Ellen L. (scentednights2002) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
Adventures: Level G (Houghton Mifflin Reading)
Adventures: Level G (Houghton Mifflin Reading)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/3/2006


Grade 2 reading book with summary questions


Bloodletter (Star Trek Deep Space Nine, No 3)
Bloodletter (Star Trek Deep Space Nine, No 3)
Author: K. W. Jeter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/19/2006


A figure from Major Kira's past - sworn to deadly revenge - could mean the end of Deep Space Nine.


A Blueprint for Prosperity Market-based Alternatives to the Obama Blueprint for Change
Review Date: 2/13/2010


I'm sure we can all agree that there is something seriously wrong with our economy. Robert Donovan agrees. I doubt very much that when I get to retirement age, there's going to be anything left in the social security system to pay out. The U.S. deficit is growing by leaps and bounds into the trillions and the Obama administration has no problem making it even larger.

The author feels that one of the problems with the current administration is their belief that it's the governments job to "take care of the people". It's the government's job to make sure people are free to earn the means to take care of themselves. I agree completely. The government needs to learn to live within its means just like we do.

A Blueprint for Prosperity takes a look at a variety of ways we can accomplish these goals and get this country back on track. It contains seven chapters and a total of 193 pages plus references. The book also contains an introduction and table of contents.

Chapter One offers suggestions on how politicians can get past partisan bickering. We need to come up with a better standard of reference than the current political parties for defining political issues. Robert Donovan offers in depth thoughts on how this can be accomplished.

In Chapter Two, he discusses balancing the federal budget.Throughout this chapter, Donovan discusses budgeting methods and the flaws in each of the approaches he defines. Donovan offers his suggestions for dealing with the deficit through receipt based budgeting. He also offers a blueprint to follow to get to this type of budgeting.

Chapter Three discusses alternative ways to generate income and offers thoughts on how to fix the current income tax system. This chapter is extensive and offers in depth research with facts and figures to back it up.

Chapter Four explains how Donovan thinks we can fix social security through the use of personal income and retirement accounts versus privatizing. He also discusses allowing workers to contribute pre-tax savings and feels that financial self-sufficiency is the key.

In Chapter Five, Donovan discusses how healthcare can be fixed. I admit this chapter had me hooked because I am so against Obama's socialized version. He gives us a brief history of how we got to where we are today and offers a blueprint to follow to find a more successful model than we have today.

Chapter Six discusses welfare which is probably one of the more controversial subjects in America today. He offers a number of valuable suggestions for making welfare work better which include personal responsibility, demonstration of sufficient need and a lifetime limit among other things.

Chapter Seven is a summary and brings the rest of the chapters together.

This is an amazing book. I don't feel I even scratched the surface of all the information it contains. I highly recommend you buy it, read it, read it again and think about it a lot.


The Brethren
The Brethren
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1022
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Fast paced and action packed!


Chromosome 6
Chromosome 6
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 10/30/2006


The harrowing new bestseller from the master of medical thrillers, written with the bold strokes of reality that are RobinCook's trademarks.


The Complete Energy-Saving Handbook for Homeowners
The Complete Energy-Saving Handbook for Homeowners
Author: James Warner Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/19/2006


Information about insulation, heating systems, reducing utility bills, wood heat, solar systems and more.


A Handful of Heaven (McKaslin Clan, Bk 4)
A Handful of Heaven (McKaslin Clan, Bk 4)
Author: Jillian Hart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 1/3/2007


A wholesome, tender romance novel from one of Love Inspired's bestselling authors. Heartwarming inspirational romance.


The Healing Bath : Holistic Bubbles and Soothing Soaks
The Healing Bath : Holistic Bubbles and Soothing Soaks
Author: Maribeth Riggs
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/11/2006


Many ideas on how to enjoy your own bath by adding different oils.


Imzadi (Star Trek: The Next Generation)
Imzadi (Star Trek: The Next Generation)
Author: Peter David
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 10/17/2006


During delicate negotiations with an aggressive race called the Sindareen. Deanna Troi mysteriously falls ill...and dies. But her death is only the beginning of the adventure for Commander Riker - an adventure that will take him across time, pit him against one of his closest friends and force him to choose between Starfleet's strictest rule and the one he calls Imazdi.


The Killing Breed (Old Philadelphia, Bk 1)
The Killing Breed (Old Philadelphia, Bk 1)
Author: Mark Graham
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 9/30/2006


A gritty atmospheric mystery replete with fascinating period detail.


Kilmer's Pet Monster (Bailey City Monsters)
Kilmer's Pet Monster (Bailey City Monsters)
Author: Marcia Jones
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/26/2006


Bailey City is full of some pretty weird grown ups. It is the perfect place for the spooky Hauntly Manor Inn. Could a witch with a very unusual pet be visiting for a while? Check out who's visiting Hauntly Manor Inn.


Lifepac Science Grade 4
Lifepac Science Grade 4
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/28/2006


Teacher's Guide


Live from the Fifth Grade
Live from the Fifth Grade
Author: Colleen O'Shaughnessy McKenna
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 11/12/2006


A delightful tale, packed with humor.


Martin the Warrior (Redwall, Book 6)
Martin the Warrior (Redwall, Book 6)
Author: Brian Jacques
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 169
Review Date: 11/4/2006


Wonderfully imaginative in its variety of plot and larger than life characters.


Mummies in the Morning (Magic Tree House, Bk 3)
Mummies in the Morning (Magic Tree House, Bk 3)
Author: Sal Murdocca (Illustrator), Mary Pope Osborne
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 12/26/2006


Jack and Annie follow the sleek black cat that appears outside the Magic Tree House window - and the next thing they know, they are in ancient Egypt! The cat leads Jack and Annie into a pyramid. "There's probably a mummy in here," Annie says. But they find something even scarier - the ghost of an Egyptian queen. And she needs their help!


Name Your Baby
Name Your Baby
Author: Lareina Rule
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 10/25/2006


More than 10,000 names! The world's bestselling baby name book.


Parsival, or a Knight's Tale
Parsival, or a Knight's Tale
Author: David McCall Johnston (Illustrator), Richard Monaco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 0.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/22/2007


An innocent Prince rides forth on a dangerous quest, through a kingdom ruled by swords and sorcerers. In adventures wondrous and grave, he will hold the whiphandle of war and amulet of a duchess, do battle with the red knight and challenge the kingdom of death. He will forfeit his innocence to restore to Camelot a noble ideal. And his valor will become the song of legend.


The Terror Brigade
The Terror Brigade
Author: David A. Phillips
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/14/2007


An explosive novel of terrorism by former CIA operative


The Third Pandemic
The Third Pandemic
Author: Pierre Ouellette
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 10/13/2006


Ouellette does an outstanding job of creating a world in which the potential outbreak of disease terrifies nearly everyone.


Twister on Tuesday (Magic Tree House, Bk 23)
Review Date: 12/26/2006
Helpful Score: 1


An adventure to blow you away! That's what Jack and Annie get when the Magic Tree House whisks them back to the 1870s. They land on the prairie near a one-room schoolhouse, where they meet a teenage schoolteacher, some cool kids, and one big, scary bully. But the biggest and scarriest thing is yet to come! Your head will spin when you read Magic Tree House #23 Twister on Tuesday.


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: