Nancy C. (nancyzc) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 73 - Page:
German
German
Author: Paul Coggle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/20/2011


Highly recommended. I've tried several different German textbooks to help explain what is going on in my Rosetta Stone course, and this is the best.


In the Sunlight: The Floral and Figurative Art of John Henry Twachtman
Review Date: 12/14/2011


A beautiful book suitable for Christmas giving.


Insight City Guide Montreal (Insight City Guides (Book & Restaruant Guide))
Review Date: 10/20/2009


This is a good, reliable, in-depth guide to the major cities of Quebec Province. It contains enough information for a longer visit than most tourists will be able to pay. Best of all are the many illustrations and the detachable pocket map of downtown areas. My husband and I just returned from Montreal and relied every day on this extremely detailed map.


Jane Eyre (Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism)
Jane Eyre (Case Studies in Contemporary Criticism)
Author: Charlotte Bronte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/17/2011


Obviously there are hundreds of editions of Jane Eyre. I wanted this one because it included essays by critics. I found that the book contains one truly excellent essay, which is the essay written from a "deconstructionist" perspective. It was the first essay by a deconstructionist I've ever read, and it made more sense than I expected.

But if you want a critical edition of Jane Eyre with SEVERAL good essays in it, I recommend the Norton Critical Edition instead.


Jane Eyre, Third Edition (Norton Critical Editions)
Jane Eyre, Third Edition (Norton Critical Editions)
Author: Charlotte Bronte
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 7/30/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Editions of Jane Eyre are a dime a dozen, but this Norton Critical Edition is valuable for its modern essays by literary critics. While just slightly out of date because it includes few essays from the last 30 years, it is still a worthwhile reference---very thought-provoking.


The Janus Stone (Ruth Galloway, Bk 2)
The Janus Stone (Ruth Galloway, Bk 2)
Author: Elly Griffiths
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/16/2018


Not the most intelligent of authors---plot details can be unnecessarily repetitive. Heavy-handed narrative. And yet these Ruth Galloway books are very enjoyable because the characters are so sympathetic.


Katherine Mansfield Selected Letters
Review Date: 5/25/2009


Fascinating letters dated 1903-1922 by one of the great short story writers in the English language---Katherine Mansfield, who died in 1923 at age 34. She knew Virginia Woolf, D. H. Lawrence, and other London literati.


A Leaf from an Unopened Volume . . . an Angrian Story
Review Date: 6/13/2009


Fascinating insight into Charlotte's young mind. She wrote this fantasy at age 17 or 18.


The Lee Girls
The Lee Girls
Author: Mary P. Coulling
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 9/10/2009


A chronicle of the somewhat melancholy lives of Robert E. Lee's four daughters, none of whom ever married and one of whom predeceased him. The main reason for reading the book is to gain insight into the life of Confederate gentlewomen. The Lees, unlike Scarlett O'Hara, did not have to scrabble for rotten radishes; financially, they were better off than most Southerners during the war. But I suspect that the loss of their home and the difficulties of transportation and communication were all too typical.

This is not a multiple biography of famous people, because the Lee girls did little to make themselves remembered except on a local level. Rather, it is an interesting glimpse into the world they lived in.


Life on the Color Line : The True Story of a White Boy Who Discovered He Was Black
Review Date: 1/6/2015


Astonishing and riveting, not least because I am only 6 years younger than the author and grew up in the same small city.

1950s race relations (in the Midwest) and child poverty are large parts of Williams's memoir. This brilliantly written book may be the best I have obtained from paperbackswap in my 7 or 8 years as a member.


The Lincoln Deception (Dr. Jamie Fraser & Speed Cook, Bk 1)
The Lincoln Deception (Dr. Jamie Fraser & Speed Cook, Bk 1)
Author: David O. Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 5/3/2015


Entertaining and thought-provoking. Could have happened this way, but probably didn't.


Literary Landscapes of the British Isles: A Narrative Atlas
Review Date: 3/10/2017


A precious book---one of the very few among the thousands of books in my life---that I've acquired twice. Never should have discarded it the first time. Its maps are invaluable when visiting London.


London Bridges
London Bridges
Author: Jane Stevenson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/7/2011


Neither a mystery nor a novel, exactly, but a combination of both. A light-hearted tribute to London itself, whimsical and original. If you liked Stevenson's later books on Elizabeth of Bohemia (the Winter Queen) and her descendants, you will LOVE this one. Very entertaining. Highly recommended.


Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women
Louisa May Alcott: The Woman Behind Little Women
Author: Harriet Reisen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/11/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I didn't know whether there was a real need for another biography of Louisa so soon after the award-winning Eden's Outcasts. But there is! The author has original thoughts to bring to the story, and handles Lizzie (Beth March) with particular sympathy and originality.

Highly recommended.


The Manger Scene: Easy to Assemble
The Manger Scene: Easy to Assemble
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/16/2012


A typical Nativity set from the 1950s, simply designed but having much more "character" and less Disneyfication (if that's a word) than the paper Nativity sets you see for sale these days. Easy to punch out and assemble.


The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. (Josephine B., Bk 1)
The Many Lives & Secret Sorrows of Josephine B. (Josephine B., Bk 1)
Author: Sandra Gulland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/23/2013


For someone who used to have a license to teach history, I didn't know much about the Empress Josephine. But I learned a lot from this novel. Very entertaining as well.


A Marked Man (Abigail Adams, Bk 2)
A Marked Man (Abigail Adams, Bk 2)
Author: Barbara Hamilton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 2/8/2015


good historical mystery series with lots of convincing detail, well researched and enjoyable


Mary Queen of Scots Paper Dolls
Mary Queen of Scots Paper Dolls
Author: Tom Tierney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/17/2013


Superior artwork, as usual with this artist. I would have preferred more costumes and fewer dolls, but can't think of anything else wrong with this book. It is almost too good to waste on a child!


The Mistressclass
The Mistressclass
Author: Michele Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/26/2009


This is a terrific novel that deserves more readers. It's about a modern Englishwoman whose story is counterpointed against an imaginary episode in the life of Charlotte Bronte. It's funny, poetic, imaginative, and brilliant. A must read!


Monet: Late Paintings of Giverny from the Musee Marmottan
Review Date: 12/14/2011


A beautiful book with historic photographs as well as art reproductions.


21 to 40 of 73 - Page: