Karen P. (specialkreading) - Reviews

1 to 9 of 9
Ain't No Valley
Ain't No Valley
Author: Sharon Ewell Foster
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 1/14/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Very well written story line. The author is a very unique writer. This book is part of a series so it would be good to follow the sequence.


Blanche Cleans Up (Blanche White, Bk 3)
Blanche Cleans Up (Blanche White, Bk 3)
Author: Barbara Neely
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 6/12/2012


Barbara Neely's Blanche series are very good stories and well written.


The Complete Fiction of Nella Larsen : Passing, Quicksand, and The Stories
Review Date: 10/16/2012


Interesting stores told as fiction. However the events have actually occured at sometime or another. Most of us know of the characters.


Crash and Burn (Sisterhood, Bk 27)
Crash and Burn (Sisterhood, Bk 27)
Author: Fern Michaels
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 13
Review Date: 8/17/2017


Fern Michaels is a great writer. She really knows how to write a believable story.

Once I started reading Crash & Burn I could not put it down. I particularly like all of the Sisterhood series. This one included.
Women seeking justice for all who have been wronged. Powerful individuals who think they cannot be stopped. The sisterhood prove them wrong and anyone else who think the same way.


Jonah's Gourd Vine: A Novel (P.S.)
Jonah's Gourd Vine: A Novel (P.S.)
Author: Zora Neale Hurston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/29/2009


This is a good book. It was my second time around reading it. Zora Neal Hurston was an excellent story teller. The story tells about a man who becomes a minister whom has all the human issues that everyone struggle with. If the truth be told.


Playing My Mother's Blues
Playing My Mother's Blues
Author: Valerie Wilson Wesley
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 10/11/2012


I enjoyed the story line Valerie Wilson Wesley is an excellent writer and knows how to tell a story. I could personally relate to it.


Song of Solomon
Song of Solomon
Author: Kendra Norman-Bellamy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 3/29/2012


Song of Solomon was a book club selection for women who only read Christian fiction. Everyone agreed that they liked the story line and could relatate to the subject matter. We all have suffered lost and some members more recent then others. I personally found the story to be will written.


Then Came Faith (Then Came Faith, Bk 1)
Then Came Faith (Then Came Faith, Bk 1)
Author: Louise M. Gouge
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 6/22/2011


Lovely Christian fiction story. I loved the historical North/South aspects of the story. Very well written clearly the author did her research.

My first time reading anything this author has written before. She is an excellent story teller. Will make it a point to read some of her other novels.


Up at the College
Up at the College
Author: Michele Andrea Bowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/12/2015


I liked the story. Characters well defined. Have read all of this author's books. She is a good story teller especially about church folks.


1 to 9 of 9