Susan R. (SuRay) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 21 - Page:
After the Fact: The Art of Historical Detection
Review Date: 4/25/2009


This is a very interesting analysis of the process of historical writing. It shows how those who write history, like the rest of us, are influenced by their own experience and perspective, and the impact that influence may have on the "hard facts." I found it very interesting and a helpful tool to better understand the limits of all we are told is true.


Alexandra David-Neel : Portait of an Adventurer
Alexandra David-Neel : Portait of an Adventurer
Author: Ruth Middleton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 10/16/2005


Fascinating story of pioneering woman exploring Himalayas in late 19th/early 20th century, on foot!


Alice Springs
Alice Springs
Author: Nikki Gemmell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 10/24/2012


A very unusually written novel, that "popped out" at me from a PBS page, I think one that said "people who ordered this also liked" or something to that effect. Gemmell does an excellent job of capturing the energy of the people of Australia, and the stresses between different groups. She also creates characters who grab your attention, and hold it. I really enjoyed this book, and highly recommend it.


Amma: Healing the Heart of the World
Amma: Healing the Heart of the World
Author: Judith Cornell
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 8/25/2009


This biography is written from the point of view of a devotee, so don't expect analytical distance. It captures the essence and remarkable history of a woman whom I personally know to have touched the lives of many. I will share it with those who already know her, and recommend it to those who would invite love and compassion into their lives.


And  I  Alone Survived
And I Alone Survived
Author: Lauren Elder, Shirley Streshinsky
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 2/9/2010


One of the best "survival stories" I've ever read; I can reread with the same pleasure and have over the 20 years since first receiving it as a gift. I now send it to others through PBS! Lauren joined two friends to fly across the highest peaks of the Sierra range almost on a lark, and her miraculous survival by hiking down its eastern slope, which she judged the most direct route though much more rugged than the western way. If you enjoy real people's real stories, this book is a must!


The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell, Bk 1)
The Beekeeper's Apprentice (Mary Russell, Bk 1)
Author: Laurie R. King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 234
Review Date: 1/1/2011


This is the first of a very interesting series that brings new energy to the Sherlock Holmes we have known. The young woman with whom he is paired is amazing, and their shared adventures make great reading!


The Best Democracy Money Can Buy: An Investigative Reporter Exposes the Truth about Globalization, Corporate Cons, and High Finance Fraudsters
Review Date: 12/8/2005


Good information, scary!


The Bluest Eye
The Bluest Eye
Author: Toni Morrison
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 9/3/2007
Helpful Score: 3


This is a very well written book, and one I highly recommend. Morrison is a gifted writer whose work should be recognized by everyone, not just Oprah!


Bread Of Time, The : Toward an Autobiography
Bread Of Time, The : Toward an Autobiography
Author: Philip Levine
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/17/2011


I loved this book! As a writer getting a late start I was inspired by Levine's honest assessment of his struggles to become the poet, writer and teacher he is. The stories that make up the book are well described as "Toward an Autobiography;" their author's formative life experiences are shared with a candor and humor in which I delighted. I would recommend this book to anyone who loves poetry and/or values the sharing of each of our journeys!


Cat's Eye
Cat's Eye
Author: Margaret Atwood
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 146
Review Date: 7/20/2006


Atwood is great, as always! The childhood landscape she recreates is more vivid than one's own memories, yet chillingly real.


Faith and Betrayal: A Pioneer Woman's Passage in the American West
Faith and Betrayal: A Pioneer Woman's Passage in the American West
Author: Sally Denton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 7/27/2010


A very well researched, fascinating story, filled with little-known historic detail. I thoroughly enjoyed this book!


The Golden Gate
The Golden Gate
Author: Vikram Seth
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 7/27/2010


I loved this book! The verse flowed effortlessly and the story engaged my interest throughout. I highly recommend it to anyone who enjoys well written story telling with a very personal feel!


Grace and Grit: Spirituality and Healing in the Life and Death of Treya Killam Wilber
Review Date: 12/8/2005


Deeply moving, not a light read. I'd recommend highly for a spiritual, intellectual person dealing with cancer treatment---or anyone in that situation really.


The Mercy Seat
The Mercy Seat
Author: Rilla Askew
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 1/2/2010


This author creates complex characters, links events and holds the reader's attention like few others! Worthwhile and very compelling book!


A People's History of the United States
A People's History of the United States
Author: Howard Zinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 4/15/2011


I have heard about and wanted to read this book for years, and it is even better than I had anticipated. Howard Zinn goes deep into issues and events other books gloss over or give minimal attention to,giving the reader the balanced view of history needed to truly understand. I recommend this book to anyone who wants to understand the present, and the past. Zinn is a true American hero!


Power Politics
Power Politics
Author: Arundhati Roy
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 10/16/2005


Brilliant Indian social analyst tells it like it is, in her homeland and around the world.


RAINGATHERER [MINNESOTA WRITERS' PUBLISHING HOUSE BOOKLET NUMBER 1]
Review Date: 11/19/2011


This book affirms the value of Paperback Swap: the first edition of an historic series by my poetry mentor, Robert Bly, and his friends at the Minnesota Writers' Publishing House. It sold for $1 and is autographed by the author, whose poetry is amazing.
Receiving such a treasure on the level playing field of PBS gives me "Hope as perennial and seasonal as grass" in Franklin Brainard's words, that the inequities of our failing democracy may change.
All I can say is thank you, thank you, thank you Paperback Swap!


The Rape of Nanking: The Forgotten Holocaust of World War II
The Rape of Nanking: The Forgotten Holocaust of World War II
Author: Iris Chang
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 65
Review Date: 2/17/2011
Helpful Score: 1


I found this book most interesting when read alongside Paula Kamen's Finding Iris Chang: Friendship, Ambition and the loss of an Extraordinary Mind.
The author of The Rape of Nanking did an amazing job of researching and writing about events that politics have largely erased from historical awareness, and she paid dearly for her efforts.
Both these books are "Must reads" for anyone interested in history as it happens, rather than as it is publicized. I got both books very quickly from PBS, my source for history!


Shameless Exploitation in Pursuit of the Common Good : The Madcap Business Adventure by the Truly Oddest Couple
Review Date: 12/17/2006


fun and truly amazing story of Newman's product line


The Stone Diaries
The Stone Diaries
Author: Carol Shields
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 303
Review Date: 1/5/2006


This book held my attention with unexpected twists and experiences that feel universal. Something about Canadian women novelists really draws me to their work!


1 to 20 of 21 - Page: