Janice O. (shyllei) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 37 - Page:
29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life
29 Gifts: How a Month of Giving Can Change Your Life
Author: Cami Walker
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/4/2011


If you are looking for a book to help you in your life to think of other people, then this may be the book for you. I found it a bit cynical and sad that it took turmoil for someone to just do what is nice. I don't need a book like this to help me as I already do this in my life. Except someone decided to put it on a website and sell things too.


740 Park: The Story Of The World's Richest Apartment Building
740 Park: The Story Of The World's Richest Apartment Building
Author: Michael Gross
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/6/2010


And interesting read about this apartment building. I had hoped this book would tell more about the building itself, but instead spoke more about the people who lived in the building. A few figures I found interesting and names I recognized. Definitely a who's who in American wealth and industry. I also found myself remembering stories I had heard, and didn't realize it was this apartment building. Hard to believe something like this still exists in the heart of New York City.

If you enjoy reading about people and history, then you may enjoy this book.


Alice I Have Been
Alice I Have Been
Author: Melanie Benjamin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 11/20/2012
Helpful Score: 6


I was quite surprised on how good this book is. It is the story of Alice Liddell, who was the inspiration for Alice in Wonderland. The novel takes you from her childhood, as a young woman, and as a mother, and how the story changed her life.

It didn't take me long to read and the novel progresses nicely. The characters are entertaining, and there is a bit of a mystery that isn't really revealed until the end.

I would definitely recommend this book.


All Through the Night: Stranger in Her Bed / No Mercy / Satisfy Me / Something Wild
Review Date: 8/21/2011


This was a very enjoyable summer read. The only story I didn't like so much was Something Wild by Shannon McKenna, but all the stories do have some interesting elements and the characters are well written. If you're looking for something to read that isn't too heavy, then this is for you.


Atlas Shrugged
Atlas Shrugged
Author: Ayn Rand
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 2/27/2010
Helpful Score: 2


I was a bit hesitant about reading this book, and part 1 wasn't too good. It does set up the characters and provide background information. Once I started reading part 2, it was much better and by part 3 I couldn't put it down. Though this is a fiction book, the events and such could be used to describe the world we currently live in. This is the first book I've read by Ayn Rand, and after reading this one I am curious about her others. This book is a classic and should be read.


Columbine
Columbine
Author: Dave Cullen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 87
Review Date: 3/19/2010


This book is a fast read though it contains a lot of facts regarding this horrible event. It contained many interesting details, which I had never heard of, condensed into one book. It definitely makes you think about the events and how people can band together against something whether it is right or wrong. It was tough to follow the author in the beginning until I got used to his writing style. The chapters don't flow all that well as he goes back and forth from after the attack to before the attack back to after the attack. Otherwise, if you're interested in learning what actually occurred from the people who witnessed it, then this is an excellent book.


Condoleezza Rice: An American Life: A Biography
Condoleezza Rice: An American Life: A Biography
Author: Elisabeth Bumiller
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 9/14/2013


Interesting book from an author who talked to the subject 3 to 4 times, and interviewed her friends. The chapters on her actual life are short, with more focus on the political years. I wish there was a more even focus on her entire life, childhood and years in service, and deciding what to do afterwards. There were times when I wish the author didn't inject her own thoughts.

If you want to know about the inside political years, then this is the book for you.


Dangerous Ladies
Dangerous Ladies
Author: Christina Dodd
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 10/3/2011


A very enjoyable read. Contains 2 stories: Trouble in High Heels and Tongue in Chic.

I liked how both stories are part of a series, and that the same characters in one are mentioned in the other. If you like a story that isn't too fast-paced, then this is for you.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 861
Review Date: 7/21/2010


Since I had seen the movie before reading the book, it was interesting to see the changes that occurred. The book is still a good read and the writer is excellent. It is easy to read and I couldn't help but be involved with the characters. If you are looking for a nice summer read, then this is it.


Do Not Disturb: A Novel
Do Not Disturb: A Novel
Author: Laurence Geller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/17/2015


The novel started slow, and the story I thought was being told wasn't it. However, as I progressed through the story I understood what the author was trying to tell and ended up enjoying the read. I'm glad I didn't give up.


Dracula The Un-Dead
Dracula The Un-Dead
Author: Dacre Stoker, Ian Holt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 25
Review Date: 8/27/2012


This book tries to continue the Dracula story with many twist and turns. Some are good, others not so well, and the reader is left wondering why.

If you like Dracula stories, then this one may fit the bill. Otherwise, it is a nice summer read filled with violence.


Final Salute: A Story of Unfinished Lives
Final Salute: A Story of Unfinished Lives
Author: Jim Sheeler
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 8/25/2011


This book is about what happens when a soldier's body is brought home to their family. It was very insightful and sad. Sad about the death, but at least there is some sort of closure. It also gives hope.

I sometimes got confused on which story belonged to which family. Otherwise, I think it is better to read this book all at once instead of taking a few weeks.


The Fortune Hunter (Fortune Hunter, Bk 1)
The Fortune Hunter (Fortune Hunter, Bk 1)
Author: Jasmine Haynes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 3/20/2010


I was able to read this book in one night. It was fun and fast. Sometimes this is what you need.


Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Four to Score (Stephanie Plum, Bk 4)
Author: Janet Evanovich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 2048
Review Date: 9/1/2012


Great quick, summer read. I finished in about 3 days. This book follows the previous books. I love reading about these characters and what happens next in their lives. Definitely start with the first book and read in succession.

This book has a few twists that I didn't see coming. Can't wait to read the next book in the series.


Freakonomics: A Rogue Economist Explores the Hidden Side of Everything (Freakonomics, Bk 1)
Review Date: 5/22/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was looking forward to reading this book, but ended up being a little bored. It took me 3 different tries to read chapter one. Though once I got halfway through I started enjoying it more. It is definitely a book you have to pay attention to as you read, as stories from previous chapters are talked about in other chapters.


Funny Cide : How a Horse, a Trainer, a Jockey, and a Bunch of High School Buddies Took On the Sheiks and Blue Bloods--and Won
Review Date: 11/2/2013


Lovely, fast read that I wish continued into Funny Cide's 4 year old career. The book tells the backstory of how a race horse affects the lives of everyone around him, and the inside scoop of what occurs to prepare a race horse.

I remember watching Funny Cide run and all his owners coming into the winner's circle at the Kentucky Derby. I loved how the backstory of this horse is brought to life. Wish there were more books like this one about other horses.


Hedy's Folly: The Life and Breakthrough Inventions of Hedy Lamarr, the Most Beautiful Woman in the World (Vintage)
Review Date: 1/18/2014


This book reads more as a term paper and didn't go into detailed explanation. I wanted to know more about Hedy Lamarr's inventions and the thought behind what she invented. The book was supposed to focus on one invention she had with composer George Antheil. Unfortunately, when he is introduced, the author spends too much time telling about his background up until he meets Hedy, and even their meeting isn't explained in more detail. The book is more about both of them and not just Hedy. It was hard to read and I got lost more than once. This book could have been so much more.


Holidays on Ice
Holidays on Ice
Author: David Sedaris
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 3/20/2011


Really enjoyed reading these dark, short stories. Mostly about Christmas, but can be enjoyed anytime and quite funny. I read it on the commute to and from work, and it fit the time span wonderfully.


Hollywood Car Wash
Hollywood Car Wash
Author: Lori Culwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 11/20/2009


Lori Culwell delivers an intersting perspective into young hollywood and makes me wonder how true to life this is. It definitely makes me look at gossip magazines/shows in a different light. Otherwise, the book is a fun and fluffy read.

Since the novel is about a college student who is suddenly whisked from her drama class in the midwest to Los Angeles to star in a "Gossip Girl"-like sitcom, what makes this book work is the life she leads outside the job. From having to stay "in-shape" and doing whatever it takes to make herself look camera perfect, to having the right boyfriend, etc.

Definitely recommended for those light, summer reads.


Hounded: The Lowdown on Life from Three Dachshunds
Hounded: The Lowdown on Life from Three Dachshunds
Author: Matt Ziselman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 1/3/2017


Okay book about the author than the dogs. I was looking for a nice dog book. Learning lessons from your dog. Not this is my life and how dogs fit into it. Otherwise, it was an okay book.


1 to 20 of 37 - Page: