Reviews - Natasha F. (Vasilly)

1 to 13 of 13
Blackbird House
Blackbird House
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/25/2007


"Reading this book, it's a guarantee that there will be passages that stop your breath."


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 219
Review Date: 3/22/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is my second favorite books out of all my favorite books ever! Jose Saramago is such a wonderful writer and he should be better known. Blindness deals with the aftermath of the whole world going blind, starting with a man suddenly and for no reason at a red light. The characters are so believable, the plot wonderful. I have no complaints and doubt anyone else will either."


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/30/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Blindness is one of the best books I have ever read.It's more than a book, but a classic that people will be reading generations from now. It's the story of what happens in an ordinary world, when the whole world, slowly but surely loses their sight. It's about how they live, who they are and who they become as people.In the year that it was publish, Blindness was a New York Times Notable book of the year and a Los Angeles Times Best book of the year. The year after it was published,Jose Saramago was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. I'm tempted to get every copy of this book off of PBS just to give to all of my friends."


Claiming the Spirit Within: A Sourcebook of Women's Poetry
Claiming the Spirit Within: A Sourcebook of Women's Poetry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/8/2007


"This is such a great book of poetry for any woman to read. It features poetry from poets such as Joy Harjo, Sandra Cisneros, Denise Levertov, Audre Lorde, and many more. The themes range from Generations to Defiance, Conception, Identity to The Body and Aging."


Ellington Was Not a Street (Coretta Scott King Illustrator Award Winner)
Review Date: 8/5/2007


"Ellington was not a Street is a great book by Ntozake Shange based on a poem she wrote called Mood Indigo. The book is telling Shange's story about growing up as a child and having so many African-American greats spend time in her house with her family. People like W.E.B. DuBois, Paul Robeson, Ray Barretto, and Dr. Kwame Nkrumah.At the back of the book is the poem and also information on her person featured. It's a sophisticated read for both children and adults."


If You Give a Pig a Pancake
If You Give a Pig a Pancake
Author: Laura Numeroff, Felicia Bond (Illustrator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 3/21/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"If you give a pig a pancake is such a good book for kids. It shows each action once the pig is given a pancake. Your kid will want you to read this book over and over again. If they can't read the book when you first get it, they will soon after. Memorable and fun for kids."


Ina May's Guide to Childbirth
Ina May's Guide to Childbirth
Author: Ina May Gaskin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 8/12/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a book that every woman who gets pregnant should read. It opens your eyes to the profit-thinking goals of hospitals and how so many different souces in the world try to scare women into thinking childbirth is something that should be feared."


Mothers Who Think : Tales of Real-Life Parenthood
Mothers Who Think : Tales of Real-Life Parenthood
Author: Camille Peri, Kate Moses
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/14/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A great book for moms and dads. So many of the essays in the book gave me chills for their honesty about motherood. Very few of the essays were flat. Worth you money."


The Mysteries of Harris Burdick
The Mysteries of Harris Burdick
Author: Chris Van Allsburg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/21/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is such a beautiful book. The fourteen illustrations are from a man named Harris Burdick. He showed them to a publisher many years ago, stating that he had written fourteen stories and had drawn many pictures for each story. He showed the publisher just one drawing and its caption from each book, wondering did the publisher like them. He did and wanted to see the fourteen books. Burdick agreed, promising that he would return the next day with the stories. He never came back and could not be found, hence the title. The pictures and the captions will ignite your imagination and I promise you will come up with your own stories. My favorite Chris Van Allsburg book."


So Many Books, So Little Time: A Year of Passionate Reading
So Many Books, So Little Time: A Year of Passionate Reading
Author: Sara Nelson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 5/20/2007
9 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is such a great book! People either love it or hate it. Here's the thing: if you're looking for just a list of good books to read and nothing more, put this book down and pick up Nancy Pearl's Book Lust. If you don't mind something more, then you've found the right book. Sara Nelson decided that she was going to spend one year reading a book a week from a list that she made. Instead she learned that you can't pick your books, books pick you. So instead of reading the books that she was "suppose" to, she feel in and out of love with books that fit her mood. She shows how for alot of readers (including myself,) that you read what fits your mood. Sara Nelson shows a very honest portrayal of her reading habits, such as: loving a writer's first novel and hating the next, not reading classics, refusing to read anything on any bestseller's list or reading anything that is overhyped, being careful what you recommend to someone to read, and also learning how to put a book down if it doesn't speak to you instead of trudging through it. "So many books, so little time" is a great book and highly recommended. You'll walk around everywhere with it until you're finished."


Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Stiff: The Curious Lives of Human Cadavers
Author: Mary Roach
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 598
Review Date: 3/21/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Before getting this book, I read a couple of great reviews. They were all right on the money. Stiff by Mary Roach is an engaging read about what happens to human cadavers. Mary Roach takes the reader through the testing of bullets on cadavers for the government, how important it is to donate your body after death,why it is important for medical students to work on human cadavers, experiments that were done on the dead for the sake of religion... Mary Roach is such a great writer and makes every chapter a chapter of interest. I recommend it to everyone."


Stones From The River
Stones From The River
Author: Ursula Hegi
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 439
Review Date: 3/21/2007
10 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Every couple of years, I take 'Stones from the River' off my bookshelf and read it over again. I first heard about this book beacuse it was an Oprah's book club pick. 'Stones from the River' is about the life of Trudi Montag,a dwarf who is living her life in a small town in Germany. The book is from Trudi's childhood to her adulthood. She is such a great character and this book is an outstanding read. I wasn't disappointed at all. My favorite line from the book occurs when Trudi is talking to a man named Adolf, a Jew who is hiding in Trudi's house during WWII, and she is comparing the suffering that he and others Jews are going through to others and he tells her: "...But we can't do that-compare our pain. It minimizes what happens to is, distorts it. We need to say, yes, this is what happened to me, and this is what I'll do about it.""


The Truth About Stacey (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 3)
The Truth About Stacey (Baby-Sitters Club, Bk 3)
Author: Ann M. Martin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 29
Review Date: 3/21/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was one of my favorite books growing up. The truth about Stacey is a good read for any young girl. I remember reading this book and being introduced for the first time to the medical condtion that Stacey has."


1 to 13 of 13