Reviews - Linda H. (ldh652)

1 to 20 of 55 - Page:
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
50 Ways to Hex Your Lover (Jazz Tremaine, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Wisdom
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 162
Review Date: 4/12/2010
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I gave this book a chance (143 pages worth) but there are too many much better books to be read. I hated to just post it out, since I bought it new, but that's how disappointing it is. The only thing I can think of regarding the "praise" for the book on the back cover is that the authors got paid or never actually read the book. I mean, Yasmine Galenorn can write multiple circles around this author.

Although not horribly bad, the writing was just a bit irritating for some reason. The romance was a bit on the silly side -- in fact, the whole book bordered on silly. I don't pan many books, but this is one of those rare times. Ick."


The Black Candle (Large Print)
The Black Candle (Large Print)
Author: Catherine Cookson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 0/5 Stars.
  ?
Review Date: 4/8/2007


"This was a great read. I thoroughly enjoyed it."


Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Black Rose (In the Garden, Bk 2)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 1479
Review Date: 5/17/2010


"Nora Roberts really seems to like her trilogies. I don't know if that's a smart marketing ploy, or just the way she likes to put a story together. This is the middle in the Garden trilogy. It has all of the typical Roberts elements -- some romance, friendships, intrigue, and a ghost. I always enjoy the amount of research she seems to do for her background, and in this one I learned a bit about gardening and the greenhouse business that I didn't know before! It's an enjoyable series -- not as good as the Circle or Key series, but definitely up there."


Blow Me Down
Blow Me Down
Author: Katie MacAlister
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 404
Review Date: 4/24/2007


"I have to admit I like Macalister's Aisling Gray series better, but this was a nice, light read while I wait for the next in the series!"


Can You Keep a Secret? (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Can You Keep a Secret? (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Emily Gray (Narrator), Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 157
Review Date: 5/17/2010


"I must admit that I wasn't a great fan of the Shopoholic series -- the first was cute, but the others became a bit irritating. So, I was a bit heistant about trying another Kinsella. But, that's the beauty of Paperback Swap! I can try something without putting out a big investment -- and this little investment certainly paid off. I listened to this audio CD on the way back and forth from work last week, and I have to admit that I coudn't wait to get in the car to hear more! The story is light and somewhat predictable -- though not completely. What Kinsella does so much better in this story is give us a heroine who is really, really likeable. She has her flaws, but basically she's a good, honorable person. Emily Gray, as narrator, also does a tremendous job of bringing each character to life.

Now, if Kinsella would write more stories about this heroine, I'd be more than happy to read them! I highly recommend this light read (or listen). I think you'll enjoy it."


Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Carpe Demon: Adventures of a Demon-Hunting Soccer Mom (Bk 1)
Author: Julie Kenner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 272
Review Date: 2/18/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is a great new series with a nice sense of humor. The plot is a combination of fantasy and mystery with a nice twist. Can't wait for the next in the series."


The Cat Who Had 60 Whiskers (Cat Who...Bk 29) (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 10/9/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I've read all of the Cat books, despite the fact that sometimes I find them rather irritating! This one was just plan strange, though it did have some interesting twists. For some reason, it seemed like it just stopped in mid-narrative. In fact, I took some time to look to see if I had misplaced a CD or two, but they were all there as advertised. It felt as if I had the waiter come and snatch my dinner plate away before I had finished it."


A Charmed Death (Bewitching, Bk 2)
A Charmed Death (Bewitching, Bk 2)
Author: Madelyn Alt
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 333
Review Date: 6/25/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This series gets better and better. On the surface, it's a nice cozy that makes for a good weekend read. But, it also offers a complexity and thoughtfulness that you don't always get from this genre. A smart cozy, I guess you'd call it! I hate to part with this one, but it's also nice to share!"


The Choice (Large Print)
The Choice (Large Print)
Author: Nicholas Sparks
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/5/2008


"THIS IS A LARGE PRINT BOOK. THE ISBN DOES NOT REFLECT THIS."


The Christmas Angel (Cape Light, Bk 6) (Large Print)
The Christmas Angel (Cape Light, Bk 6) (Large Print)
Author: Tomas Kinkade, Katherine Spencer
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 3/11/2007


"LARGE PRINT BOOK."


Commitments (Large Print)
Commitments (Large Print)
Author: Barbara Delinsky
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 4/29/2007


"Large Print Book"


Custard's Last Stand (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 11)
Custard's Last Stand (Pennsylvania Dutch Mystery with Recipes, Bk 11)
Author: Tamar Myers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 4/24/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Great series...more of the same silliness!"


A Deadly Yarn  (Knitting Mystery, Bk 3)
A Deadly Yarn (Knitting Mystery, Bk 3)
Author: Maggie Sefton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 2/18/2007
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"As a knitter myself, I really enjoy the series. The only problem is that I get so caught up in the description of the yarns that I end up spending additional money adding to my existing stash!"


East of Ealing
East of Ealing
Author: Robert Rankin
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/13/2008
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the third book in the Brentford trilogy. The plot and writing are typical Rankin, so very enjoyable. The characters are familiar. I found the ending both confusing and creative, and I'm not sure if it will influence the later books -- I'll have to wait and see.

If you like Rankin and the Brentford books, you'll find this one enjoyable. If this is your introduction to both, I might recommend that you begin with one of the earlier books to get introduced to the insanity! Jumping right into this one might be a bit much."


Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Evans Above (Constable Evans, Bk 1)
Author: Rhys Bowen
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 99
Review Date: 2/18/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"First in the Evans series. A nicely written, gentle mystery series set in Wales. Lots of interesting Welsh color and history."


Free Love
Free Love
Author: Annette Meyers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 3/2/2007


"This one took a while to get into and is definitely a different type of historical mystery. However, it's an interesting perspective on a very interesting time in history."


Full Bloom (Max Holt, Bk 5)
Full Bloom (Max Holt, Bk 5)
Author: Janet Evanovich, Charlotte Hughes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 757
Review Date: 2/18/2007


"The Bloom series is cute, if a bit formula. They're great reads while you're waiting for the next Stephanie Plum."


The Gathering
The Gathering
Author: Anne Enright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 217
Review Date: 3/13/2010


"I know I'm not supposed to put this type of information here, but can't see where else to put it. This is a paperback, but the cover looks like the hardcover. The ISBN number matches the hardcover book, but that is incorrect."


The Ghost and the Dead Deb (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 2)
The Ghost and the Dead Deb (Haunted Bookshop, Bk 2)
Author: Alice Kimberly
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 180
Review Date: 9/9/2007
7 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This is the second in the seriest and does a nice job of developing the characters just a bit more -- particularly the relationship between Jack and Penelope. Just a tiny bit of spark developing in a very interesting way. Loved it, and the mystery was interesting, too!"


House of Men (Large Print)
House of Men (Large Print)
Author: Catherine Cookson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/19/2007


"LARGE PRINT BOOK"


1 to 20 of 55 - Page: