Ann C. (inchargemom) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 135 - Page:
127 Anytime Crafts Kids Can Make
127 Anytime Crafts Kids Can Make
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 12/15/2006


Includes projects in puppetry, mobiles, natural crafts, cut and paste, construction, drawing and painting. Great to give the kids ideas.


Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 172
Review Date: 9/4/2006


A mysterious transmission from the bottom of the Atlantic Ocean leads a crew of oceanographers and divers to a phonomenon beyond scientific understanding-and a discovery that will change everything we know about life on Earth.


The Abolition of Man
The Abolition of Man
Author: C. S. Lewis
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/20/2006


How education develops man's sense of morality.


The Adventures Of Super Diaper Baby (Captain Underpants)
The Adventures Of Super Diaper Baby (Captain Underpants)
Author: George Beard, Harold Hutchins
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 10/24/2006


This is a graphic(cartoon) novel. Listed for reading level 3(3rd grade)


Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse
Alexander and the Wind-Up Mouse
Author: Leo Lionni
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 11/8/2006
Helpful Score: 3


A wonderful book about a real live mouse who is lonely, until he meets a windup mouse. Caldecott honor Book, ALA notable book, and new york times outstanding book of the year.


The Anastasia Syndrome and Other Stories
The Anastasia Syndrome and Other Stories
Author: Mary Higgins Clark
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 9/2/2006


...amply demonstrates Clark's skill at maintaining suspense by creating nightmarish situations that lie beneath the surface of ordinary life.


Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3)
Ancient Ones (Emmett Parker and Anna Turnipseed, Bk 3)
Author: Kirk Mitchell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 11/8/2006
Helpful Score: 1


A police thriller, in the tradition of Tony Hillerman and Joseph Wambaugh, but from a Native American viewpoint.


The Animal Hour
The Animal Hour
Author: Andrew Klavan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 12
Review Date: 9/2/2006


It's Halloween morning-and Nancy Kincaid is about to find out that she has disappeared. Athe Animal Hour: it's the edge of twilight and the height of Halloween...the time when ordinary people are swept into dreams that might be madness.


Any Child Can Read Better: Developing Your Child's Reading Skills Outside the Classroom
Review Date: 12/15/2006


Practical advice on how you can help your child practice the critical thinking and reading skills that guarantee success in the classroom and beyond.


Avoiding Prison and Other Noble Vacation Goals : Adventures in Love and Danger
Review Date: 10/21/2006


A bumpy and hilarious ride in which Wendy discovers that a successful vacation-much like that elusive thing, happiness-can be found in some of the most unlikely places imaginable.


Babies (Golden Sturdy Books)
Babies (Golden Sturdy Books)
Author: Golden Books
Book Type: Board book
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/3/2006


Oversized board book describing the things that babies do. Great for first reading to babies.


The Best Way to Play (A Little Bill Book for Beginning Readers)
Review Date: 1/18/2007


Little Bill and his friends want the new Space Explorers video game! But their parents won't buy it. How can Little Bill and his friends have fun without it?

Interesting look at how keeping up with the Jones' affects kids...and what kids can do without all the newest things.....


Better Times Than These
Better Times Than These
Author: Winston Groom
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Summer 1966: First Lieutenant Bill Kahn was studying geology on an ROTC scholarship: now he is the Executive Officer of Bravo Company, responsible for leading over one hundered young men into combat.

A vivid gripping account that captures the passions, tragedies, and brutal realities of the Vietnam era...


Bless this Food: Amazing Graces in Thanks for Food
Bless this Food: Amazing Graces in Thanks for Food
Author: Adrian Butash (Compiler)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 5/3/2007


First collection of food prayers from around the world.


Body of Evidence  (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 2)
Body of Evidence (Kay Scarpetta, Bk 2)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 309
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Chief Medical Examiner Kay Scarpetta must deal with a deranged killer who stalks and murders a noted historical novelist and then seems to be working back throught the novelist's past....

Takes the reader into the fascinating world of the forensic crime lab.


Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Body of Lies (Eve Duncan, Bk 4)
Author: Iris Johansen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 463
Review Date: 9/2/2006


Forensic sculptor Eve Duncan has been summoned to Baton Rouge...to identify the remains of an unkown murder victim...and stumbles onto a chilling conspiracy. There is only one person who can give her the devastating truth, and he is already dead.


The Bookshop
The Bookshop
Author: Penelope Fitzgerald
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 10/3/2007
Helpful Score: 4


A widow decides to open a bookshop in a town that doesn't have a book store, and only too late begins to suspect the truth...that a town
choosing to survive.

I loved this book! The language was perfectly chosen, the situations made me smile, and I even had to read some of it aloud to my husband.

Florence Green(the widow) is to be admired for her wit, and her innocent courage, that comes from simply choosing to survive. As Balzac said, the ordinariness of human lives can never be a measure of the effort it takes to keep them going.


Cape Random
Cape Random
Author: Bernice Morgan
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 11/18/2006


Set in England in the early 1800's, a lyrical tribute to the decency and kindness possible among people even in the most difficult circumstances.


Castle Avamir
Castle Avamir
Author: Kathleen Duey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 1/18/2007


An early chapter book with gypsies, and unicorns. Grades 2-3


The Cat-Nappers
The Cat-Nappers
Author: P. G. Wodehouse
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 12/15/2006
Helpful Score: 1


PG Wodehouse

Bertie Wooster and his valet, Jeeves, join the racing set and are embroiled once again in a scheme of Bertie's redoubtable Aunt Dahlia.


1 to 20 of 135 - Page: