Tracey M. (chemistmcg) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
1-2-3 Magic: Effective Discipline for Children 2-12
Author: Thomas W. Phelan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 1/30/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This method has worked well for us. Our son's daycare applies the same techniques, so it is very consistent for him. I fine I need to re- read this book periodically to get back on the discipline wagon. It's so easy to slip back into the habit of letting your kid argue and whine and negotiate with you. This is why I haven't reposted it yet, I still consult it from time to time.


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago, Giovanni Pontiero (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 9/16/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book after seeing the 2008 film. It took a while to get used to Saramago's train of thought writing with no punctuation to indicate a change in speakers. Once I started reading at the pace of a real conversation, it went much more smoothly.


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 713
Review Date: 12/22/2005


hysterical!


Burn Unit: Saving Lives After The Flames
Burn Unit: Saving Lives After The Flames
Author: Barbara Ravage
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 9/18/2006


This was a really informative book. If you like reading about medicine and medical procedures, I highly recommend it. I learned a lot about the evolution of burn treatments and how complicated it really is. There are a couple of "oh my god" moments when the patients in the book described how they ended up in the burn unit. Makes you much more aware of the everyday risks in your home....


Deception Point
Deception Point
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1731
Review Date: 1/3/2006


Not as good as Angels and Demons or DaVinci Code, but better than Digital Fortress. I liked this one because Brown ventured away from the Catholic Church storyline. Fast read, very entertaining.


The Demon in the Freezer
The Demon in the Freezer
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


chilling account of the situation regarding smallpox. Also the post 9/11 anthrax cases are recounted. Not as good as "Hot Zone" imo, but worthy of reading.


Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health
Dianetics: The Modern Science of Mental Health
Author: L. Ron Hubbard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 9/29/2006


what a bunch of crap.


Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Fast Food Nation: The Dark Side of the All-American Meal
Author: Eric Schlosser
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 597
Review Date: 12/22/2005


very interesting view of the beginnings of McDonald's and the fast food industry, how the company has evolved in terms of economic clout; the abuses and dangers of the meat packing industry is revealed. You'll never look at hamburger the same way again!


The First Immortal: A Novel Of The Future
The First Immortal: A Novel Of The Future
Author: James L. Halperin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 8/2/2006
Helpful Score: 2


really cool book. was writtin in the late nineties, and predicts science, government, politics, etc... way into the future. The author has Gore winning the 2000 election. He was very close to being correct!


The Girlfriends' Guide to Pregnancy Or Everything Your Doctor Won't Tell You
Review Date: 10/7/2006
Helpful Score: 1


very funny, entertaining read, chocked full of good "real life" information about being pregnant.


Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Hannibal (Hannibal Lecter, Bk 3)
Author: Thomas Harris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 714
Review Date: 1/3/2006


the book was definitely better than the movie; however, I along with several of my friends, witnessed the filming of the house by the lake scenes, at the end of the movie/book. They used an old home in Richmond. We sat across the street for hours and sighted Julieanne Moore, Ray Liotta and Anthony Hopkins. He waved to us and said hello. He also had a [body] double that was eerily similar looking!


The Hot Zone
The Hot Zone
Author: Richard Preston
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 406
Review Date: 1/3/2006


This book was crazy terrifying...


The Miracle Worker
The Miracle Worker
Author: William Gibson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/22/2005
Helpful Score: 1


this is the play, not the biography of Helen Keller. I have seen this performed on screen and on stage and it is always an inspiring story.


Misconceptions : Truth, Lies, and the Unexpected on the Journey to Motherhood
Review Date: 10/7/2006


very enlightening, although if you're feeling at all guilty about not doing the 100% natural childbirth thing, then you'll feel even more guilty. Had a very good section on communication with your spouse, though.


No Deadly Drug
No Deadly Drug
Author: Tom Ferguson, Joe Graedon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/22/2005


Decent read if you like medical thrillers


Otherwise Engaged
Otherwise Engaged
Author: Suzanne Finnamore
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 27
Review Date: 12/22/2005


This is a good book for young women who are about to embark on the institution of marriage, or want to. Have you been dating someone forever and anticipate him popping the question any time now? This book is for you.


The Secret History of the War on Cancer
The Secret History of the War on Cancer
Author: Devra Davis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/2/2011


Scary... we already know the tobacco companies covered up and disseminated doubt about the harm of cigarettes for years, but it was much longer than anyone thought. Manufacturers of artificial sweeteners have followed this successful model to prolong lack of liability, and Devra Davis is alluding to the fact that we will witness a similar scenario from the cell phone companies.

She also chronicles the first documented incidences of cancers in textile workers, chimney sweeps and chemical workers, and how long it took for any employers to admit that theirs were definite causes. It's always been about the bottom line.

She stresses how so much of the research funding goes to trying to discover cures for cancer, but not causes and preventions. It ultimately rests on the individual to become informed of agents suspected to cause cancer and to limit their own exposure and that of their loved ones to these substances.

this book is a good start.


The Seventh Scroll
The Seventh Scroll
Author: Wilbur A. Smith
Book Type: Audio Cassette
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 1/8/2006


This is a book on 4 cassettes. Perfect for a car trip!


The Sex Lives of Cannibals : Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific
The Sex Lives of Cannibals : Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific
Author: J. Maarten Troost
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 241
Review Date: 5/28/2006
Helpful Score: 3


As a returned Peace Corps volunteer from the South Pacific, this book very acurately described my experiences. It was funny and helps you to appreciate what you have as an American.


The Simple Truth
The Simple Truth
Author: David Baldacci
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 412
Review Date: 1/3/2006


Very on-the-edge-of your seat gem by Baldacci.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: