Heather J. (bookynerd) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 29 - Page:
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Abraham Lincoln: Vampire Hunter
Author: Seth Grahame-Smith
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 111
Review Date: 6/15/2012


I was really excited to read this book. It was very interesting and I really liked the author's idea of taking an historical figure and actual events and spinning it so differently. I liked the book, but it was a bit slow for me. I wanted things to progress a little faster than they did.


At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
At Grave's End (Night Huntress, Bk 3)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 479
Review Date: 4/27/2012


Once again, I loved this book and love the entire series. The author makes the characters so easy to like and doesn't go on and on about anything, just gets on with the story. They are hard to put down.


Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Covet (Fallen Angels, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 548
Review Date: 10/5/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was hesitant to read this series because I read some reviews that weren't that great. However, after reading the Black Dagger Brotherhood books, I couldn't NOT read anything that J.R. Ward has written. I really liked this book. It took me a while to catch on to what was going on because I was expecting Jim to be like the fallen angel in Lover Reborn, but once I let go of that train of thought and just went with it, I was hooked. I like that it is set in the same city as BDB and that some of the characters are the same. It eases my craving for more BDB (barely, for a few minutes...) and the ending leaves you wanting to know what happens next, clearly making way for more to come.
I love her writing style and it was a good story. I would recommend it. I just got book 2 via a swap the other day and will be reading it very soon.


Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Dark Lover (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 1)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1422
Review Date: 6/15/2012


I really loved this book. I am now on the 8th in the series and I love them all. I cannot put them down. It is a good change to read a book about vampires but not be reminded in every other paragraph that you are reading about vampires and what ever qualities that particular author has chosen for them to have, for example, the no sunlight thing, the feeding only on whatever, the eye color changes, etc., etc., etc. I love vampire books but get tired of all of the qualifications. These books have good stories and the author tells them well.


Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Darkfever (Fever, Bk 1)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 723
Review Date: 3/30/2012


I loved this book and couldn't put it down once I'd started it. If you start this book and decide you like it, I'd suggest getting your hands on the remainder of the series because you'll be wanting to read them all.


Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Dead Witch Walking (The Hollows, Bk 1)
Author: Kim Harrison
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1429
Review Date: 8/26/2012


I can't really rate this one because I couldn't get past the first couple of chapters. It just wouldn't keep my attention.


Destined For An Early Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 4)
Destined For An Early Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 4)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 377
Review Date: 4/27/2012


I have never tired of this series of books. The stories and characters are so varied, I never got bored. I couldn't put them down. Great books!


Dreams of Joy
Dreams of Joy
Author: Lisa See
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 66
Review Date: 3/30/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This was a wonderful book. I have enjoyed all of Lisa See's books. The story picked right up where the last book left off and it never got boring. All of the feelings that the characters go through feel very real and I liked the stories between the women the most. Another thing that struck me was how wild it was to think that these things were happening to people in real life such a short time ago. The hard labor, starvation and basically barbaric existence the people in the countryside lived. It left me wondering how much this is happening in the world today and we just don't pay enough attention to how people are suffering at the hands of a government that has been forced upon them. I didn't see the book as being political in any way, it was just a realization I had while reading it. She is so good at tying it all into the story and making you care. Great book.


The Dressmaker
The Dressmaker
Author: Posie Graeme-Evans
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 3/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I was excited to get this book, and started reading as soon as it arrived. I was disappointed, though, because for some reason I found it really hard to get involved with the story and the characters. I don't know if it was the writing style or what. It just ended up being so hard for me to get into that I stopped reading and didn't even get a quarter of the way in. Sorry--I really wanted to love it!


Eternal Kiss of Darkness (Night Huntress World, Bk 2)
Eternal Kiss of Darkness (Night Huntress World, Bk 2)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 259
Review Date: 4/27/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this book-it was really fun to read about one of the ancilliary characters from the Night Huntress books. I liked getting to know Mencheres, he seemed so formal and grouchy in the Cat & Bones stories, and I didn't really care for him, but in reading this book, I found that I really did like him, his story was very interesting, and I would even read more books with him as the main character. As always, the author kept the book moving at a good pace and kept me wanting to read and read and read until I was done with the whole book. Even then, I wanted to read more. I love this series of books.


Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Faefever (Fever, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 352
Review Date: 3/30/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I loved this entire series so much that I couldn't put them down once I'd started reading. It took me a bit to keep some of the characters and who/what they were straight in my mind but maybe that's just me. Either way, it didn't interfere at all with my enjoyment of the book, or any of the other books in this series. I loved them and wished they could have gone on and on!


The Highlander's Touch (Highlander, Bk 3)
The Highlander's Touch (Highlander, Bk 3)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 33
Review Date: 8/16/2012


This whole series is very entertaining and easy to read. They are all a little similar as far as the basic plot goes, but I like a good happy ending and escape so it was good for me! I wish I would have read these prior to reading the Fever series. They have so much information that pertains to the storylines there--not super-important information necessary to enjoy the Fever books, but just interesting links and facts.
Great book!


In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
In the Woods (Dublin Murder Squad, Bk 1)
Author: Tana French
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 809
Review Date: 4/27/2012


I did think this was a well written story, even though I found it to be pretty depressing and I was unsatisfied with the ending. Sometimes that's the way the author wants it, I guess.
I did decide, after reading this book, that I would not likely read the next book(s) in the series, though.
I guess I like a happier ending.


Kiss of the Highlander (Highlander, Bk 4)
Kiss of the Highlander (Highlander, Bk 4)
Author: Karen Marie Moning
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 104
Review Date: 8/26/2012


I loved this book as I have the rest of the series. I really enjoy the writing style and flow. The characters are easy to like and fun.


Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 7)
Lover Avenged (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 7)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 432
Review Date: 7/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I wasn't sure how much I would like this story in the BDB series because I've not been a huge fan of Rehvenge in the other books, however, I was immediately hooked and I loved every bit of it. I love this series and this story was another great one.


Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Lover Awakened (Black Dagger Brotherhood, Bk 3)
Author: J. R. Ward
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.5/5 Stars.
 1255
Review Date: 7/1/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I love this series of books and I really loved this story. I couldn't put it down.


Maine
Maine
Author: J. Courtney Sullivan
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 75
Review Date: 4/27/2012
Helpful Score: 6


I waited and waited to get this book, almost went ahead and bought it a couple of times. I really really really wanted to like this book. Unfortunately, I couldn't even force myself to be interested in the characters or care what was going to happen to them or why. I'm not sure if it was the state of mind I was in when I started reading, or what, but it just didn't do anything for me. I didn't care about the characters and therefore found it hard to keep their intertwining story lines straight. I didn't even finish the book. Sorry-I was truly excited to get it and really wanted to love it.


The Marriage Bargain (Marriage to a Billionaire, Bk 1)
The Marriage Bargain (Marriage to a Billionaire, Bk 1)
Author: Jennifer Probst
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 10/9/2012
Helpful Score: 2


This book was okay. I liked the story and the writing, etc., but I think it felt like it was something that the author tried to cram into as few pages as possible and so there wasn't much time to really develop the relationships enough to make it believeable. You just kind of keep going along with it because you want to see how it turns out. It was a good story, but I think it could have been better with a little more details, even if they were secondary.


My Name is Memory
My Name is Memory
Author: Ann Brashares
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 34
Review Date: 3/5/2012
Helpful Score: 2


I really did not enjoy this book. I thought I would, I had heard so many good things about it. For some reason, I just couldn't get hooked into the story. It seemed like I was waiting for the point and it never came. I feel bad about it, because I really wanted to like it, but I was disappointed.


One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 2)
One Foot in the Grave (Night Huntress, Bk 2)
Author: Jeaniene Frost
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 558
Review Date: 4/27/2012


I loved this entire series of books. They are fast paced and I love all of the characters. I couldn't stop reading. I am glad that I didn't become aware of these books until most of them were already published because I would have hated waiting for a new one to come out.


1 to 20 of 29 - Page: