Olena G. - Reviews

1 to 11 of 11
As the Twig is Bent (Large Print)
As the Twig is Bent (Large Print)
Author: Kenneth Jernigan, National Federation of Blind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/10/2010


Amazing fast read! This little book opens up your mind and cuts off any preconceived notions one might have had about the blind. It is funny and infomative, with lots of history. The simple principles and tools presented in this book make one wonder why people don't use them when they are readily available!


Boris
Boris
Author: Jaap ter Haar
Book Type: Unknown Binding
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 11/21/2008
Helpful Score: 1


This book was amazing. A child growing up at 12, seeing war, and learning so many things. The lines and pictures in this book bring about such tiny things that matter so much in life and make you think about people who are strugling now in our Iraq war. It is a light amid darkness, this book.


Creating Health: Beyond Prevention, Toward Perfection
Creating Health: Beyond Prevention, Toward Perfection
Author: Deepak Chopra
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 10/20/2008


Great Book


Little Women
Little Women
Author: Louisa May Alcott
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 86
Review Date: 8/8/2009


Very intriguing


The Memory Keeper's Daughter
The Memory Keeper's Daughter
Author: Kim Edwards
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 5391
Review Date: 3/29/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Wonderful, wonderful work. Very intriguing and keeps you wanting to read more and more. Very lovely and descriptive, soulful. Definately read before watching the movie.


The Pilot's Wife
The Pilot's Wife
Author: Anita Shreve
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1652
Review Date: 8/26/2008
Helpful Score: 1


Very intriguing and shocking, yet believable


Pray for Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 2)
Pray for Silence (Kate Burkholder, Bk 2)
Author: Linda Castillo
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 103
Review Date: 6/10/2011
Helpful Score: 1


Very ineresting book, gripping and action packed. A lot of cursing. This book keeps the blood pumping fast.


The Road
The Road
Author: Cormac McCarthy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1994
Review Date: 3/29/2010


I have read this book. It is an easy read, and I did not much like it. I do not typically read these types of books, yet a friend recommended it. I felt the author was trying too hard to portray feelings and such, and used bigger words than necessary at times. The book was not memorable save for a few parts, a paragraph here or there. Otherwise, the book was a bit on the boring side to me, and sometimes confusing since the author used 'he' meaning the boy and the father... so I had to stop and think who the author was talking about, the boy or the father in the sentence. Though the book had some gruesome parts, I felt those parts were not detailed enough, as scary as that sounds. It was just a couple sentences, and then the author moved on.... maybe that was the intent. So to say, this book was not for me =)


Sabbath : Finding Rest, Renewal, and Delight in Our Busy Lives
Sabbath : Finding Rest, Renewal, and Delight in Our Busy Lives
Author: Wayne Muller
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/14/2008


Very wonderful and positive, not at all pushy about religion. Great examples and a lot of information. Great, fast, active read!


A Single Shard
A Single Shard
Author: Linda Sue Park
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 76
Review Date: 11/25/2008


This was an amazing book, it made me laugh and cry. I finished the book in one day.


The Sugar Queen
The Sugar Queen
Author: Sarah Allen
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/3/2010


This was a great book. It made me feel so much. I was scared for the characters, happy, sad, angry. Some parts I did not like, like the sexual explanations, but that could just be me. I generally liked the characters, but did not agree with their thoughts at times. I believe to never let a chance slip away, but the characters had a constant battle whether to do something or not. It was an exciting book, lovely, too.


1 to 11 of 11