Beverly D. - Reviews

1 to 12 of 12
Bath Tangle
Bath Tangle
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 37
Review Date: 10/17/2014


This is a totally delightful Georgette Heyer romance...one of her best (and she has many great ones.) Her heroine, Serena Spenborough, is intelligent, capable, strong-willed, and, of course, beautiful. When her father dies, he leaves her considerable inheritance under the trusteeship of her ex-fiance. She moves to Bath with her step-mother, the lovely, but timid, Fanny (who is younger than Serena) and adventures ensue.
It is a wonderful escape from real life. Enjoy!!


Beauvallet
Beauvallet
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/19/2012


This was not my favorite Georgette Heyer book. It is set in Elizabethan times, rather than her usual Victorian times, and she spends a lot of time describing dress and history...neither of which is a bad thing, if you enjoy it. It did have a typical love story with a strong heroine and many adventures, and many of her books do.


Bel Canto (P.S.)
Bel Canto (P.S.)
Author: Ann Patchett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 10/30/2013


This book was interesting and informative on many levels...kidnapping/hostages; music; Japanese and other cultures; South America. I rate the books I read on a scale of 10. I gave bel canto a 9.


The Best Defense (Barbara Holloway, Bk 2)
The Best Defense (Barbara Holloway, Bk 2)
Author: Kate Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 32
Review Date: 9/3/2011


Kate Wilhelm has the ability to create characters that the reader cares about. In this book Barbara Holloway, Oregon lawyer, defends a battered woman, who took her baby to a home providing shelter to such women. The home is burned down, and the woman is labeled a "Baby Killer." Barbara, her lawyer-father Frank, and their investigator, Bailey, find neighbors who think women should be subservient to their husbands, and another who has a gun testing range. An excellent read.


Boundary Waters (Cork O'Connor, No 2)
Boundary Waters (Cork O'Connor, No 2)
Author: William Kent Krueger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 5/9/2016


An early William Kent Kreuger book featuring Cork O'Conner, who is asked by three men to help find Shiloh, a famous country singer, who is lost in the boundary waters of Minnesota and Canada. All three men claim to be her father. Kreuger is knowledgeable and sympathetic to the Native Americans in the area, and they are featured in all the books of his that I've read. There are characters to care about and the setting is interesting and authentic.


The Color of Light
The Color of Light
Author: Karen White
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 138
Review Date: 10/30/2013


A bit mysterious, a bit supernatural, definitely a romance and a study of relationships...friends, mother/daughter, etc. It was a fun read...as are most of Karen White's books.


Death Qualified (Barbara Holloway, Bk 1)
Death Qualified (Barbara Holloway, Bk 1)
Author: Kate Wilhelm
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 74
Review Date: 11/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


This book is a good introduction to the Barbara Holloway series. Kate Wilhelm has created a brilliant lawyer with a conscience, and personal problems that she must deal with, while solving other people's very complicated problems.
This book involves her defending a woman accused of killing her husband, who has returned after disappearing for 7 years.
I enjoyed it very much.


the devil's cub
the devil's cub
Author: georgette heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 11/11/2011
Helpful Score: 1


A delightful Georgette Heyer romance, with a principled heroine dealing with a rather unprincipled hero. Heyer's books are perfect for escape reading, and learning a bit about Victorian England. She is a master of complicated scenarios and convoluted plots.


An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey, Bk 1)
An Expert in Murder (Josephine Tey, Bk 1)
Author: Nicola Upson
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 1/19/2012
Helpful Score: 1


This was a clever use of a real person as a character in a fictional book. I got the book because I am a fan of Josephine Tey. This was not as good as a Tey book (in my opinion), but it was an enjoyable read.


Frederica
Frederica
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 56
Review Date: 10/8/2014


If one enjoys Georgette Heyer books, this is one of her best. Frederica is a strong, intelligent woman with a delightful family, for whom she is in charge. Heyer is a master of detail for Victorian era stories, and her books make you laugh and want to personally know the characters.


The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society
Author: Mary Ann Shaffer, Annie Barrows
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.6/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/15/2011


This was an amazing book. We discussed it in a Book Group, to which I belong, and everyone loved it.
This is a book that teaches history, in a fascinating way. It details the occupation by the Germans of Guernsey Island during WWII, through a series of letters written after the end of the war.
The characters are interesting people, that you would like to know, and about whom you care. I highly recommend this book.


The Reluctant Widow
The Reluctant Widow
Author: Georgette Heyer
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/28/2012


I really like to escape with a Georgette Heyer book. This one was good, but not among her best. Her characters were not as engaging as they sometimes are (e.g. "Black Sheep".)


1 to 12 of 12