Reviews - Kim B.

1 to 20 of 31 - Page:
Abduction
Abduction
Author: Robin Cook
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 10/5/2006


"This is one of the dumbest, most derivative and insulting sci-fi books I've ever read! It gives all the indications of being a contractual obligation novel--probably an early manuscript of Cook's that was rightly rejected for all the aforementioned faults. I dare you to read it and tell me otherwise. It's yours, gratis! Too bad there are no negative star ratings.

This is a British printing (thank you, Heathrow airport) and I have to say the cover is ten times better than the American version. Even though it has nothing to do with the story."


The Alien Years
The Alien Years
Author: Robert Silverberg
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 8/17/2006


"An engaging read, although the author didn't seem to know how to resolve his story of alien invasion."


Another Chance to Dream (De Piaget, Bk 1)
Another Chance to Dream (De Piaget, Bk 1)
Author: Lynn Kurland
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 137
Review Date: 8/17/2006


"I like lots of her other books, but this one wasn't my cup of tea. Unless you like romances where the heroine is forced to marry someone else. It's actually quote romantic, but not very satisfying if you like seeing your hero and heroine actually get to be together sometimes."


Ask For It (Georgian, Bk 1)
Ask For It (Georgian, Bk 1)
Author: Sylvia Day
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 3/7/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I quit reading this book after about 100 pages -- possibly a new record! I found it boring, confusing, and idiotic and just couldn't bring myself to care about any of the one-dimensional characters. Don't waste your time with it."


Bet Me
Bet Me
Author: Jennifer Crusie
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 865
Review Date: 3/7/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"I think I'm the only person in the world who didn't love this book. It had its moments, yeah, and was mildly funny. But I couldn't relate to any of the characters, everyone seemed to have the same snarky sense of humor, 90% of the book was dialog -- which started to wear me down -- and overall it seemed glib and self-conscious. Others found the food themes to be delightful, but after the fifth or sixth mention, they just felt like a crutch (likewise the stray cat). All that said, Crusie is still a much better writer than most modern romance authors -- I just wish that were a bigger compliment."


Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth, Book 3)
Blood of the Fold (Sword of Truth, Book 3)
Author: Terry Goodkind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 491
Review Date: 10/5/2006


"Book 3 in the series. When will they end?"


Blue Moon Rising (Darkwood, Bk 1)
Blue Moon Rising (Darkwood, Bk 1)
Author: Simon R. Green
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 41
Review Date: 8/17/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"A fractured fairy tale about a virginal hero, a talking dragon, and a not-so-virginal ass-kicking princess. Cute, if a bit weak at times."


Bold Destiny
Bold Destiny
Author: Jane Feather
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 4/9/2007
2 member(s) found this review helpful.


"She's a good writer, but this is long on history and short on romance."


The Constant Gardener
The Constant Gardener
Author: John le Carre
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 51
Review Date: 9/14/2006


"Simply brilliant. LeCarre at his best."


The Dream Wedding (Fortune Cookie) (Harlequin Intrigue No. 445)
The Dream Wedding (Fortune Cookie) (Harlequin Intrigue No. 445)
Author: M. J. Rodgers
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/31/2006


"Meh."


The Eyes of God (Eyes of God, Bk 1)
The Eyes of God (Eyes of God, Bk 1)
Author: John Marco
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 8/17/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"There are plenty of things to like about this book, which is heavily based on the Arthurian love triangle story. But ultimately it seemed unsatisfying and weird. I wanted to like it more than I did. The writing seemed flat in a lot of places."


Honest Illusions
Honest Illusions
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 110
Review Date: 2/12/2007
4 member(s) found this review helpful.


"This book started out fine, but by the middle I was rolling my eyes, and by the end I was actively cursing it.

Main problem: Romance between two people who grow up together like siblings. Ick! Second problem: Contrived, cartoonish villain. Third problem: Story about jewel theives who justify grand larceny by telling themselves (and the reader) that it's OK because rich people can afford to replace the jewels and the insurance will cover it anyway. Also, there is absolutely no tension in any of the jewel heist scenes because they never get caught and nothing ever goes wrong and they never have the tiniest bit of remorse about any of it. I don't demand that a story where theives are the main characters have a lot of moralizing, but a wee bit of realism wouldn't have hurt.

I'm disappointed because everyone says Nora Roberts is the queen of romance novels and yet I found this book facile, creepy, and boring."


Kiss Me, Annabel  (Four Sisters, Bk 2)
Kiss Me, Annabel (Four Sisters, Bk 2)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 3/7/2007
6 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Meh.

She's a good writer, but this story lacked a center. I think I'm starting to hate Scottish heroes who are inevitably forced to go south to find a moneyed bride to support their crumbling castle and crabby retainers. Who feel like poncey lap-dogs in knee breeches, when they'd much rather be letting their tackle swing in the breeze under a manly kilt, etc., etc. Or maybe it's worse when they just pretend to be gold-digging, raunchy barbarians."


Lady of Desire (Knight Miscellany, Bk 4)
Lady of Desire (Knight Miscellany, Bk 4)
Author: Gaelen Foley
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 167
Review Date: 8/17/2006
3 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Somewhat half-assed. The hero was more fun when he was a thief living in the stews. When he puts on fancy clothes and assumes his title, he loses most of his appeal."


Lady of Sin (Seducer, Bk 7)
Lady of Sin (Seducer, Bk 7)
Author: Madeline Hunter
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 8/17/2006


"Boring. All the sex happens before the book starts."


The Lady's Tutor
The Lady's Tutor
Author: Robin Schone
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 50
Review Date: 2/26/2007
5 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not as dumb as it sounds. I enjoyed it reasonably well. However, she lays on the villainy of the villains a bit thick at the end. Not to mention perpetuating a certain stereotype of homosexuality that I found somewhat offensive."


Much Ado In the Moonlight (MacLeod Family, Bk 9)
Much Ado In the Moonlight (MacLeod Family, Bk 9)
Author: Lynn Kurland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 170
Review Date: 3/7/2007
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Did not finish. One of those books that seems to depend heavily on your having read the others in the series. Boring and pointless with lots of bizarre ghost characters that comment on and meddle in the proceedings. Ugh."


An Offer From a Gentleman (Bridgerton Bk 3)
An Offer From a Gentleman (Bridgerton Bk 3)
Author: Julia Quinn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 588
Review Date: 8/17/2006


"Another of Quinn's Bridgerton clan books. Well-written but not as much fun as "Romacing Mr. Bridgerton.""


Pleasure For Pleasure (Essex Sisters, Bk 4)
Pleasure For Pleasure (Essex Sisters, Bk 4)
Author: Eloisa James
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 289
Review Date: 12/31/2006
1 member(s) found this review helpful.


"Not the best of the series, although I had high hopes. There's an awful lot of yacking and not much action, ultimately."


Scandal in Spring (Wallflowers, Bk 4)
Scandal in Spring (Wallflowers, Bk 4)
Author: Lisa Kleypas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 684
Review Date: 8/17/2006


"Not as good as "Devil in Winter," but engaging and sweet."


1 to 20 of 31 - Page: