keweenawkim - Reviews

1 to 10 of 10
The Book of Lost Things
The Book of Lost Things
Author: John Connolly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/30/2013


This was a wonderful tale. If you have ever been so immursed in a book that you felt as if you had traveled to another place then you will appreciate this story. It is part altered fairy tale, part adventure. If you are a person who loves books and reading this will speak volumes to you.
A young boy travels to another reality thru the forrest outside the house. There he encounters many characters we thought we knew from the stories we all heard growing up.... but each has a unique twist as it plays a part in the whole. All I can tell you is this was one of those books that once you finish it you are sad it is over. And then you go back and read it again!!!!


The Forgotten Garden
The Forgotten Garden
Author: Kate Morton
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 160
Review Date: 11/30/2013
Helpful Score: 1


Not really knowing what this book was about I was unprepared for the journey it would take me on. Set in three eras and following the lives of two women across two continents it might have been confusing. But each chapter had a place and time as the title and each woman had a distinctive voice so there was not trouble. An epic historical mystery that gave away none of its secrets until the proper time. Kate Morton creates portals back and forth in time and place and introduces us to two interesting strong female characters whose lives were different but who shared an incredible bond. Beautifully written. Fans of historical fiction and mystery both will enjoy this book.


A Gift upon the Shore
A Gift upon the Shore
Author: M. K. Wren
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.8/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 9/4/2014
Helpful Score: 1


This is a tale of survival, non romantic love, devotion both to an idea and to a religion. The story is set after mankind has finally managed to drop the bomb and very nearly destroy itself. The brief period portrayed prior to the End is too much like the world we now see around us. The crisis quickly accelerates into world distruction. M.K. Wren does an amazing job of detailing the various stages of post nucular life over several decades. For those of us born in the shadow of The Bomb it is the stuff of nightmares. The two female characters are engaging and you will love them. If you love books you should read this novel. I recommend it to anyone who enjoys reading about humanity surviving a global disaster. It will give you hope.


The Hobbit: Or, There and Back Again
The Hobbit: Or, There and Back Again
Author: J. R. R. Tolkien
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 274
Review Date: 11/30/2013


So much has been written about The Lord of the Rings yet so little about its prequel The Hobbit. I fortunately came to Tolkien via The Hobbit first. Not as ambitious as the trilogy yet just as engrossing. In this one volume you meet many variety of races, go on a journey with the reluctant Bibo Baggins, battle trolls, orcs, spiders, evil elves and of course Smaug the dragon!I was lucky enough to have this be the first book that transported me from our world to a realm vivid with colorful characters, landscape and adventures.There isn't as many all out battles or the darkness of the trilogy but there is plenty of adventure to be had. If you liked the Trilogy and haven't experianced The Hobbit, you owe it to yourself to go back a generation and find out who Bilbo was and what he had to do with the One Ring!!!!


The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards, Bk 1)
The Lies of Locke Lamora (Gentleman Bastards, Bk 1)
Author: Scott Lynch
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 141
Review Date: 9/4/2014


This is not your average fantasy offering! The story of Locke Lamora and the Gentleman Bastards is fresh, humorous, surprising and filled with interesting characters. The story follows a very young waif who is recruited into a gang of theives in a society filled with many such gangs. Locke proves himself early on as a gifted liar and thief. When he is sold to a rival gang because he is too much for the head of his current band he finds his niche. The first in a trilogy I was swept away into this world of high class, versitile con artists. Set in a haunting world filled with items of old magic which sometimes seems like abandoned technology sometimes aiding and sometime detering Locke in his games to con the rich. I am not a fan of the formula fantasy novel. I recommend this to anyone who is looking for great world building, unpredicatable plots, humorous characters with a fresh twist. I can't wait to read the next book!


NOS4A2
NOS4A2
Author: Joe Hill
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 10/20/2014


I choose this book first because I loved the title, it was clever and hinted of vampires. I wont say it isn't a good book, but I will say that I was disappointed in it. There is no question that Joe Hill is a good writer, he is just not to my taste. It could be I am of the wrong generation for his writing. The story is very interesting. I really liked where the story went and it was definitely a fresh take on the vampire storyline. My real complaint would be that it didn't seem to have much in the way of back story, it moved right along but left me wanting details. I wanted to know more about the characters and to have more interaction with them when they weren't involved in the action of the story. For a younger reader (15 to 30 years old) it might be a great read as the younger generation absorbs their information in smaller bites and at a quicker pace. I like to linger in a story, spend time in the world with the characters. Not a bad book, but not a good one either.


The Republic of Thieves (Gentleman Bastards, Bk 3)
The Republic of Thieves (Gentleman Bastards, Bk 3)
Author: Scott Lynch
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 10/20/2014


The third book in Scott Lynch's Gentleman Bastard series is set in the venue of politics and the stage. As always Lynch sets up the story to be told on two timelines, one featuring the characters as adults and one remembering a storyline from their youths. I really like this treatment of a tale. Using the two timelines the author creates rich and multifaceted characters. In this adventure Locke and Jean must match wits against their former gang member and friend Sabitha. They are pitted against each other on opposite sides of a political race and the tricks they use in their pursuit of the end goal are wonderful. I always enjoy the antics they get up to while conning their marks. In the past we see the more complete gang of Gentlemen Bastards being sent off to a far away village to help a theater company owner who is trouble with the locals. They are sent on this journey by their mentor Father Cains who has had enough of their teenage bickering and decides that they need to learn how to work together as adults.... somewhere away from him. I truly enjoyed this book and am anxiously awaiting book four. If you enjoyed the others in the series you'll love this one too. If you are a Patrick Rothfuss fan you will enjoy this series as well.


The Stand
The Stand
Author: Stephen King
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 39
Review Date: 5/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This is one of those truly exceptional books that I recommend to everyone no matter what kind of reading they normally prefer.

I don't want to go into too much detail as that would spoil the experiance. Just know that this is not a "horror" book it is more of an epic post apocalyptic story. If you have never read King you should read this one book. If you are not a fan of horror you might have overlooked King since that is what he is best known for. He is a exceptional writer, one that shouldn't be missed. Once in awhile he puts out a book that may be freightening but is not horror. Those are his best works. This is the best of the best.

The story takes place after a very nasty virus created by the government gets loose. This virus kills most of the people in America (maybe the world too?) But not everyone. For some unknown reason there are people who don't die. You start following several of them from across the country as they try to make sense of what happened and start learning to live in a world that is mostly deserted. The book made me think about how interconnected we all are as a society and how helpless we would be without each other. We all play a part in the big picture.

This a huge book so it will take a bit of time. It is worth it. There is danger, mystery, some scary things, humor,good, evil, survival, renewal and throughout it all Stephen King's amazing talent for creating a world that we all can relate to.


The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
The Storied Life of A. J. Fikry
Author: Gabrielle Zevin
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 53
Review Date: 10/28/2014


I wasn't sure what to expect from this book. It is a slim volume, only 260 pages.it begins in the middle of a bookstore owners life, at a particular low point, and follows through all of life's many twists and turns. I was surprised by several points in the plot. The story moves along very quickly which keeps it interesting. I found the characters likable. The story touched my emotions on a few levels. Overall I truly enjoyed this book. I would recommend it to just about anyone but particularly parents and booklovers. If you love reading you'll love this book.


Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Wicked (Wicked Years, Bk 1)
Author: Gregory Maguire
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 127
Review Date: 5/8/2013
Helpful Score: 1


This was an amazing read! As a child of the sixties I grew up anticipating the time once a year when The Wizard of Oz would be on TV (remember time before DVD and TiVo?) And as much as she scared me the Wicked Witch was my favorite character. I picked this book up having never heard of it, scanned the back cover and thought.... what the heck? It had me from the first chapter. Once I let go of my previous Oz references and let Maguire show me a truly expanded Oz I was mesmerized. It is what I think of as a "smart" read meaning that there was alot that made me think. There were parts out of my comfort zone...I struggled with the few political paragraphs as I am not a political person. I like a book that expands my horizons, opens me up to new ideas especially if they are as well written as this one is. If you are an Oz fan you should definitely visit it thru Wicked and the other three books in the series. If you like altered Fairy tales you will enjoy this book as well!


1 to 10 of 10