Holly - Reviews

1 to 20 of 69 - Page:
Bad Kitty
Bad Kitty
Author: Michele Jaffe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 9/23/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Fun read! It only took me a day to read it. I thinks it great!

Bad Kitty
36% Las Vegas mystery
49% unstoppable crush
15% Fashion emergency
100% The cat's fault


The Bitch Posse
The Bitch Posse
Author: Martha O'Connor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 9/30/2007


Ok, this is a GREAT book. It's about 3 girls who are friends that drift apart. It tells the story in all 3 points of views from the past and present. It has a lot of sex and and a good amount of cussing in it. But it's a very moving story. I couldn't put it down until I finished it.


Bras & Broomsticks (Magic in Manhattan, Bk 1)
Bras & Broomsticks (Magic in Manhattan, Bk 1)
Author: Sarah Mlynowski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 2/18/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This is a great YA novel. It's about a girl named Rachel that wants nothing other than to be in the A list crowd. Then she finds out her sister has magical gifts. Rachel does everything in her power to get her sister to use her gifts to help her be popular and to stop their dad's upcoming wedding with the evil stepmother. I would recommend this book. It's great and a fast read.


Can You Keep a Secret?
Can You Keep a Secret?
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 682
Review Date: 4/10/2008


This is a cute and fast read.


The Cinderella Pact
The Cinderella Pact
Author: Sarah Strohmeyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 11/12/2007
Helpful Score: 2


This is a great chick lit read. It's a great story of friends who are trying to lose weight and start the 'cinderella pact'. It is a quick and great read!


Cindy Ella
Cindy Ella
Author: Robin Palmer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 8/15/2008


Cindy Ella Gold (real name) is a student at Castle Heights High. She's all the time writing letters to the editor of the school paper (the Courier), because of the content. When the paper prints only prom articles, Cindy is outraged that they would think that all the students care about is the prom. So, of course, what better to do that write another letter? Cindy never thought that her letter would get printed, because they never do. But, when it does, she's the most popular dork there is. The only people that aren't ragging on her is her best friends, India and Malcolm and the cyber friend BklynBoy. Now from the Clones (her step sisters, Ashley and Britney) to her new tutor, everything is going hay wire, but it won't be the end if Cindy has anything to do with it.And, with a little help and a big date, Cindy might just get her fairy tale ending after all. And it's from the most unexpected source of all.

Cindy Ella is great. I'm the type who usually steers clear of the whole fairy tale remake, but this book I couldn't put down. I was very impressed on Robin Palmer's insight and how the story was told. Cindy is very likable and her step sisters are brats. But, that makes all the fun. With witty dialog and interesting twists and turns, you'll be able to see why it only took a few hours to finish this one. I'm sure you'll be a fan also,if you like the modern day fairy tales.

Reviewed for http://writersblockreviews.blogspot.com


Confessions of a Not it Girl
Confessions of a Not it Girl
Author: Melissa Kantor
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/3/2007


This book is very good. It's about a girl who doesn't fit in, since her best friend is an It Girl.


Crimes of the Sarahs
Crimes of the Sarahs
Author: Kristen Tracy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 1


The Sarahs are a group of girls who live by their own rules. Sarah B., Sarah A., Sarah T., and Sarah C. often steal small things just to get away with it. When Sarah T. gets close to messing up a swipe from Barnes and Noble, Sarah A., the leader, begins to think that maybe three Sarahs would be enough and someone should get voted out of the group. How far will Sarah T. go to ensure her place in the most popular clique at school?

This was a steady read but something seemed to be missing. Throughout the entire book I was annoyed with the whininess of Sarah T. and just wanted her to find new friends because the other Sarahs were very judgmental and because she felt like they did not want her, she did something she never should have done. The story dragged on and I had to force myself at times to turn the page. It really had nothing to do with the crimes, just of the clique of girls and how they would do anything to be in the clique. Not a book that I would recommend at all. If you're looking for a great read by Kristen Tracy, I recommend Lost It.

Reviewed for http://writersblockreviews.blogspot.com


The Crushes (Heartbreakers, Bk 2)
The Crushes (Heartbreakers, Bk 2)
Author: Pamela Wells
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/19/2008


In the sequel to The Heartbreakers, you meet friends Alexia, Raven, Kelly and Sydney once again. But a lot has changed from the first book. All the girls now have boyfriends, except for Kelly. Sydney and Drew have gotten back together, but there seems to be a little trouble brewing there. Raven and Horace are having to spend a painful month apart, but will the flirty Raven remember her love for him when he's gone? Alexia is spending a lot of her time with her boyfriend, Ben. Then it comes time for "the talk", but is Alexia ready to make that decision? Since Kelly is single, Alexia comes up with the idea for them to make a Crush Code, since they no longer need the Breakup Code. This new code is hopefully going to help Kelly snag her crush on the gym guy, Adam. And with forty one rules, this should be easy. But what happens when Kelly realizes that she's actually crushing on someone that she can't have?

Reading The Crushes is like reading a book about your best friends. You get into the story and really start caring about the characters. Honestly I was rooting for all of the girls to do what makes them happy and hopefully find the happiness that each girl deserves. It's a real book with real situations and can be relate able for any girl. You don't necessarily have to read The Heartbreaks first, although I would recommend that you do, so that you can get a background on each of the girls and their situations in the story. If you haven't read this series yet, then I highly suggest that you do so. So run to your nearest bookstore (or library) and pick this up. You won't be disappointed. Plus, you'll have some good reads over the Christmas holidays for when your family starts to drive you crazy!

Also, there will be two more books in the series, so keep your eyes out for those to come soon!


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 5/30/2007


Kinda slow. But I did enjoy it.


Earrings of Ixtumea
Earrings of Ixtumea
Author: Kim Baccellia
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/15/2008


Lupe is a 14 year old girl living in California who wishes that she were blonde and popular. With her heritage, she feels different from the other girls her age. Growing up with tales from her grandmother of a land called Ixtumea, she has always dismissed the stories as just that. Then, her grandmother gives her some ruby earrings. The earrings are tied to the tells that her gradmother has told her about. And also among the stories, she's heard about things such as a Spider Goddess named Ixchel and Tezcatlipoca who is the Jaguar King. When she enters the world of Ixtumea, she experiences alot more than just stories. And lears more about her Latino herritage.


Earring of Ixtumea is an amazing book. With so much going on in the book, it's written very smoothly and flows very nicely. And this book is like a breath of fresh air from so much of the other books that are out now. The secondary characters also speak well through out the book that makes them believeable. I can't wait to read more from Kim, because this book is wonderful and stands well around all the other YA books that are being published today. You can visit her website at http://www.kim-baccellia.com/.

Reviewed for http://writersblockreviews.blogspot.com


Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Eclipse (Twilight, Bk 3)
Author: Stephenie Meyer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2872
Review Date: 4/10/2008


Wow. What can I say? To me, the Twilight Saga keeps getting better and better. I can hardly wait until the last book comes out Aug. 2nd. This is a great book and it's kind of hard to review without giving anything away, but if you've read the first 2 books, then this one should be high on your list!


Ella Enchanted
Ella Enchanted
Author: Gail Carson Levine
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 206
Review Date: 4/10/2008


A great YA book.


Elsewhere
Elsewhere
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 8/15/2008
Helpful Score: 10


Elsewhere is a story about a girl named Liz who died from a hit and run accident. She wakes up to find herself on a boat called the USS Nile, with a girl named Thandi. Thandi also has died from a gunshot wound. They have no idea where they are going, so they explore the boat and both girls get to watch their funerals through binoculars. They arrive in Elsewhere to find that relatives that have passed away before them are waiting on their arrival. Liz is depressed and keeps going to the binoculars at the Observation Deck ( OD ) to see friends and family. Then Liz realizes that maybe Elsewhere isn't as bad as she had once thought, even though you age backwards, just to be born on Earth again.

Elsewhere is a beautiful, captivating novel. It is defiantly different than your regular YA read, but well worth the effort to pick up. It's a book that made me think and ponder on some of the ideas that Gabrielle instills in us. You feel sorry for poor Liz as she battles with depression and missing her family. But, you also feel good that there's so much more for her waiting there at Elsewhere, so of which she couldn't do on Earth. It's safe to say that this is one of my favorites that I've read this year and I'm going to read it again!


Evening
Evening
Author: Susan Minot
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 10/11/2007


This book is good, but I really couldn't finish it. I think it's because of her style of writing. It was hard to understand to me.


Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Every Boy's Got One (Boy, Bk 3)
Author: Meg Cabot
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 368
Review Date: 5/30/2007


Another great book from Meg Cabot! Great author.


Everyone Worth Knowing
Everyone Worth Knowing
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 394
Review Date: 6/4/2007


Good book! Better to me than The Devil Wears Prada.


Ex and the Single Girl
Ex and the Single Girl
Author: Lani Diane Rich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 11/21/2007


This book is GREAT! I've never read a book from this author before, but she delivers! It's entertaining and keeps you interested.


Frenemies
Frenemies
Author: Alexa Young
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/25/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Avalon and Halley have been best friends since they can remember. The live next door to each other and even have a puppy, Pucci, that they share custody of. When Halley goes off to art camp, Avalon can't wait for her best friend to come home. She's even planned a party in their friendship's honor. But, when Halley returns from art camp, Avalon gets a huge surprise. Not only has her best friend lost her fashion sense, she's gotten a new friend, in the form of Sofee. A girl that was once nicknamed by the two friends as Softee. At school, the two friends, who are in the same class for the school paper, begin a competition in which they are fighting with others for their own column, where they give fashion advice to the other students. Both girls are having a hard time adjusting to the new friends that the other has made.

When, two friends end up having a falling out, that's when the true drama begins. Avalon, who is the daughter of lawyers, draws up an agreement which lets them know the terms of custody of Pucci, and they start rotating days on the Style Snark column for the paper. They decide that the students can vote for which style snark they like the best. From parties to sleepovers, the girls throw low blows to each other. Will these two friends work everything out, or will be be full on war for the rest of the year? Well, I guess you'll just have to read to find out.

This book is a different kind of fun. You'll be turning the pages to see what the Avalon and Halley will come up with next to try and destroy the other. I love the way that the girls' claws come out in the Style Snark column. Both throw out comments on the others outfits and more. This book is fashionably fun and, trust me, addicting. Make sure to look for the sequel, Faketastic, coming out Jan. 2009.


Go Figure
Go Figure
Author: Jo Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 4/10/2008


This is a good book. The author also writes adult books under a different name. Ryan thinks of herself as the fat girl. Then, her ex-boyfriend is all of a sudden a rock star. She is just trying to find her way, before she goes to college.


1 to 20 of 69 - Page: