Beverly D. (Brezybev) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 57 - Page:
1876 (Vintage International)
1876 (Vintage International)
Author: Gore Vidal
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/14/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Another wonderful story from Vidal who is a master storyteller if there ever was one. Interesting story of the political & social workings of the nation in a unique time.


500 Beaded Objects: New Dimensions in Contemporary Beadwork (Lark Jewelry Book)
Review Date: 2/7/2008


This is a lovely book with wonderful pics. Each artist has 3 pieces shown. I have to say that I AM biased because my daughter is one of the artists....


According to Mary Magdalene
According to Mary Magdalene
Author: Marianne Fredriksson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/14/2009


I loved this book. It's more about Mary Magdalene & her life after Jesus than it is about him. Touching, thought-provoking novel that was also a quick & easy read. I highly recommend this book.


The Art of Detection (Kate Martinelli, Bk 5)
The Art of Detection (Kate Martinelli, Bk 5)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 106
Review Date: 11/6/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I absolutely loved this book! I love the Kate Martinelli series & like the Mary Russell series, but King has managed to merge (at least Sherlock Holmes) into a Martinelli mystery in this one. And she's done a terrific job of it. I highly recommend this book & no I don't even have a copy to trade....


Blue Diary
Blue Diary
Author: Alice Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 113
Review Date: 3/11/2007


From book jacket: "When Ethan Ford fails to show up for work on a brilliant summer morning, none of his neighbors would guess that for for than thirteen years he has been running from his real identity.. But sometimes locks spring open, and the devastating truths of Ethan's history shatter the small-town peace of Monroe, affecting family and friends alike."


Brotherly Love (Sydney Sloane)
Brotherly Love (Sydney Sloane)
Author: Randye Lordon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/7/2008


I really enjoyed this book. It is an example of excellent lesbian mystery fiction. Unfortunately, I'm not posting my book back into the system because a friend wants this badly.


The Brothers of Gwynedd: Sunrise in the West / The Dragon at Noonday / The Hounds of Sunset / Afterglow and Nightfall
Review Date: 9/9/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Edith Pargeter was an excellent writer; sadly, she died recently. She is best known for her "Brother Cadfael" mysteries. Brother Cadfael is a 12th century Benedictine monk who also does a little detective work on the side.

This book is medieval historical fiction at its best. It is actually 4 books in one, 821 pgs. long. Instead of having to hunt them down individually, they've been put together in one huge volume. This is a marvelous story of Llewelyn ap Griffith or "Llewelyn the last." He was virtually the only man in Welsh history who ever got allegiance from all the providences & princes of Wales & believed strongly in an independent Welsh nation. It's also the story of his relationship with his 3 brothers (He being the 3rd & not the traditional heir.), especially his younger brother, David (Davydd) who sometimes loved & supported him & sometimes turned rival & traitor. So it is truly the story of the "brothers Gwynedd" along with some wonderful love stories among them & the other characters.

If you enjoy Welsh history read this book! It is very well written & documents not only the story of the brothers & Wales, but also the history of the relationship between Wales & its larger neighbor England. Here is the long struggle of Wales to try to become an independent nation & its relationship with Henry III & Edward I. Wonderful book! I can't say enough to encourage you to read it.


Bruised by Life?: Turn Life's Wounds into Gifts
Bruised by Life?: Turn Life's Wounds into Gifts
Author: Kathleen R. O'Connell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/15/2008


From the cover: "The stages of healing are natural, universal, predictable, and developmental. This book shows how to recognize the milestones of physical, spiritual, mental, and emotional healing and how to work with them."


The Catch Trap
The Catch Trap
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/2/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is certainly different than the others that MZB is known for, the Avalon & Darkover series. This is about a young adolescent boy who grows in in the circus & falls in love with both high-flying & a high-flyer. It focuses both on the relationship that develops between the two young men & the circus itself.
This book would not be considered PC these days because of the youth of the boy, but the some is wonderful & describes a long-gone small-time cirucs community in all it's glory. I loved it. This book is usually very hard to find anymore as it's long out of print.


City of Sorcery (Darkover)
City of Sorcery (Darkover)
Author: Marion Zimmer Bradley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 3/30/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of MZB's Darkover series. This is about the Free Amazons which are women Darkover guides. Great book!


Cruel as the Grave (Justin de Quincey, Bk 2)
Cruel as the Grave (Justin de Quincey, Bk 2)
Author: Sharon Kay Penman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 6/11/2007


Sharon Kay Penman is not to be missed! Whether it is her grand medieval historical fiction or her Justin de Quincy mysteries set in the same time period.
This book is the 2nd in the Justin series. Justin is set on Queen Eleanor's business tracking down her scheming son John & trying to solve the mystery of the death of a lowly peddlar's daughter.


The Crystal Cave (Merlin, Bk 1)
The Crystal Cave (Merlin, Bk 1)
Author: Mary Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 98
Review Date: 1/14/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I'm a huge Arthur/Merlin fan & this book (& the rest of the series) is IMHO the best out there. But, it you are looking for "real" magic this may not be the book for you. Stewart shows how Merlin dazzled everyone with his amazing accomplishments in mostly an explainable way. There is some minor magic, but most of it is skill. I highly recommend Stewart's trilogy (the last book on Mordrid is not so good) to anyone who loves adventure, romance & just all-around great fiction.


Deadline for Murder (Lindsay Gordon, Bk 3)
Deadline for Murder (Lindsay Gordon, Bk 3)
Author: Val McDermid
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book. The main character is an unemployed journalist. She is frustrating, but very human & very likable. This is top notch lesbian mystery, at it's finest. McDermid has left this series behind for more lucrative mainstream mysteries now & it's too bad because this is great stuff.


Doomsday Book
Doomsday Book
Author: Connie Willis
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 5/8/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Great book! If you love England, past & present, time travel, & refreshing, witty writing, this is the book for you. I enjoyed this more than anything I'd read in a long time.


Dreams Underfoot (Newford, Bk 1)
Dreams Underfoot (Newford, Bk 1)
Author: Charles de Lint
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/11/2007


Urban fantasy at it's best!!!


The Druids
The Druids
Author: Peter Berresford Ellis
Book Type: Hardcover
  ?
Review Date: 1/23/2008


Wonderful book from a Celtic historian. Ellis is a terrific writer of both history & fiction. He also has the "Sister Fidelma" series about a very educated nun in 7th century Ireland.
This book has the real historical info. on Druids, not the fantasy or Hollywood version. But it is as easily read as a novel. Fast & interesting read.


Everyday Wicca: Magickal Spells Throughout the Year (Citadel Library of the Mystic Arts)
Review Date: 3/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This is a study of spellcasting, the Wiccan calendar, celebrating the sacred days, with info on the moon's phases & the seasons.
This book is written for either the solitary witch or for use by a coven.
This book has many beautiful drawings & photographs, all in black & white.


Father Forgive Me (Sydney Sloane, Bk 3)
Father Forgive Me (Sydney Sloane, Bk 3)
Author: Randye Lordon
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/7/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is the 3rd in the Sydney Sloane mystery series. Sydney is a p.i. in NYC. She's strong, witty & tough. She also happens to be a lesbian. I gave up on poorly written lesbian mysteries decades ago. Not until I found this series & the Val McDermid older series with a detective named Lindsay somebody, did I go back to the genre. I think anyone who likes great detective stories will like this series, but read them in order or at least read the 1st one before you go on to others. Highly recommended!


Ghost Riders (Ballad, Bk 7)
Ghost Riders (Ballad, Bk 7)
Author: Sharyn McCrumb
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 67
Review Date: 5/6/2009


Sharyn McCrumb's stories, but just couldn't seem to get into this one. It was just too slow for me. I picked it up more than once & finally decided not to keep on plodding through it.


A Good Yarn  (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
A Good Yarn (Blossom Street, Bk 2)
Author: Debbie Macomber
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 805
Review Date: 11/16/2007
Helpful Score: 2


I really enjoyed this book! I'm not usually into crafter's cozies, but this was really well written with well developed characters. It also included a nice knitted baby blanket pattern.


1 to 20 of 57 - Page: