Jeneen B. (jrburk) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 27 - Page:
All the Light We Cannot See
All the Light We Cannot See
Author: Anthony Doerr
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 243
Review Date: 8/23/2014


I saw this book in the library and knowing it was on my wish list, I decided to check it out. I started reading it and thought ..... great I picked out another Hitler book.....I am getting tired of reading them. Mind you I have read some really goods ones too. But I feel like I was hitting a rut where books are concerned. I still kept reading.. The book is an easy read and keeps you interested no doubt. But honestly I did not appreciate what I was reading until close to the end. There are some profound statements that sum up so much of what happened throughout this time period. These statements tugged my heart. Would I recommend this book. You bet


Between Shades of Gray
Between Shades of Gray
Author: Ruta Sepetys
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 7/16/2014


Wow, very easy read........really gets to your heart. I knew Stalin was a bad man but I guess I never really thought about it compared to Hitler. Every one should read this book.. Its fiction but it really puts things into perspective.


Blindness
Blindness
Author: Jose Saramago, Giovanni Pontiero (Translator)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 237
Review Date: 7/14/2014


Yes I've read the other reviews and yes this is not a book for the light hearted. What it is though is one of the most profound pieces of work written. It makes you think. Absurd to say it, but the blindness in Saramago's novel is an allegory for not being able to see. What exactly it is we should see, what Saramago -- with all his years as a man and a writer and having lived through dictatorship and revolution -- fears we cannot see, is present in the writing, present abundantly, but it is not to be paraphrased.


The Book of Unholy Mischief
The Book of Unholy Mischief
Author: Elle Newmark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Loving reading a book when you don't know the out come from the start. Well written and flows evenly.


The Book Thief
The Book Thief
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 1037
Review Date: 8/23/2014


First of all my reviews will never tell you what the book is about......hate those! If you are going to tell me what the book is about then I don't need to read it. I just read your review and you told me all I need to know.....So what was my impression after reading it? Another Nazi Germany book for sure, but with a twist. Another view of the world in Germany at that time. An alternate way of seeing 1939 Germany. Ok enough. The book is well written and a very easy read. A decent story line you will like reading. Would I recommend this book. Yes.


The Bookman's Tale: A Novel of Obsession
The Bookman's Tale: A Novel of Obsession
Author: Charlie Lovett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 18
Review Date: 9/7/2015


I wasn't sure what I was getting into when I first picked up this book but I thought hey it made the New York Times bestseller I better at least give it a try. I'm glad I did. It was well written and enjoyable. Worth the read. Pick it up you'll be glad you did.


The Brightest Star in the Sky
The Brightest Star in the Sky
Author: Marian Keyes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 9/11/2015
Helpful Score: 1


Very fun read....took me almost all of the book to figure out one thing...and no I'm not going to tell you it was the fun part of the book.


Fallen (Fallen, Bk 1)
Fallen (Fallen, Bk 1)
Author: Lauren Kate
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 7/13/2014


interesting and quick read.


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 494
Review Date: 4/10/2015


Long but totally enjoyable. To me it seemed to drag out until about the last third of the book then I couldn't put it down. Should you read it? most certainly.


The Girl on the Train: A Novel
The Girl on the Train: A Novel
Author: Paula Hawkins
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 441
Review Date: 1/23/2016


So I read all the reviews on this book and was really undecided whether it would be a good read or not. In the end I decided to read it. I didn't put it down until I finished it....ok yes it was well written and although others didn't like the who was in this book because they were not "realistic" is just plain sad. I would say this is a well written story, it is a story, it's a good read. I say read it decide for yourself if you like it. I read it for the thrill of just reading a good story. Glad I did.


The Girls
The Girls
Author: Emma Cline
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 44
Review Date: 11/11/2016


Not my normal reading but I wanted to try something different. I do find I like new authors first books and this one did not disappoint. It is well written. Smooth easy read. Finished it in a day. Nothing profound in the story just well told.


The Goldfinch: A Novel
The Goldfinch: A Novel
Author: Donna Tartt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 163
Review Date: 8/16/2014


As others have said this is a very long novel. I haven't decided if it was because I didn't sit and read it in a day or two or the story itself was just a bit to boring in parts to really like it or not, but I was not overly impressed. It is a well written book. The beginning goes fast enough to enjoy. The middle when he goes to Vegas, becomes almost repetitious in his day to day life. The end as an adult also seems to drag the story down. I've heard the end described as going too fast but to me it was a total let down. (maybe I expected to much) All in all would I read it again or even recommend it to a friend? Good question. I can't say either way. I guess it would depend on the person and how well I knew them. I would not read it again and I'll probably forget about the entire book after I finish the next one.


The Handmaid's Tale
The Handmaid's Tale
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 762
Review Date: 3/23/2018


I've been trying to think all night long how to review this book. I still don't believe that I can write something of value to add to help you pick or not pick this book. I will tell you that I kept waiting for some sort of something that never showed up. It will be oppressive at times and at others just plain out there. Just glad I didn't live it. :)


Heaven, Hell and Mademoiselle
Heaven, Hell and Mademoiselle
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Love this book. I went right out and bought a bottle of Channel #5 right after I read it. (of course this is my favorite perfume and I haven't replace the last bottle for years) But had to have it again!


I Am the Messenger
I Am the Messenger
Author: Markus Zusak
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 136
Review Date: 11/12/2017


I could not put this book down. Read it in a day.


Life After Life
Life After Life
Author: Kate Atkinson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 7/23/2017


Interesting but not as good as I had imagined.


Luncheon of the Boating Party
Luncheon of the Boating Party
Author: Susan Vreeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 61
Review Date: 7/13/2014


Susan Vreeland did an awesome job of putting a story behind this painting. Believe me when I say you will keep looking at the cover to see what the artist saw. You will be looking for the artist inside you when you finish this book.


My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry
Review Date: 3/18/2018


This book kept me reading. very enjoyable.. Gave it a 3 1/2 only because I only rate those I read a second time with more stars.


One Dangerous Lady
One Dangerous Lady
Author: Jane Stanton Hitchcock
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 16
Review Date: 9/9/2015


This book gets right to it and keeps it going. I will not tell you what your going to read except it was hard to put down. I usually do not read this style but enjoyed it for what it is. The ending will not be a surprise but it was fun getting to it. I gave it 4 stars because I only give 5 stars to books I'll read again and again. If you love to read, just to read then you will enjoy it. If you are looking for some profound insight move on to some other book. This ones just for fun!


Ordinary Grace
Ordinary Grace
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 1/15/2016


I can't say I either loved or hated this book. I can tell you it was well written. I didn't put it down until I finished it. It was interesting Wish I could give you more in this review.


1 to 20 of 27 - Page: