Bob's life and the wide swath he made in the world of celebrities.This is a fairly even-handed look at his good bad points.If you like knowing the secrets of Hollywood, you'll enjoy this book.


Digging to America
Digging to America
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 1/30/2008


This is a bittersweet story of personalities and left me with a true appreciation of the strength of character it takes to adopt children.


The Drastic Dragon of Draco, Texas
The Drastic Dragon of Draco, Texas
Author: Elizabeth Ann Scarborough
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/17/2008


Clever, well written fantasy with engaging heroine with her tongue planted firmly in her cheek.Nice descriptions and good action, a very enjoyable read.


Emily's Secret
Emily's Secret
Author: Jill Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 1/30/2008


This book fascinated me and I hate to part with it but would love to find more by the same author as she has a way with literature. If you've read Emile Bronte you will enjoy this book.


Flowers in the Rain
Flowers in the Rain
Author: Rosamunde Pilcher
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/9/2008


This author has a warm and gentle style of writing the gets you into the characters hearts and minds within minutes. She can set you in the scene instantly, feelings, tastes, smells and emotional tension.Each of the short stories in this book conveys how ordinary people cope with life, love, pain and loss.I was re-reading a few stories so I could write this review and now I hate to give it up! Enjoy!


Fried Eggs with Chopsticks: One Woman's Hilarious Adventure into a Country and a Culture Not Her Own
Review Date: 2/9/2010


A great read! She takes off with an open mind and gets more than she expected. Sometimes sounds a little whiny and tired like you get after not getting enough sleep, but shows a realistic picture of the joys and adventures of a different culture.


The Grass Dancer
The Grass Dancer
Author: Susan Power
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 35
Review Date: 1/30/2008


I absolutely loved this book-full of poetry and set in the West where my heart lies.


Hominids (Neanderthal Parallax, Bk 1)
Hominids (Neanderthal Parallax, Bk 1)
Author: Robert J. Sawyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 6/20/2008


Fascinatine premise-what if a parallel world exists where the Neanderthals were the successful Hominids and we went extinct? Then one of the civilized Neanderthals crossed over to see what we've made of the world? Sympathetic characters and a combination of mystery, sci-fi and love story.


Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3)
Isle of Palms (Lowcountry Tales, Bk 3)
Author: Dorothea Benton Frank
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/25/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Wonderful Southern flavor to this book. It beautifully depicts the people, the lifestyle and the climate-physical and mental of the South Eastern people near the coast. Nice romance but not sticky or sentimental.


The Last Lecture
The Last Lecture
Author: Randy Pausch, Jeffrey Zaslow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 594
Review Date: 9/26/2012


Excellent words of wisdom from a dying man.Funny, poignant and memorable!


One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
One for the Money (Stephanie Plum, Bk 1)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 2240
Review Date: 10/22/2010


First of a series,establishes the heroine as gutsy, funny, and romantic with a dysfunctional but beloved family and adventures that will truly curl your hair.Got to read the rest now!!


Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Outlander (Outlander, Bk 1) (Abridged Audio Cassette)
Author: Diana Gabaldon
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 8/21/2011


Great story,wonderful details and characters.


R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
R is for Ricochet (Kinsey Millhone, Bk 18)
Author: Sue Grafton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 430
Review Date: 2/5/2008


My husband and I love these books because they are set in thinly disguised Santa Barbara, Ventura and Oxnard California,my home town and stompin ground. Plus they have a gritty spunky protagonist that catches your heart and often the stories have good twists.This story has Kinsey babysitting a parolee who has friends in the underworld.Good stuff!


The Red Tent
The Red Tent
Author: Anita Diamant
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3401
Review Date: 10/31/2009
Helpful Score: 2


Very interesting illumination of a Biblical story. Fleshes out the characters and gives a better perspective of the culture, landscape, personalities and motivations. Also very poetic and satisfying writing.


1 to 20 of 24 - Page: