Brianna A. (AGoofyGirl) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 25 - Page:
The Air He Breathes
The Air He Breathes
Author: Brittainy C Cherry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/22/2016


This book was not what I expected. It's very dark and depressing at moments, which I generally don't enjoy, but it had a very capitivating story.

Pros: I liked how the plot moved at a realistic pace. And I really enjoyed the character Emma!

Cons: The plot twists were unexpected but a little too coincidental. There were also moments when I thought the conversations got a bit too flowery or cheesy.

Overall I really enjoyed the book and I would definitely recommend it to someone!


The Big-Ass Book of Home Decor: More than 100 Inventive Projects for Cool Homes like Yours
Review Date: 3/18/2010


Mark Montano does it again! So many awesome ideas for furniture, light fixtures, throw pillows and more! He is so creative ... can't wait for his next book!


Black Hills
Black Hills
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 298
Review Date: 4/13/2010


Im a bit torn about this book. I thought the characters were great and the storyline was fantastic! I loved how Nora Roberts gave personalities to the animals in the Wildlife Refuge. And I liked how the story started when they were young kids and how you get to watch them grow and see their relationship change but as a couple I didnt think they had much chemistry! They spend the majority of the book either angry at the other or trying to seem uninterested. And I got very tired of the repetitiveness. We get it Copper thought he was doing the right thing! Ok we get it Lil isnt going to forgive him just like that! We dont need it said a hundred times!


God Must Like to Laugh
God Must Like to Laugh
Author: Helen Caswell
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 3/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


God must have had a lot of fun creating animals, Helen Caswell writes. Through engaging pictures and playful rhymes, "God Must Like to Laugh" portrays a child's delighted wonder at the miracle that is God's world.


Holes
Holes
Author: Louis Sachar
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 10/31/2008


My 5th grade teacher read this to us in class ... and we all loved it! It was the first book to be completley sold out at the Book Fair that year. The movie is good as well ... but nothing beats the book!


It Happened One Night
It Happened One Night
Author: Lisa Dale
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 3/7/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I wouldnt waste my time reading this book. I didnt like the main character Lana she acted like raising a child was the end of the world! Though she never said the words, it was obvious she viewed her child as a mistake. I hate when people call their baby an accident! As for Eli, he was a little too wimpy for me. He makes it clear from the beginning that hes in love with Lana and yet is very timid in expressing his true feelings to her. I would have liked him to be more demanding a la Nora Roberts. I thought Karen was just too darn depressing and I actually felt sorry for Calvert.


Just One Of The Guys
Just One Of The Guys
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 199
Review Date: 9/13/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This book really surprised me! I have never read a Kristan Higgins book before, but her witty dialogue really impressed me. I like how the book focused on Chasity (the main character) but you also got a glimpse of the rest of her family and what they're going through in life. This is one of the rare books that has actually made me laugh out loud. Blah blah bleeping blah!


Kulti
Kulti
Author: Mariana Zapata
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 1/17/2017


I REALLY enjoyed this book! I loved the heroine Sal. She didn't annoy me (which is rare). She was sweet, sincere and very relatable. I LOVED the relationship/romance between Sal and Kulti. It had a slow build up but it was very realistic. I loved the banter between the two characters and the older coach/younger coachee dynamic.

Warning: This is a very long book with a slow build up (the steamy parts are at the very end) but you won't be disappointed.


Loose Ends (Steele Street, Bk 11)
Loose Ends (Steele Street, Bk 11)
Author: Tara Janzen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 47
Review Date: 12/8/2010


Summary:

WHITE-HOT, DOWN-AND-DIRTY PASSION IGNITES WHEN A SEXY SOLDIER ENCOUNTERS AN IRRESISTIBLE THIEF WHOS CHANGED HER WAYS.

Six years ago, the Special Defense Force mourned the loss of J. T. Chronopolous. Now the striking soldier is back with scant memory, a new nameConroy Farreland one single mission: to bring down SDF. But SDF has its own plan: get him back at any cost. And so theyve set a trap for Con, a trap that Jane Linden accidentally steps into. With darkness falling and the night heating up, Con finds himself on the run in an oddly familiar 1967 Pontiac GTO with a drop-dead-gorgeous brunette named Jane by his side. Who she is he doesnt know. Or does he? Jane certainly hasnt forgotten him. When she was a teenager, he caught her picking his pocket. Now the former street thief is all grown up and gone legitand the effect she has on Con is all too clear: pure, sweet longing. Cons not sure if Jane is there to save him or to take him down. But one things certain: With desire leading the way, all bets are off.


The MacGregors: Daniel and Ian
The MacGregors: Daniel and Ian
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 236
Review Date: 11/23/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was disapointing. It was weird, and uncomfortable at times, reading about Daniel and Anna and seeing them as a young couple. The 2nd story was even worse! Completley random ... no chemistry ... and it went really fast.


The Next Best Thing
The Next Best Thing
Author: Kristan Higgins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 177
Review Date: 2/8/2011
Helpful Score: 3


What the summary doesnt tell you is that Ethan is her deceased husbands brother. That is a line that I would not cross and I found it hard to accept Lucy and Ethan as a couple. I also didnt feel any chemistry between the two. It was very upsetting to see the way Lucys family treated her and the way Ethans family treated him a family supports you and loves you no matter what! I felt very upset and angry throughout the whole book and I got very sick of how much Lucy obsessed over her late husband. My least favorite Kristan Higgins book.


Rio (The Texans, Bk 2)
Rio (The Texans, Bk 2)
Author: Georgina Gentry
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 3/21/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This book was so ridiculously corny that I gave up & stopped reading! The first couple of pages were great, but as soon as the main character Turquoise was introduced ... Her name is Turquoise for crying out loud! In the book there's a chihuahua whose name is Tequila, and a horse whose name is Peso ... I was expecting to be introduced to a fish named Agua at any moment!


The Search
The Search
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 242
Review Date: 9/20/2010


To sum up this book in one word DULL!!! Man oh man was this a difficult book to get through and it was so long! By the end I was even bored with the dogs! I kept thinking to myself this is Nora Roberts, it has to get better but it didnt. I didnt like the way it ended because if the story were to continue she could still be in danger. But as Irene (NonExistence) from Arizona put it, we all have our "off days", so hopefully her next book will be better!


Secrets & Sunsets: Risky Business / Mind Over Matter
Secrets & Sunsets: Risky Business / Mind Over Matter
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 10/5/2010


Summary:

Risky Business - Cozumel had been home to Liz Palmer for ten years. She was settled, respected. Her Black Coral Dive Shop was the best on the island. She no longer missed Houston, or thought about the man who didn't want her or their child. And for two short weeks, Cozumel was home to Jerry Sharpe, the diving instructor she'd hired. Until they found him---murdered. Suddenly Jonas Sharpe, Jerry's twin brother, stormed into her well-ordered life with grief in his eyes and revenge in his heart. He plunged them both into the desperate world of drug smugglers---and into the dangerous depths of passion...
Attorney Jonas Sharpe was investigating his twin brother's murder, and all roads seemed to lead to Liz Palmer -- a single mother with a past she didn't want explored. Finding out the truth was risky, but the passion that exploded between Jonas and Liz was the riskiest business of all

Mind Over Matter - Theatrical agent Aurora Fields kept her personal life strictly separate from her professional one, but lines were crossed the moment she met David Brady. He had asked her client to participate in his documentary on paranormal phenomena. Aurora agreed, but stayed on hand to protect the woman from exploitation as fiercely as a mother tigress. Somehow, David saw that Aurora's tough self-image was a little soft around the edges, and he was determined to discover what she was trying to hide. He'd always considered himself a good judge of people, so why did each moment he spent with Aurora leave her as enigmatic--and enticing--as before?


The Seven Sapphires of Mardi Gras
The Seven Sapphires of Mardi Gras
Author: Vickie Britton
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 9/13/2008


Orphaned and utterly alone, Louise Moreland had only one solace: she had inherited her mother's beloved Louisiana plantation, Evangline. Planning to restore the lovely old mansion and make it her home. Louise boarded a steamer for New Orleans. She was eager to meet her Uncle Edward who lived on a nearby plantation, and his adopted ward, Nicholas, a Confederate War hero.

But Evangline was not the place Louise had imagined, the lavish plantation of her mother's fond recollections. It was a charred ruin ... and it was not empty, as she had expected. Brooding, intense, driven, Nicholas Dereux was living in the burnt-out house, tormented by a terrible secret, obsessed by a shocking plan ... and waiting for someone to return to Evangeline-in time for Mardi Gras. And though he was drawn to Louise as she was to him, it was was not Louise that he was waiting for. And as long as she stood in his way, she was in deadly peril.


Siren's Song (Keepers of the Legacy, Bk 1)
Siren's Song (Keepers of the Legacy, Bk 1)
Author: Trish Albright
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 12/22/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Great story, terrific characters, really easy to follow ... the very last page left me puzzled but I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a little treasure hunt!


Skinny Italian: Eat It and Enjoy It  Live La Bella Vita and Look Great, Too!
Review Date: 5/25/2010
Helpful Score: 2


This book is ridiculous! This shouldn't be considered a cookbook ... it's a photo album/smut magazine/cooking for dummies. She has the nerve to make insulting comments about her Real Housewives co-star Danielle and she takes digs at Bethenny Frankel who is on the Real Housewives of New York show. What goes on in her head that that belongs in a cookbook? I guess you have to be Italian to understand! And then make-up tips in the back of the book?!?! Are you kidding me? Shame on you Teresa!


Stolen Heat (Stolen, Bk 2)
Stolen Heat (Stolen, Bk 2)
Author: Elisabeth Naughton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 10/22/2009


Antiquities dealer Peter Kauffman walked a fine line between clean and corrupt for years. And then he met the woman who changed his lifeâEgyptologist Katherine Meyer. Their love affair burned white-hot in Egypt, until the day Pete's lies and half-truths caught up with him. After that, their relationship imploded, Kat walked out, and before Pete could find her to make things right, he heard she'd died in a car bomb.

Six years later, the woman Pete thought he'd lost for good is suddenly back. The lies this time aren't just his, though. The only way he and Kat will find the truth and evade a killer out for revenge is to work togetherâas long as they don't find themselves burned by the heat each thought was stolen long agoâ¦


Stolen Seduction (Stolen, Bk 3)
Stolen Seduction (Stolen, Bk 3)
Author: Elisabeth Naughton
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 10/22/2009


Hailey Roarke was never interested in her family's fortune. That's why she became a cop. But with her father and now her cousin dead, she's suddenly on the wrong side of a police interrogation. The only way to clear her name is to solve the riddle before the real killer. Without getting killed herself.

Detective Shane Maxwell can't deny the spark of lust he feels every time Hailey is near. But the woman is clearly hiding something. Trusting his gutâand the heat in her eyesâhe joins her on an elaborate global treasure hunt staged by her late father. Caught between a sizzling seduction and a maniacal murderer, for Hailey and Shane the biggest reward of all will be making it out alive.


Sweet Surrender (Sweet, Bk 1)
Sweet Surrender (Sweet, Bk 1)
Author: Maya Banks
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 4/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I was so eager to read this book and so disappointed when I finished it.

First of all, this book contains BDSM and ménage scenes which I was not aware of. Its just not my cup of tea and had I known this I wouldnt have wasted my time.

I also found the storyline to be drawn out, dull and unbelievable. The turn of events were so ridiculous that I found myself rolling my eyes and wishing the book was finished.


1 to 20 of 25 - Page: