Whitney B. (grammarchick) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
4 Blondes
4 Blondes
Author: Candace Bushnell
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 341
Review Date: 7/22/2006


Not my cup of pepsi, but maybe someone else's.


Brave New World
Brave New World
Author: Aldous Huxley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 147
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Amazon.com
"Community, Identity, Stability" is the motto of Aldous Huxley's utopian World State. Here everyone consumes daily grams of soma, to fight depression, babies are born in laboratories, and the most popular form of entertainment is a "Feelie," a movie that stimulates the senses of sight, hearing, and touch. Though there is no violence and everyone is provided for, Bernard Marx feels something is missing and senses his relationship with a young women has the potential to be much more than the confines of their existence allow. Huxley foreshadowed many of the practices and gadgets we take for granted today--let's hope the sterility and absence of individuality he predicted aren't yet to come. --


The Breakdown Lane
The Breakdown Lane
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 10/11/2006


This book made me so angry and so happy - frustrating but great read!


Bridget Jones's Diary
Bridget Jones's Diary
Author: Helen Fielding
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 711
Review Date: 3/30/2006


Honestly, I never read it. I got it on sale when it first came out and just am not interested in keeping it.


Cage of Stars
Cage of Stars
Author: Jacquelyn Mitchard
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 100
Review Date: 5/27/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I learned so much about the Mormon community - which I think is interesting in itself - but this was also a personal-conflict story with a surprising ending.


Carpe Demon: Adventures of Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Kate Connor, Bk 1)
Review Date: 8/7/2006


Funny and Buffy-esque at the same time.


Carrie
Carrie
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 5/17/2006


Back cover:
"Carrie was not quite aware that she was possessed of a terrifying power. But it was enough to transform a small, quiet New England town into a holocaust of destruction beyond the imagination of man. Innocent schoolgirl or vengeful demon, Carrie will make you shudder.."

OK, I wouldn't be THAT dramatic, but this was a really great read.


Cell
Cell
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 765
Review Date: 4/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Much better zombie story than the movies!


Christine
Christine
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 310
Review Date: 5/17/2006


A possessed car, a teen geek, and vintage King writing.


The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time
Author: Mark Haddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4388
Review Date: 10/11/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I, too, was drawn in by the many great reviews of this book and was baffled when I saw how bad it was. I want those two hours of my life back.


The Doctor's Wife (Oxford World's Classics)
The Doctor's Wife (Oxford World's Classics)
Author: Mary Elizabeth Braddon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 3/8/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I'm not much for this era's literature, but this was a good read. A lot of sarcasm and humor and a genuine surprise! Not bad.


Good Grief
Good Grief
Author: Lolly Winston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 284
Review Date: 11/7/2006
Helpful Score: 7


I'm torn - on one hand, this book made me cry and hug my husband a lot. He is still trying to figure that one out LOL. On the other, I did find the last few chapters kind of rushed and almost too 'easy' compared to the rest of the story. It seemed like one person wrote the first half (great) and the second half (ehh).


The Ha-Ha
The Ha-Ha
Author: Dave King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 6/30/2009
Helpful Score: 3


I loved about 90% of this book...
Then the language got worse, the story lost its intelligence and integrity and the ending got phoned-in. As much as the first and middle kept me completely entranced, the ending made me completely angered and disappointed.


Harvesting the Heart
Harvesting the Heart
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 793
Review Date: 4/6/2006


Another beautifully-written masterpiece by Ms. Picoult!


The Jane Austen Book Club
The Jane Austen Book Club
Author: Karen Joy Fowler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 503
Review Date: 1/29/2007


As I'm not an Austen fan, I didn't enjoy this much. This was the first time I've read a book and really disliked the characters without exception.


Lemon Tree
Lemon Tree
Author: Helen Forrester
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 6/1/2006


From Publishers Weekly
Helena Al-Khoury is prickly, reserved and even arrogant. Also resourceful and kind, she will win readers over in her struggles against the forces of history, nature and prejudice. Helena is uprooted over and over in her youth. First, in 1860, her Maronite Christian family flees Turkish persecution in Beirut. After they arrive in Chicago, her father dies of typhoid, leaving Helena and her mother Leila destitute. Leila remarries, and her new husband Tom Harding takes them to western Canada. After Tom and Leila succumb to smallpox, Helena inherits Tom's land and contentedly settles in with his half-black, half-Cree partner Joe Black. Life again turns upside down for Helena when an uncle in Liverpool dies, leaving her his soap factory. Traveling to England, she finds a family problem in her uncle's embittered, illegitimate son and a difficult choice to make: should she stay, run the factory and enjoy a comfortable urban life or return to grueling frontier life and to Black, whom she loves? Forrester ( The Moneylenders of Shahpur ) succeeds in rendering her tale with vivid settings, particularly of Liverpool's workaday world. This British import reached the #3 spot on the London Sunday Times bestseller list.
Copyright 1992 Reed Business Information, Inc


Lucky
Lucky
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 1354
Review Date: 10/22/2006


Painfully detailed - emotionally hard to read for the subject matter but well written.


Mercy
Mercy
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 4/8/2006


Painful but beautiful - if you like Jodi Picoult, it's a gotta-have.


The Pact: A Love Story
The Pact: A Love Story
Author: Jodi Picoult
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 742
Review Date: 4/1/2006


My first encounter with Jodi Picoult. Though the story was somewhat dark, I was caught up by her amazing writing and now I'm addicted!


The Ruins
The Ruins
Author: Scott Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 4/14/2010


Please don't waste your time reading this book. I wanted to shoot myself by the end. Over-hyped and underwritten.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: