Amy B. (pureprarieleague) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 79 - Page:
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families
The 7 Habits of Highly Effective Families
Author: Stephen R. Covey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 1/4/2006
Helpful Score: 1


I love this book, a gift from my father. Covey speaks of ways to achieve a great family culture even if you are having current problems. As a mother of four I appreciate the wisdom he shares as a father of 9. My favorite quote from the book. "To do carefully, constantly & kindly many little things is not a little thing."
Every family could implement these "habits".


The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom
The 9 Steps to Financial Freedom
Author: Suze Orman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 132
Review Date: 5/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Good book, very inspirational!


All New Square Foot Gardening
All New Square Foot Gardening
Author: Mel Bartholomew
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 64
Review Date: 12/26/2011
Helpful Score: 3


I have wanted this book for years, as part of my nutrition curriculum I hoped to use Mr Bartholomew's model for each class to set up and maintain a class garden.
Before I asked the school for the assistance and/or funding I wanted to be sure it was as simple and effective as it claimed to be.
I followed the directions and not only does it work it is exactly as promised, easy start up, easy up keep, and it was widely successful. We harvested squash, honeydew melons, peppers and more herbs than we could believe.
I learned about composting and have my waste happily "cooking" for the next growing season.
This book is exactly as promised, I would recommend it to teacher's everywhere, (there is a teacher's manual, but it is geared to elementary & I have secondary), I feel reconnecting with our food is the answer to healthier eating habits for generations to come.


Almost a Bride (Almost, Bk 1)
Almost a Bride (Almost, Bk 1)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 307
Review Date: 7/20/2008


A great read, oh yeah except Feather uses unfamiliar language that really makes it hard to stay in the story. Not big words, foreign (think latin) words, I ended up with a dictionary in my lap. It was very distracting from what I already mentioned was a great read. Love the characters not the usual "she was gorgeous, so was he," it had way more depth. So read it but bring your latin/english & you'll probably want french/english too, dictionaries. Starting the sequel, Almost a Lady, hope it delivers too.


Almost a Lady (Almost, Bk 3)
Almost a Lady (Almost, Bk 3)
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 158
Review Date: 7/24/2008


The sequel to Almost a Bride, it didn't quite live up to it's predecessor but still worth reading.


America the Vulnerable: How Our Government Is Failing to Protect Us from Terrorism
Review Date: 11/17/2007


Requested for a research paper.


America's Cheapest Family Gets You Right on the Money: Your Guide to Living Better, Spending Less, and Cashing in on Your Dreams
Review Date: 12/28/2009
Helpful Score: 4


Good book but so far no new information. All the books Tightwad Gazette, etc all have same information. I keep hunting for the one to say something new...If you haven't read any others though I recommend this as a good one.


Anne of Green Gables (Children's Classics)
Anne of Green Gables (Children's Classics)
Author: L.M. Montgomery
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 133
Review Date: 2/23/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A brilliant orphan who just wants a home, a book, and to banish her red hair.
If you want a clean happy read for your daughter 9 up or yourself this is the series to read. Sweet & very funny, there is a little Anne in all of us. Best bet buy it for your younger daughter & read her a chapter at bed every night.


Arco Civil Service Arithmetic and Vocabulary (Arco Civil Service Test Tutor)
Review Date: 4/22/2007


Study Guide


The Best of the Cheapskate Monthly: Simple Tips for Living Lean
The Best of the Cheapskate Monthly: Simple Tips for Living Lean
Author: Mary Hunt
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 1/11/2007


Short simple read, she speaks from personal experience about what it takes to get out of debt & stay out.


Building A Successful Stepfamily
Building A Successful Stepfamily
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/17/2008


This book came with 6 audio tapes that comprise the author's book by the same name. PM if you want the entire set.

Great information for anyone in a step-family situation or considering joining a relationship with someone who has kids!


Captive of My Desires
Captive of My Desires
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 79
Review Date: 1/17/2007
Helpful Score: 2


The Malory family from another angle is always fun. I adore the pirate setting it makes for a truly romantic read. Lindsey never disappoints with a new Malory novel.


Cheapskate Monthly Money Makeover
Cheapskate Monthly Money Makeover
Author: Mary E. Hunt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 2/7/2007
Helpful Score: 4


Easy advice from an author who has been there.


Childhood
Childhood
Author: Bill Cosby
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 6/9/2006


This cute funny book alternates between Cosby's childhood & that of his children. It's hard to say which is funnier, the way he tells stories the reader always wins. Easy summer read, a quick chapter at a time or the whole thing on a long flight.


Constructing the Sexual Crucible: An Integration of Sexual and Marital Therapy (Norton Professional Books)
Review Date: 12/25/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Whew, this is a pretty heavy read. However, for those in graduate level courses this is written for you. Amazing work that I used in my research in the field of teens and sexuality. It looks deep into the human psyche and how we as humans express what is inside as sexual experiences.


Deceptively Delicious: Simple Secrets to Get Your Kids Eating Good Food
Review Date: 7/17/2008
Helpful Score: 5


Got this for Christmas it has some winners & losers just like every other cookbook I own. Love the recipes for oatmeal, & buttered noodles & ice cream sandwiches.
The cake recipe had the wrong cook time posted so be warned.


The Devil Who Tamed Her (Reid Family, Bk 2)
The Devil Who Tamed Her (Reid Family, Bk 2)
Author: Johanna Lindsey
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 320
Review Date: 7/13/2008
Helpful Score: 1


I love Lindsey, but frankly I was a little disappointed. The hero is going to "fix" the heroine, it seem highly unlikely that during this era such a guy exists. He spends the whole book analyzing her. Still love Lindsey but this one left me a little confused.


Double Dog Trouble
Double Dog Trouble
Author: Page McBrier
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/23/2006


Very funny book almost everything the dogs do ends up funny.


Eat Less Cottage Cheese And More Ice Cream  Thoughts On Life From Erma Bombeck
Review Date: 10/12/2009


Great book by my favorite author, my only complaint, just wish it was longer.


Review Date: 2/25/2007


I have the study guide posted too and the mini cd is still in the book.


1 to 20 of 79 - Page: