Reviews - Laura M. (themarlatts)

1 to 20 of 26 - Page:
As Time Goes by (California Series, Bk 2)
As Time Goes by (California Series, Bk 2)
Author: Lori Wick
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/26/2006


"My favorite book by Lori Wick - it will be difficult to part with I loved it so much. Its great to read and then read again."


The Atonement Child
The Atonement Child
Author: Francine Rivers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 257
Review Date: 6/2/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Excellent book you won't be able to put down. The story centers around abortion and the aftermath it creates, but even for having such a gritty topic it is still fantastic. It definitely makes you think!"


Baseball in April and Other Stories
Baseball in April and Other Stories
Author: Gary Soto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"I used this book for a short story unit for my 7th grade classroom - the kids really liked it and identified with it. Also a quick and interesting read for adults."


A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
A Bride for Donnigan (Women of the West, Bk 7)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 3/29/2006


"If you like Janette Oke books then this one will be enjoyed as well."


Clouds (Glenbrooke)
Clouds (Glenbrooke)
Author: Robin Jones Gunn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/23/2006


"One of my favorite books in this series."


The Confession (The Heritage of Lancaster County, Vol 2)
The Confession (The Heritage of Lancaster County, Vol 2)
Author: Beverly Lewis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 5/26/2006


"I loved this sequel to The Shunning and couldn't put it down! Now I just need the third one........."


A Corner Of The Universe
A Corner Of The Universe
Author: Ann Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 4/2/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I LOVED this story - bought it for my jr. high classroom but really enjoyed it as an adult. I cannot recommend it enough!"


The First Days of School: How to Be an Effective Teacher (2nd Edition)
Review Date: 5/1/2006


"A must-have book for any new teacher."


The Fluent Reader: Oral Reading Strategies for Building Word Recognition, Fluency, and Comprehension
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"This book is excellent for use in the elementary classroom to improve fluency. Not just a book with data telling you what needs to be done. It actually has charts, examples, and book lists. It also outlines how to start a reading fluency program for parents to do at home with their children weekly."


For Women Only : What You Need to Know About the Inner Lives of Men
Review Date: 4/2/2006
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"You will either love, or hate this book - there's not much of a middle ground here. I'm on the hate end of the spectrum - I found it insulting to men - the idea that men are "wired" to be a certain way and they are helpless against their "wiring" is a little ridiculous. The only reason I gave it a whole star is the chapter on respect - I do think that most women don't respect their husbands enough. An interesting read either way."


The Ghost at the Old Stone Fort
The Ghost at the Old Stone Fort
Author: Martha Tannery Jones
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"Great story along with a dose of Texas history!"


A Gown of Spanish Lace (Women of the West, Bk 11)
A Gown of Spanish Lace (Women of the West, Bk 11)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 3/29/2006


"Another book by Oke that I love - a quick but good read."


Heart of the Wilderness (Women of the West, Bk 8)
Heart of the Wilderness (Women of the West, Bk 8)
Author: Janette Oke
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 3/29/2006


"Excellent Janette Oke book - I didn't think I would enjoy the subject matter (trapping animals, surviving in the wilderness) but it was quite enjoyable."


Hope Was Here
Hope Was Here
Author: Joan Bauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"A Newbery Honor book - really great for teenage girls. My Jr. high students loved it."


I, Juan de Pareja (Sunburst Book)
I, Juan de Pareja (Sunburst Book)
Author: Elizabeth Borton De Trevino
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 4/2/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Fascinating book! You don't normally see books about slaves in other countries, and also about artists - very captivating."


Inglés en 10 minutos al día® (10 Minutes a Day)
Inglés en 10 minutos al día® (10 Minutes a Day)
Author: Kristine K. Kershul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"This book is for Spanish speakers to learn English in 10 minutes a day. I bought it for a group of immigrant students in my English speaking classroom who didn't know a single word of English. It is written in Spanish and is set up in a workbook type layout. There are 25 individual lessons that cover all of the basics of English including handy vocabulary. There is also a glossary, some tear-out vocabulary cards, and even a page of English vocabulary stickers to label some everyday items. My students really benefitted from this."


Katarina
Katarina
Author: Kathryn Winter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"I read cover to cover in one sitting - great for teens - I used in my 7th grade classroom."


Local News: Stories
Local News: Stories
Author: Gary Soto
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"A collection of short stories that will leave you wanting more."


A Long Fatal Love Chase
A Long Fatal Love Chase
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/2/2006


"A suspenseful romantic thriller that will keep you interested. Nothing at all like Little Women but still fantastic."


On Becoming Baby Wise: Learn How over 500,000 Babies Were Trained to Sleep Through the Night the Natural Way
Review Date: 5/19/2006
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"While you might not agree with everything in this book, the idea of putting your child on a routine is perfect. As a new mother I had NO idea what to do - every time my son cried I fed him - this book helped me to realize that he needed structure during his day.

The order of eat, plan and then sleep also helped my son take better naps and sleep through the night much earlier than expected.

Remember, you can still follow these guidelines even if you don't want ot let your child "cry it out.""


1 to 20 of 26 - Page: