STEPHANIE S. (4Stephie) - Reviews

1 to 15 of 15
7 Habits of Highly Effective People (Audio CD) (Abridged)
7 Habits of Highly Effective People (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Stephen R. Covey
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 3/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed listening to this in the car. It helped me examine my priorities and how to better manage my daily commitments. Given my busy life, I would not have taken the time to sit and read this book. I found that listening to it instead was the perfect solution!


Atkins for Life: The Complete Controlled-Carb Program for Permanent Weight Loss and Good Health
Review Date: 1/27/2013


I found listening to this book in the car was helpful in that it reinforced my food choices while on the road. I would recommend this to someone who is either already following a low carb plan or wanting to learn more information on the subject. The author includes lots of success stories which is motivating!


Bud's Easy Research Paper Computer Manual for Macintosh
Bud's Easy Research Paper Computer Manual for Macintosh
Author: Alvin Baron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 6/20/2010


Very helpful since I wasn't use to using a Mac. Made my paper writing days much easier.


Burnt Toast: and Other Philosophies of Life (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Review Date: 1/27/2013


I enjoyed this book. It was light, funny, and did actually contain a few good life lessons. Great for the drive to and from work.


Dedication
Dedication
Author: Nicola Kraus and Emma McLaughlin
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 3/5/2013
Helpful Score: 1


I enjoyed this book. It took me a few chapters to get into it, but then I really liked it. The book does move back and forth from the past to the present. Sometimes this format is hard for me to follow, but I was able to with this book. If you don't get this book for yourself, get it for your teenage or twenties daughter or niece. They will love it. It really taps into feelings of young love. For me, I liked being reminded of what it felt like to be hopeless in love again.


The Devil Wears Prada
The Devil Wears Prada
Author: Lauren Weisberger
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 2/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


If you love the movie (or movies like this), then you will love the book. Very witty and kept me sitting in my driveway listening to it! My husband thought that I was nuts!


Girl Friday
Girl Friday
Author: Jane Green
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was one of the best books that I have listened to lately. I love Jane Green and this is one of her bests. The story and narration were terrific. Sometimes, I get annoyed with the narrator's voice, but I did not find this to be the case. There are many subplots within this book. In a less well-written book, these subplots can be confusing and frustrating. I did not find this to be the case with this book! If I had to target an audience, I would guess that women in their 30 and 40's would like this book. Highly recommend!


Girlfriends Get Together: Food, Frolic, and Fun Times
Review Date: 2/2/2013


I enjoyed many of the recipes in this book. Some of my favorites were butterscotch-pecan blondies, chicken cashew nut salad on sourdough bread, and fruit tart!


The Little Book of Quitting
The Little Book of Quitting
Author: Allen Carr
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 2/2/2013


This is a great accompaniment to Allen Carr's full size book on smoking cessation. I kept this in my purse and whipped it out when I had a craving. I'm officially DONE smoking cigarettes!


Mini-Shopaholic
Mini-Shopaholic
Author: Sophie Kinsella
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/10/2013


I really liked this book. It was light and funny, great for the drive to and from work. I've read the rest of the Shopaholic books and this one builds on the others nicely. Definitely recommend this one!


The Mr. & Mrs. Happy Handbook (Audio CD) (Abridged)
The Mr. & Mrs. Happy Handbook (Audio CD) (Abridged)
Author: Steve Doocy, Kathy Doocy
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 2/2/2013


I really enjoyed listening to this book. I especially found it helpful to listen to on my way home after a hard day's work. I usually arrived home with a better attitude and, hence, a better relationship at dinner time!


The Other Woman (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
The Other Woman (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Author: Jane Green, Josephine Bailey (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 28
Review Date: 1/13/2013


I am an avid book "listener" and I truly enjoyed this book. The narrator was especially good and really made the book "come alive." I laughed, I (nearly) cried, and I often sat in my driveway after already arriving home to continue listening. As a person who is nearly married with a mother-in-law of her own, I truly related to this book!


The Privilege of Youth: A Teenager's Story of Longing for Acceptance and Friendship (Audio CD) (Unabridged)
Review Date: 2/2/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This book is wonderful although it is a tearjerker. I found it helpful in understanding some of the youth that I work with.


Twenties Girl (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Twenties Girl (Abridged) (Audio CD)
Author: Sophie Kinsella, Rosalyn Landor (Narrator)
Book Type: Audio CD
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 11/3/2010


I loved this book. It was different and refreshing. I listened to it on long drives for work; it made the time fly by!

Stephanie


Walden Two
Walden Two
Author: B. F. Skinner
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 2/2/2013


This has been one of my favorite books for many years now. I have actually reread it which I never do. I would definitely recommend this to anyone who is interested in the social sciences.


1 to 15 of 15