Autumn S. (mamabird8503) - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Bloodfever (Fever, Bk 2)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 498
Review Date: 6/9/2011
Helpful Score: 2


Love this series! must read in order. It is like no other paranormal series I have read. The characters are great.


Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Divergent (Divergent, Bk 1)
Author: Veronica Roth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 436
Review Date: 9/4/2012
Helpful Score: 2


Stumbled into this series...it is FANTASTIC!
I love the characters, the writing...dare I say I like it more than the Hunger Games

Its another take on the theme that we (humans) have caused disastrous things to happen to our world. From chaos, extreme structure has taken over. At 16 yrs old every adolescent must choose one of 5 factions, to live and work with. Each is in charge of a part of society and held to different values and rules.
Beatrice is the main character. She chooses a faction other than the one she has grown up in...what follows is an ingrossing adventure. This is the first book...insurgent is second and the third is not released yet.


Forbidden Falls (Virgin River, Bk 9)
Forbidden Falls (Virgin River, Bk 9)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 248
Review Date: 1/3/2010
Helpful Score: 9


# 8 in the Virgin River Series
I love, love, love this series of books (must read them in order). They are romances, and each book focuses on a new couple. In Forbidden Falls, Noah comes to Virgin River after buying the old church. He hires a young woman Ellie, to be his assistant and to help him get the church clean and functional again.

The thing i like most about this series is that as each book focuses on a new romance there is also significant time spent continuing the stories of the other residents of Virgin River. This includes POV changes, time spent looking through their eyes. That being said, Forbidden falls has less of these POV changes and sidestories than I have come to expect from Royn Carr. I feel like something was missing. I still very much loved reading about Noah and Ellie but I often wondered as I was reading about what Jack, Mel, Mike, Rick or Shelby were doing? I hope the next book brings more of this back to the series.


The Other Boleyn Girl (Movie Tie-In)
The Other Boleyn Girl (Movie Tie-In)
Author: Philippa Gregory
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 315
Review Date: 3/24/2010


I know this book is very popular but I just don't agree. i read every page and hoped that at some point I would find a redeming quality in at least one of the characters. i didn't. Gregory's writing style is engaging, I found it easy to keep reading and yet the story was so ugly. I had no desire to read the other books she has written after finishing this one.


Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Second Chance Pass (Virgin River, Bk 5)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 283
Review Date: 4/29/2009
Helpful Score: 4


This book was so emotional. How do you come to terms with getting a second chance at a girl that you always regretted not approaching, when the only reason you get your second chance is because your best friend died while at war? This book sucks you in and you ride the roller coaster with Paul and Vanessa through Matts death, the birth of their child with Paul by her side and then the realization of their love.

I love this series. Each book has new main characters but I really love to see the continuation of stories from previous books. I can't get enough of Jack and Mel who ancor the town and the books, not to mention the cameos from the Grace Valley crew. I love how each of her books have the main romance but she gives lots of supporting characters and relationships significant time. It's like watching a movie with multiple stories going on. I hope she never stops writing the virgin river books!


Shelter Mountain (Virgin River, Bk 2)
Shelter Mountain (Virgin River, Bk 2)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 277
Review Date: 4/29/2009


This is Preacher and Paiges story. It is a very quick read. Paiges is running from an abusive husband who has threatened to kill her. She happens into Preacher and Jacks bar. While she hides with her 3 yr old son and recovers from a serious beating, Preacher who is a very large, very shy man falls hopelessly in love with her.

I love this series. Each book has new main characters but I really love to see the continuation of stories from previous books. I can't get enough of Jack and Mel who ancor the town and the books, not to mention the cameos from the Grace Valley crew. I love how each of her books have the main romance but she gives lots of supporting characters and relationships significant time. It's like watching a movie with multiple stories going on. I hope she never stops writing the virgin river books!

Definetly read them in order!!!


Temptation Ridge (Virgin River, Bk 6)
Temptation Ridge (Virgin River, Bk 6)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 285
Review Date: 4/29/2009


I love this series. Each book has new main characters (in temptation ridge it is Shelby and Luke) but I really love to see the continuation of stories from previous books. I can't get enough of Jack and Mel who ancor the town and the books, not to mention the cameos from the Grace Valley crew. I love how each of her books have the main romance but she gives lots of supporting characters and relationships significant time. It's like watching a movie with multiple stories going on. I hope she never stops writing the virgin river books!


A Virgin River Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 4)
A Virgin River Christmas (Virgin River, Bk 4)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 252
Review Date: 4/29/2009


This story is about Marcie and Ian. Marcie feels a deep need to find Ian and get answers about why he disappears. She finds him alone, hiding in the deep woods living a very simple life. He is tortured and she helps to bring him out of his darkness. Very sweet book and a great addition to the series.

I love this series. Each book has new main characters but I really love to see the continuation of stories from previous books. I can't get enough of Jack and Mel who ancor the town and the books, not to mention the cameos from the Grace Valley crew. I love how each of her books have the main romance but she gives lots of supporting characters and relationships significant time. It's like watching a movie with multiple stories going on. I hope she never stops writing the virgin river books!


Virgin River (Virgin River, Bk 1)
Virgin River (Virgin River, Bk 1)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 316
Review Date: 4/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


I love this series. This is the beginning of a great series which to date has 7 books with more to come I hope. This story is about Mel a nurse practioner who is tricked into a job in a small town (pop 600) and finds a reason to stay temporarily while Jack convinces her to fall in love with him. If you read the Grace Valley series there are some appearances by those characters throughout the series.
Don't wait another minute to pick up this book. I have read the whole series in the last 2 wks and can't wait until she adds more!


Whispering Rock (Virgin River, Bk 3)
Whispering Rock (Virgin River, Bk 3)
Author: Robyn Carr
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 4/29/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Mike is recovering from a career ending shooting. He helps Jacks sister through her own recovery after she was attacked and hurt badly. They heal slowly and help each other through the emotional struggles and wind up in love.

I love this series. Each book has new main characters but I really love to see the continuation of stories from previous books. I can't get enough of Jack and Mel who ancor the town and the books, not to mention the cameos from the Grace Valley crew. I love how each of her books have the main romance but she gives lots of supporting characters and relationships significant time. It's like watching a movie with multiple stories going on. I hope she never stops writing the virgin river books!

Read in order, the stories continue from book to book.


1 to 10 of 10