Kim S. - , - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
The Angel Experiment (Maximum Ride, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 228
Review Date: 6/1/2008


I read quite a few YA books and this one was certainly NOT one that I would recommend. It seemed flat and written "down" just because the target reader is a "youth" doesn't mean the writer has to write "down", being young doesn't mean that the reader can't understand good writing. If you want a good YA series skip Patterson and read some of Scott Westerfeld's books or Jonathan Stroud, at least those authors aren't just trying to fulfill a contract for their editor which is what this book felt like. Flat & rushed.


Cold Fear (Reed-Sydowski #2)
Cold Fear (Reed-Sydowski #2)
Author: Rick Mofina
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 4/18/2007


Kept my interest, not my usual type of book but it was a good solid read, suspensful and pretty realistic overall.
I gave it 3.5 stars


Dragon Tears
Dragon Tears
Author: Dean R. Koontz
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 296
Review Date: 11/11/2007


This book was a bit scary... I don't normally read scary books, so some might not even flinch @ the scary parts in this book, especially if you like that sort of thing. It was NOT gory just suspense mainly. Kind of eery and creepy. All in all a pretty good read. I loved the dog in the book, He just cracked me up.


The Lovely Bones
The Lovely Bones
Author: Alice Sebold
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 1992
Review Date: 9/5/2007


Tear-jearker of a book, good book although the first chapter was rough. A good solid read.


Never Call Your Broker on Monday: And 300 Other Financial Lessons You Can't Afford Not to Know
Review Date: 3/24/2007


Nice book with a lot of good financial tips. Some of which are common sense & some that the average person might not think of on their own, Short and sweet easy to read.


The River's Gift
The River's Gift
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/4/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Short & sweet novella, a refreshing tale. quick & easy read.


The South Beach Diet
The South Beach Diet
Author: Arthur Agatston
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 366
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This book was well written & had a lot of great pointers. Also has some good recipes. A must read for anyone trying to improve their lifestyle and incorporate a better diet & way of living that fits into everyday normal life with "normal" eating.


A Thousand Bones (Louis Kincaid, Bk 8)
A Thousand Bones (Louis Kincaid, Bk 8)
Author: P. J. Parrish
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 9/26/2007
Helpful Score: 5


This was a great book!!! A strong female character recalls a tale of when she was a rookie cop. Very suspenseful and well written.


Turning Angel (Penn Cage, Bk 2)
Turning Angel (Penn Cage, Bk 2)
Author: Greg Iles
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 143
Review Date: 9/25/2007


I really liked Greg Iles style of writing,
The book was an easy read, most of it was very good, There was one part that seemed to stretch reality a bit... but with the world today maybe things could actually happen like that. Even so it was an entertaining read. I would defiantely read another book written by Greg Iles.


What to Expect the First Year
What to Expect the First Year
Author: Arlene Eisenberg, Heidi E. Murkoff, Sandee E. Hathaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 424
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 3


I liked this book very much. It was very helpful to me when I had my first child I really had a lot of questions and it seemed to have quite a few of the answers right there. The book was Easy to read and was written well. It was very helpful to me in answering questions about what to expect the first year.


What to Expect: The Toddler Years
What to Expect: The Toddler Years
Author: Arlene Eisenberg, Heidi E. Murkoff, Sandee E. Hathaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 331
Review Date: 3/22/2007


This book was extremely helpful to me as a first time mom, even after I had three kids I often refered to this book. It was a great reference tool. I learned quite a bit from this book.


What to Expect When You're Expecting
What to Expect When You're Expecting
Author: Heidi E. Murkoff, Arlene Eisenberg, Sandee Hathaway
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 648
Review Date: 3/22/2007
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book, I read it faithfully while I was expecting, it was very helpful and wriiten in an easy to read format. It was divided into sections that were easy to follow along with during different stages of pregnancy.


1 to 12 of 12