Diane S. (rvdreamin) - Reviews

21 to 40 of 86 - Page:
Computer Chess II
Computer Chess II
Author: David E. Welsh, Boris Baczynskyj
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/18/2010


David E. Welsh's first book in this series, the critically acclaimed Computer Chess, has been described a "the ultimate book on computer chess" by Chess Live Magazine. Computer Chess introduces the reader to this fascinating field. Now, in Computer Chess II, David Welsh joins with the professional chess master, Boris Baczynskyj, to present the latest developments in the field - over 150 games from the major events of 1983, including the World Computer Chess Championship; advances in computer chess programming techniques; the revolt of some U.,S. chess players against computers in chess tournaments; and much more. From his unique perspective as a professional chessplayer, Boris Baczynskyj adds a fascinating chapter about how a chess mast view chess computers, and the problems involved in developing chess programs.

David E Welsh is Chairman of the USCF Computer Chess Committee.


Cookies: Step-By-Step Techniques
Cookies: Step-By-Step Techniques
Author: Sunset Books
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 11/25/2009


My family LOVES this book. Lots of variety and every recipe has turned out wonderfully. I've gotten one for each daughter and now one for my mom. We tell each other "try the one on page..." Lots of fun and home baked goodness. This isn't one of those cookie cookbooks where every cookie is just a chocolate chip cookie dressed differently. Every one I make, I just flatten out the entire batch of dough in the pan, and cook it a little longer. All turn out fine with half the work.


The Daily Book of Common Prayer: Readings and Prayers Through the Year
Review Date: 8/12/2012


This book has a reading for every day of the year. The readings are from the Book of Common Prayer, but the Book of Common Prayer itself has much more than just daily readings. This book is good little devotional book, especially if your time is limited.

It you have more time, or would like all of the prayers, then I'd recommend the ordinary Book of Common Prayer instead of this "Daily" version.


Dios Llega Al Hombre/Good News New Testament
Dios Llega Al Hombre/Good News New Testament
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/3/2013


Not a tiny book - it's about 4 by 6, with nice readable sized font. The translation right next to the corresponding text is perfect for figuring out what the spanish says.


Dog Train  : A Wild Ride on the Rock-and-Roll Side
Dog Train : A Wild Ride on the Rock-and-Roll Side
Author: Sandra Boynton
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/7/2011


Cute book and cd set. The songs are by a variety of artists, and all very silly. The theme is mildly "are we there yet", and would be perfect for kids in the car, but even when not traveling, they are a lot of fun.


Don't Lean Out of the Window!: The Inter-Rail Experience
Don't Lean Out of the Window!: The Inter-Rail Experience
Author: Stewart Ferris, Paul Bassett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/13/2009


When the authors bought their Inter-Rail tickets, those magic passports to unlimited rail travel in Europe for a month, they had no idea that they would soon tear through more than a country a day, constantly escaping from a trail of bemused girls, angry policemen, angry campsite owners, angry nutters, more bemused girls, angry restaurateurs, and other assorted angry Europeans. This book is an hilarious travelogue about three Inter-Railers who endure water cannons, arrests, undesirables and each other during a hot, sticky month that left most of the continent dazed, confused and smelling of "Inter-Rail Feet". Stephen Fry says "A most entertaining read. Marvelous." Adventure Travel says "A breath of fresh air in the overly serious business of travel writing."


A Don't Sweat the Small Stuff Treasury : A Special Collection for the Office
Review Date: 3/1/2010


From the dust jacket: "If you work in an office... There are times when any work situation can become incredibly stressful. Here are simple strategies designed to help keep office workers peaceful and less stressed, even in today's busy workplace."

This is a wonderful relaxing book full of good ideas for peace of mind, and dealing with difficulties. Office or no, these suggestions are handy for all sorts of difficulties in life. Wonderful tiny size makes it an especially fun book to pull out and read - it really can go anywhere with you.


Elf-help for Overcoming Depression
Elf-help for Overcoming Depression
Author: Linus Mundy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/30/2013


From cover = We were taught, as children, how to tie our shoes and ride a bike, but most os us weren't taught the intricacies of managing emotions - especially hopelessness and sadness. Elf-help for Overcoming Depression shows how to look into your heart and soul, as well as to others, for help. There is hope for depression ... and it can come from a lot of great sources - including this little volume.

This is a calm, gentle book with loving insights.


Everybody's Favorite Songs: (EFS 1)
Everybody's Favorite Songs: (EFS 1)
Author: Music Sales Corporation
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/23/2010


Published during the great depression, this book is a real piece of history. Over 200 songs, many familiar, many not. Wide range of styles, from classical to civil war, comedy to children's, irish, russian, "negro spirituals", love songs, mountain songs. All songs have melody, harmony, guitar chords, bass and treble clef.


The First Christmas Pop-Up Book with Light & Music
The First Christmas Pop-Up Book with Light & Music
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/17/2010


This cute book has a light up star over the pop-up stable, and plays silent night when you pull a tab. It also has the entire nativity set as paper dolls with stands, to be placed where you want, or played with. The book laid flat makes the pop-up stable, inside and out.


Friendship: A Bouquet of Quotes (Miniature Editions)
Friendship: A Bouquet of Quotes (Miniature Editions)
Author: Mini Books Doubleday
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/11/2011


Tiny book - 2 3/4 by 3 1/4 by 1/2 inches - full of famous quotes about friendship, many of them very observant, some funny. The right size to be a Christmas ornament if you put some red yarn in the back cover.

From the introduction:
Who knows us better than our friends? Friends share with us, count on us, and comfort us. They improve the quality of our lives, raise our spiritual standard of living, and are not too polite to tell us when we have a bit of thread dangling from one sleeve.
When we're with them, we don't have to dress up, or put out the guest towels, or even finish our sentences. Friends know us better than that.
Through the quotations in this book, some of the world's greatest writers, artists, thinkers, and leaders - from Jane Austen to J.D. Salinger, and from Margaret Mead to Mao Tse-tung - express their views on friendship. They embrace its sweetness, respect its scarcity, and occasionally pucker at its tang.
Each Friendship is unique, but the need for friends and the pleasures of friendship are universal.


Friendship Psalms: God's Gift of Joy and Encouragement (Psalms)
Friendship Psalms: God's Gift of Joy and Encouragement (Psalms)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/15/2008


Make your friends happy today, tomorrow, and the next day... "Your word is a lamp to my feet and a light for my path." Psalm 119:105. When you walk down the road with a friend, the journey never seems as long or difficult s when you walk alone. Perhaps it's the way a friend lightens the load with comfort, a new perspective, and the warm promise that hope's just around the bend. Now you can celebrate God's gift of joy and encouragement with these Friendship Psalms! Each day, inspiring meditations, verses, and illustrations offer rich insights for you to savor for yourself - and share with your friends.

A beautiful book that would make a lovely gift, and make your friend feel very special and appreciated.


Furniture of the Depression Era: Furniture and Accessories of the 1920S, 1930s and 1940s
Review Date: 7/28/2010


This is a great book full of photos. I was able to use it to discover that my old dresser is from the 20's and my daughter's is from the 30's (and that it's waterfall style). All other antiques books I could find were the traditional. This book deals with the furniture that will be antiques soon (over 100 years old).


Gently With the Tides: The Best of Living Aboard
Gently With the Tides: The Best of Living Aboard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/20/2010


Wonderful book - relaxing descriptions of the joy of living on a boat, as well as very detailed information as people describe the good and bad points of living aboard their boat. The fact that many people contributed to the book (through the magazine) gives a nice variety of viewpoints.


The Gospel of John
The Gospel of John
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/27/2012


Any Gospel of John is a treasure. It has so much for us to learn about Jesus. This version is very clear - the English Standard Version, and this edition is a good size for keeping in purse or backpack. It's not tiny, and neither is the font. That's a good thing with bouncy buses or aging eyes!


The Happy Isles of Oceania
The Happy Isles of Oceania
Author: Paul Theroux
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/3/2009


From the cover:
He voyaged from the Solomons to Fiji, Tonga, Samoa, Tahiti, the Marquesas and Easter Island, stepping stones in an odyssey of courage and toughness...Not since Jack London has a writer described the Pacific islands so eloquently and informatively. This is Paul Theroux's finest, most personal and heartfelt travel book. - says the Observer

Panoramically accomplished...Theroux is never happier than when paddling his little craft to unpopulated spots as far from human company as he can get...the writing is cool, the reportage industrious and the research rock-solid. Theroux's control of his material is a wonder to behold. - says Financial Times

He has an unfailing eye for the quirky, the bizarre and the revealing...A sharp, fascinating and highly entertaining book...This is Theroux at his best. - says Daily Telegraph


The holiness of God
The holiness of God
Author: R. C Sproul
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/1/2009


From the covers:

"The material in this book drove me to my knees and dramatically changed my christian life. Written by one of the most brilliant thinkers of our day, it is absolutely urgent reading for every christian. This book will challenge you - and I pray the church - to a life of changing awareness of the majesty of God." Chuck Colson, Author of Loving God.

"The foundation of all christian belief and behavior is the holiness of God. If the church doesn't understand this most basic of all issues, its perspective in every other area will be adversely affected. In this important study, R.C. Sproul gives clear biblical insight with a refreshing and infectious enthusiasm." John MacArthur, Grace Community Church, Panorama City, CA

NOTE: This ISBN is for the hardcover book, even though the description listed is paperback.


Holy Bible: The Student New International Version/Compact
Holy Bible: The Student New International Version/Compact
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/9/2010


Nice small sized Bible with both old and new testaments, and study helps.


Home, Sweet Motorhome: Life Lessons from a Half-Century of RVing
Home, Sweet Motorhome: Life Lessons from a Half-Century of RVing
Author: Gaylord Maxwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/16/2012


from cover: "This collection of monthly "Lifestyle" columns for MotorHome magazine, written over a period of 12 years, reflects experiences by Gaylord and Margie Maxwell as they traveled in all 48 states, several Canadian provinces and some mexican states. Approximately a half-million miles and well over 15 years in motorhomes in a 40-year RVing career, taught the Maxwells many lessons. Some of the stories are funny and some are quite serious, but all address opportunities and issues that confront every RVer.


How Computers Play Chess
How Computers Play Chess
Author: David Levy, Monroe Newborn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 1/18/2010


In international circles, it is accepted that Gary Kasparov may well be the last human World Chess Champion. Today computer programs are becoming more and more sophisticated, and they now pose a new challenge to chess masters and grandmasters worldwide.

Levy and Newborn have been there from the early days and they tell an extraordinary story. The book is fascinating for both its breadth and detail. The high point is the games themselves, from crude early efforts to an historical match with the human world champion himself.

How Computers Play Chess assesses the current state of the art and offers expert insight into just when computer will beat the world's best humans. The book answers such questions as: How do computers select moves? What is "deep thought"? Who are the other leading programs such as HITECH, CRAY BLITZ, and BELLE? Can chess programs learn? What can we expect from future computer chess programs?

Levy and Newborn present a broad coverage of computer chess, from its historical development ot an analysis of how computers select moves. How Computers Play Chess is a accessible book that opens up the world of computer chess to all readers.


21 to 40 of 86 - Page: