Christy L. (Cricky) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 107 - Page:
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
90 Minutes In Heaven: A True Story of Death and Life
Author: Don Piper, Cecil Murphey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 869
Review Date: 8/30/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A very awe-inspiring, hair on the back of your neck story! If you are a Christian and have a belief in the afterlife, then this book is definitely for you. It really makes you take into account what your life is like right now and what the importance of people mean to you. Great book!


After Life: Answers from the Other Side
After Life: Answers from the Other Side
Author: Natasha Stoynoff, John Edward
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 1/20/2007


After reading this book it made me realize that I am a lot more "in touch" with my psychic side than I sometimes realize. John gives me a lot of inspiration and hope for the future, especially connecting with those that are with my physically and spiritually. I really loved this book imensely.


At First Sight
At First Sight
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 5/24/2006


What can I say other than Nicholas Sparks is quite an author - I'm a sucker for romance and he sure knows what he's talking about. BUT - he seems to always have different endings (they're definitely not predicitable) and this book was no exception. GREAT BOOK!


Back to the Bedroom
Back to the Bedroom
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 562
Review Date: 9/7/2006


A cute romance book - fast read. I love that the other seems to include pets in her stories, I just love animals - especially cats!


A Bend in the Road
A Bend in the Road
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1112
Review Date: 1/27/2006
Helpful Score: 1


What a great author he is - totally did not expect the end of the book. I just could not put it down - the ending definitely brought a few tears. Loved it!


The Bielski Brothers: The True Story of Three Men Who Defied the Nazis, Saved 1,200 Jews, and Built a Village in the Forest
Review Date: 4/24/2006


For the little bit of this book that I did read, it seemed very interesting but I just couldn't keep going with it.


Blue Skies (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 4)
Blue Skies (Kendrick/Coulter, Bk 4)
Author: Catherine Anderson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 3/31/2008
Helpful Score: 2


Catherine Anderson definitely is not a "typical" romance novelist as I think of a novelist to be - a sappy, mushy love story. She brings in characters of unconventional means and turns it into an almost hopeless story filled with some pain and angst, and it ends up being a wonderful romantic story that's more believe than a Harlequin type of story. Loved this book! :p


Born of the Sun: A Namibian Novel
Born of the Sun: A Namibian Novel
Author: Joseph Diescho
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/27/2006


BORN OF THE SUN is a fictionalized reality of the painful history the Namibian people have suffered at the hands of those who invaded their country and set out to crush them. Many of us in the liberation struggle in Africa are bound to see ourselves in this moving and compassionate story.

A very moving book.


Brief Encounters: stories of love, sex  travel
Brief Encounters: stories of love, sex travel
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 12/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was an ok read but I was disappointed because I didn't read the description of this book close enough. I thought it was more of an erotica book and it was not that, so it took me some time to plow through the book.


By Their Father's Hand: The True Story of the Wesson Family Massacre
By Their Father's Hand: The True Story of the Wesson Family Massacre
Author: Monte Francis
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 2/5/2008
Helpful Score: 3


Very disturbing story, so much so that I couldn't finish it at certain points of the book because of the things that happened. Author was very honest in the information he provided, granted I'm not sure if anything was left out - but it was definitely well written I thought.


Bye Bye Baby Fat: Reshaping the New Mother... Mind and Body
Review Date: 6/28/2006


I read 3/4 of the book and found it very informative - it was a gift to me and I did my best to finish before I had the baby, BUT....that didn't happen. It was very informative though.


A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
A Child Called 'It': One Child's Courage to Survive
Author: Dave Pelzer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1949
Review Date: 7/15/2008


Never have I imagined such horrors of child abuse than this story tells about - it's beyond words what one human being did to another. It boggles my mind that this child survived at the hands of his mother and has gone on to become a motivational speaker - God sure took care of him, what an amazing person Dave Pelzer is. Very disturbing and sad book, but well written.


The Choice
The Choice
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 472
Review Date: 10/7/2007
Helpful Score: 9


Nicholas Sparks never ceases to amaze me with his writing talents - he's a man for crying out loud and the stories that he puts on paper are as if he's an overly compassionate woman. I don't mean to sound sexist but not many men can write the way he does and with such compassion and conviction. What an AWESOME book this was - I thought I had the ending figured out, oh no - he totally had it changed than what I figured it out to be. Great book!


Cold Truth (Truth, Bk 1)
Cold Truth (Truth, Bk 1)
Author: Mariah Stewart
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 246
Review Date: 1/10/2008
Helpful Score: 4


What a great book to read since I don't typically read murder/mystery books. The twists and turns in this book kept me wanting to read it constantly - of course I couldn't put it down the closer to the end that I got. Great book!


Crossing Over
Crossing Over
Author: John Edward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 4/29/2007


The more I read about John Edward, the more I can relate to him and know that he is the real deal and not someone out to make a quick buck. He sure has had his trials and tribulations - but he has come out on the "other side" just fine. I'm hoping to fine tune my abilities in the near future - a lot of what John has talked about in this book and previous one's, I can really relate to.


The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
The Da Vinci Code (Robert Langdon, Bk 2)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2072
Review Date: 6/10/2006
Helpful Score: 1


WOW! Fast paced and always kept me guessing! I liked the movie as much as the book, they were different but still were both good. Great writer, great read!


Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child
Damaged: The Heartbreaking True Story of a Forgotten Child
Author: Cathy Glass
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 88
Review Date: 6/3/2008
Helpful Score: 3


There aren't enough words to describe the utterly appalling feeling I got while reading about this poor little girl, she suffered so much and her outlook in her future is so tarnished. I read this so fast that I don't remember two days going by - I couldn't put it down. Cathy Glass is definitely a saint for all she went through with Jodie - phenomenally written and yet such a depressing story. There are so many sick people in this world, but the people in this story take the cake.


Dear John
Dear John
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 803
Review Date: 1/4/2007


I still can't get over how well Nicholas Spark writes such detailed romance novels - he gets right down to the nitty gritty on a persons feelings. This was such a touching story and a very emotional one - the endings aren't what you think they might be in a romance novel, he ends them more like the movie 'Braveheart' in some respects. I just loved this book and was so moved at the end that I couldn't stop crying and did like the way he did end it, but would have rather had it a different way. Oh well - still a great book! :p


Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Don't Kiss Them Good-bye
Author: Allison DuBois
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 2/25/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I loved this book! I could so relate to everything Allison said in here and it helped me to know that I'm not the only one with abilities. What a detailed gift she has and it's so cool to see how many lives she has touched. Great book - quick read too.


Drag Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 2)
Drag Strip (Sierra Lavotini, Bk 2)
Author: Nancy Bartholomew
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 2/9/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Another great book in the "Strip" series - this one was really similar to the Stephanie Plum series; there is even a character named Lulu in it! I really like this series and thought this book was better than the first - on to the next one! Great book!


1 to 20 of 107 - Page: