Tim N. - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Billy Bathgate
Billy Bathgate
Author: E. L. Doctorow
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 1/20/2010


Interesting story that is similar to the movie Goodfellas in the first part. Well written.


Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Dave Barry's Bad Habits
Author: Dave Barry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/2/2007


Dave Barry rocks! Sometimes a friend and I take turn reading his essays out loud. Good fun.


Everything's Eventual : 14 Dark Tales
Everything's Eventual : 14 Dark Tales
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 549
Review Date: 3/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I actually have found Stephen King is a better short story writer than novelist. This is a good book of short stories on various subjects. Remember, three of the four short stories in his Different Seasons collection were turned into great movies: Stand By Me, The Shawshank Redemption and Apt Pupil. Also, it's a good book to have when you don't feel like reading a full Bible length Stephen King book.


Hombre
Hombre
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 3/2/2007


Elmore Leonard's westerns are as good or better than his later crime novels. In fact, all his novels are pretty much westerns, but it different times and cities. A movie was made of this book with the same name and starrin Paul Newman. Both are great.


The Hunted
The Hunted
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 3/2/2007


Great adventure novel set in Israel. Not predictable.


The Judgment (Joseph Antonelli, Bk 3)
The Judgment (Joseph Antonelli, Bk 3)
Author: D. W. Buffa
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/20/2010


Surprised by how much I like this book. Listening to it kept my interest probably more than reading it. The author is a good writer.


Rum Punch
Rum Punch
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 4/27/2007


Classic characters, and basis for Quentin Terrantino's movie Jackie Brown. The movie is pretty faithful to the book.


Shutter Island (Audio) (Unabridged)
Shutter Island (Audio) (Unabridged)
Author: Dennis Lehane
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 1/20/2010


Really good book. Gripping and full of intelligence.


The Silence of the Lambs (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 2)
The Silence of the Lambs (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 2)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 463
Review Date: 3/15/2007


I've read all Thomas Harris books, and they're all good reads. I read this after I saw the movie, but like most books/movies, it was different but in a good way.


Tishomingo Blues
Tishomingo Blues
Author: Elmore Leonard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 57
Review Date: 1/20/2010


Excellent Elmore Leonard. Especially interesting if you like high divers or Civil War reenactments, or if you would just like to learn about both. Extremely well written characters.


1 to 10 of 10