Cindy F. (johnnysangel) - - Reviews

1 to 20 of 146 - Page:
365 Thank Yous: The Year a Simple Act of Daily Gratitude Changed My Life
Review Date: 5/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


When I first started the book, I felt a little disappointed. I put it down, picked up something else, then came back to it a few days later and read it in a day and a half. I really liked it. I think you have to be in the mood to read each and every book you pick up, on that given day.
The author's message is one that most of can relate to, everything starts going wrong and you eventually start looking for something you can do to make things feel better. I haven't written thank you notes in several years and am now inspired to start again. In this day and age of computers, people don't write notes like they used to, (me included!) and I think most people would be glad to see something in their mailbox besides bills! Thanks to the author for sharing his story!


A 4th Course of Chicken Soup for the Soul: 101 More Stories to Open the Heart and Rekindle the Spirit
Review Date: 7/17/2007


Great inspirational stories as are all of the chicken soup series books. Nice to have around for those times when you need the pick me up.


The Affair (Diary of V, Bk 1)
The Affair (Diary of V, Bk 1)
Author: Debra Kent
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/1/2005


This entire series was hilarious. I loved it, as did my daughter.


Ageless Body, Timeless Mind : The Quantum Alternative to Growing Old
Ageless Body, Timeless Mind : The Quantum Alternative to Growing Old
Author: Deepak Chopra
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 30
Review Date: 7/17/2007


Some of his books speak to me and some don't. If the time is right for you, you'll get something from this and if not, you won't. You really have to be in the right mood for this kind of book or you gain nothing from it, so save it for a rainy day and the right mood.


All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
All That Is Bitter and Sweet: A Memoir
Author: Ashley Judd, Maryanne Vollers
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 6/6/2013


I absolutely loved this memoir! I've always loved Ashley and I was pulled into compassion for her work. Cream of the crop among memoirs, as it gives you a lot to think about.


Amber by Night
Amber by Night
Author: Sharon Sala
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 70
Review Date: 9/9/2005


Cute story! Love just about everything Sharon Sala writes.


Amnesia
Amnesia
Author: David Best
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 6/29/2005


This was a good page turner. c2004


The Association
The Association
Author: Bentley Little
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 128
Review Date: 3/13/2007
Helpful Score: 2


One of my favorite Bentley Little books. Almost seems this could happen which is creepy!


Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Autobiography of a Fat Bride : True Tales of a Pretend Adulthood
Author: Laurie Notaro
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 291
Review Date: 11/20/2005


Fun read!


Back When We Were Grownups
Back When We Were Grownups
Author: Anne Tyler
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 251
Review Date: 7/7/2005


First Line : Once upon a time, there was a woman who discovered she had turned into the wrong person. ---
Good story, as are most of Tyler's books.


Bad Girl : Confessions of a Teenage Delinquent
Bad Girl : Confessions of a Teenage Delinquent
Author: Abigail Vona
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 22
Review Date: 7/18/2007
Helpful Score: 1


My daughter and I both read this book and both liked it BUT we wonder what we don't understand about why this gal was put in this place and why she seems to accept it in the end. I don't consider that a spoiler or wouldn't say it, in fact, I'm still thinking about it and wondering what in the world I missed here. And no, I was never a lenient parent, far from it! Still I give the book a five out of five and if you want to discuss it, just send me a pm!


Beach Roses
Beach Roses
Author: Jean Stone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 6/23/2005
Helpful Score: 1


4 women, very different, form a friendship and lasting bond.
In 2004, this was at the top of my favorite reads for a long time.


Before I Wake
Before I Wake
Author: Anne Frasier
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 68
Review Date: 7/26/2005


Started off a little slow for me but once it got rolling, I wouldn't rest until I finished the book.


A Better Woman : A Memoir
A Better Woman : A Memoir
Author: Susan Johnson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This one had been in my tbr stack(s) for some time and I finally got to it this past month. I think somewhere, somehow, she must have been related to us, because everything that could go wrong for her, certainly did. I wasn't thrilled with her writing style, but then I'm not getting paid like she is, and I'm sure that some would give it a higher mark than I do. I learned some things about the female anatomy that I didn't know and read some things about motherhood that I already did.


Bewitching Familiar
Bewitching Familiar
Author: Caroline Burnes
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2005


Abagail ends up back in Salem, MA during 1962. But she's not alone...


Beyond Belief: My Life In and Out of Scientology and My Harrowing Escape
Review Date: 9/14/2013


I was a little bit disappointed with this book. I'd wanted to read it for so long that possibly it couldn't live up to my expectations. That said, I found a lot of the details absolutely boring and yet, I cared enough about the author to want to finish the book and I did. This way of living was so crazy and abusive, but I don't think many CS people would relate, as they haven't a clue what goes on for those living totally in the CS community. I can't imagine having to be alone as much as these kids were and how these people have gotten away with is neglect and abuse is beyond my comprehension. I honestly do recommend the book, but only if you're prepared to get past a lot of details that would bore the most boring person.


Bitter Ice: A Memoir of Love, Food, and Obsession
Bitter Ice: A Memoir of Love, Food, and Obsession
Author: Barbara Kent Lawrence
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/14/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Like a wreck, you can't seem to look away from this story even though you'll feel like your last nerve has been exposed.


Blackberry Winter
Blackberry Winter
Author: Sarah Jio
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 7/17/2013


Im still not sure how I feel about this book. It was good though, despite the main character aggravating me at times. The book goes from past to present and back again but is easy enough to follow, which I liked, because normally, I dont care for that kind of story. I think I felt that Vera, the character of the past, was a little unbelievable, and as I said, she did aggravate me a bit. Overall, I did enjoy the book and Im still giving the book a 4 at least, as I did enjoy the writing style of this author.


The Book Club
The Book Club
Author: Mary Alice Monroe
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/1/2005
Helpful Score: 1


This was an excellent book, stayed on my keeper shelf for a long time.


The Book of Fortunes: Your Guide to Prediction and Fortune -Telling
Review Date: 3/13/2007


Interesting book actually.


1 to 20 of 146 - Page: