Reviews - Vandana D. (romabellaroma)

1 to 13 of 13
Best Friends Forever
Best Friends Forever
Author: Jennifer Weiner
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 7/9/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was the first Jennifer Weiner book that I've read and I enjoyed it. Some parts of it were very funny. Believable characters, and poignant in places. Good chick lit and nice summer reading."


Between Friends
Between Friends
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 210
Review Date: 5/4/2010


"This is a great read on two levels: on one level, you're following the lives to 2 best friends from childhood to adulthood; on the second level, you're revisting events that changed the country and the world through their eyes and reactions. Debbie Macomber is one of my favorite authors who always gets me involved with her characters and this book certainly did that: I laughed out loud and also cried in a few places. A wonderful read."


Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Curiosity Killed the Cat Sitter (Dixie Hemingway, Bk 1)
Author: Blaize Clement
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 8/6/2009


"Really enjoyed this book. A little more depth than a cozy; characters are well developed and likable: I find myself looking forward to seeing how Dixie will grow in the next book. Plot was well developed; writing was good although some of the foul language wasn't needed (not a lot of foul language) : I'm looking forward to the next book. Going to keep this one for a while; read it again; it may actually make it to my keeper shelf."


Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Death At La Fenice (Guido Brunetti, Bk 1)
Author: Donna Leon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 5/15/2010
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A very good procedural mystery: not a lot of action and gore, but a step by step investigation of a death by poisoning of a well known conductor at La Fenice during intermission. Well written: the characters are well potrayed and the relationship between them is described well. I think what I enjoyed most was the description of Venice, working in Venice, the atmosphere, and the description of how Italians speak and think (little details such as the description of Mina and what happened to her,for example). Good read."


Divorce Can be Murder (Jimi Plain, Bk 2)
Divorce Can be Murder (Jimi Plain, Bk 2)
Author: Victoria Pade
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 7/17/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the first book I've read by Victoria Pade and I really enjoyed it. The characters were believable, likeable, and the plot progression was well done. Funny in places, realistic in terms of family situations etc. I thought it was written well and flowed well. Looking forward to reading others by the author."


Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold
Eyes of Silver, Eyes of Gold
Author: Ellen O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 9/26/2010


"This was a great find for me: I really enjoyed it and was hoping the author had other books out there. It was well written, and I enjoyed the characters and the way their relationship progressed. Definitely worth reading if you like western historical romances: but it is different from the regular type."


Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Finger Lickin' Fifteen (Stephanie Plum, Bk 15)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 823
Review Date: 7/5/2009
14 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This was a major disappointment. The last 2 or 3 books have been very much to the formula and this is the same. I can remember when I first discovered Stephanie Plum and really enjoyed the first books of the series. Now its just feels like evanovich is using the same formula and changing the dates/times/places. The characters haven't grown and its just more of the same. Glad I borrowed it rather than bought it."


Homicide in Hardcover (Bibliophile, Bk 1)
Homicide in Hardcover (Bibliophile, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Carlisle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 181
Review Date: 7/12/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A comfortable enough read, but not a keeper. Characters are likeable, the background interesting (book restoration, bookbinding), little bit of romance in addition to the mystery. But things happened to the main character in terms of moving the mystery along instead of active investigation : it just seemed there were too many coincidental discoveries. I'm glad I read it and tried out a new author but this will not be a series I'll be looking out for."


Since You're Leaving Anyway, Take Out the Trash (Domestic Equalizers, Bk 1)
Review Date: 7/6/2009
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"The title was funnier than the book. It was an ok read, and some parts of it were funny I guess. Not a keeper and not even sure I would recommend it to anyone. I've been meaning to read it because I thought the title was pretty catchy. Don't believe I'll pick up anything else of hers."


Ten Things I Love About You (Bevelstoke, Bk 3)
Ten Things I Love About You (Bevelstoke, Bk 3)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 357
Review Date: 6/8/2010
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I smiled and occasionally laughed my way through this book. I've enjoyed all of Julia Quinn's books (some more than others) and this one is another one to add to the list. I like her humor. Its a cute book with good characters and leaves you feeling good."


They Found Him Dead
They Found Him Dead
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 7/20/2009


"Georgette Heyer has long been one of my favorite authors for romance. This was the first mystery novel of hers that I have read, and I did enjoy it. It is obviously dated due to when she was writing, but the plot was good, the characters well developed, with great conversation and insight. Subtle humor. Very enjoyable. I don't know why I never picked up one of her mystery novels before but I'm looking forward to reading the rest of them!"


What Happens in London (Bevelstoke, Bk 2)
What Happens in London (Bevelstoke, Bk 2)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 433
Review Date: 7/5/2009
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Julia Quinn is one of my must buy authors. I like her sense of humor, and her books are well written and make me laugh. This book was good and I enjoyed it, although I think the first lost duke book is still my favorite. Nice read, gentle romance."


Wreath of Deception (Craft Corner, Bk 1)
Wreath of Deception (Craft Corner, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Ellen Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 82
Review Date: 7/24/2009
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I thought this was a good start for the series and will look for the others in the series. It is a cozy so its not as spine tingling or taut as "mysteries/thrillers" would be, but it's well written, with good characters: unlike with other cozies, I do want to see what happens to them in the next book. Enjoyable read."


1 to 13 of 13