Pam M. (buttonsandbooks) - Reviews

1 to 16 of 16
200 Low-Carb Slow Cooker Recipes: Healthy Dinners That Are Ready When You Are!
Review Date: 11/1/2013
Helpful Score: 2


I just got a copy of this and it does have some nice recipes, but I have a word of warning.

Some of the recipes call for ingredients such as Splenda in fairly large quantities which while it may taste good, is considered to be an artificial sweetener.

Some recipes also call for sugar free products containing sugar alcohols or polyols. Sugar alcohols can cause digestive distress.

So if you're looking for what I call "clean" recipes you may want to avoid this cookbook or modify the recipes a bit.


All Things at Once
All Things at Once
Author: Mika Brzezinski
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 9/10/2011


I really enjoyed this book. Mika takes the reader for an interesting ride - from being the daughter of a very famous yet grounded family through her years in broadcast journalism to the place where she finally found the proper fit with Morning Joe.

She shares what it's like to have a high energy, high profile position and raise a family. I read it in two nights and felt lucky to be able to make the journey along with her.


Arc of Justice : A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age
Review Date: 8/15/2015


Kevin Boyle does an excellent job of framing this story. It really comes to life on the page. Stands with the best books written about about the legacy and the cost of segregation. A riveting read.


Big & Rich: All Access
Big & Rich: All Access
Author: Allen Rucker, Big Kenny, John Rich
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 8/9/2010


A great book for fans, it comes with a DVD.


Cash : The Autobiography
Cash : The Autobiography
Author: Johnny Cash
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 9/7/2013
Helpful Score: 1


My Mom watched Johnny Cash's television show when I was growing up so I knew of J C from an early age. This autobiography does not disappoint.

I disagree with the reviewer who said that Johnny wrote more about others than himself. He shares a lot about himself and his influences. He has great insights and spoke honestly about his addictions.

I found this to be a great and enjoyable read!


Crockery Cookery
Crockery Cookery
Author: Mable Hoffman
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 26
Review Date: 5/17/2009


Handy for bringing shopping and the recipes are great!


Figure It Out! The Real Woman's Guide to Great Style
Figure It Out! The Real Woman's Guide to Great Style
Author: Geri Brin, Tish Jett
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/16/2010
Helpful Score: 1


I got this book and it has great tips for picking the proper style for my body type. Very helpful, well written.


The Frugal Gourmet
The Frugal Gourmet
Author: Jeff Smith
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 43
Review Date: 5/17/2009


I always keep a copy of this book around, I love the recipes and the suggestions. Jeff Smith was great, one of a kind!


I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections (Vintage)
I Remember Nothing: And Other Reflections (Vintage)
Author: Nora Ephron
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 21
Review Date: 1/2/2015


A great, soulful, quick read. Loved it!


My Cross to Bear
My Cross to Bear
Author: Gregg Allman
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 12/28/2013


Got this for Christmas and finished it in two days. It fills in a lot of the missing pieces in Gregg's and the bank's history. It's nice to hear his side of things. I walked away having respect for the guy despite his many excesses. It's a good read.


Scars of Sweet Paradise : The Life and Times of Janis Joplin
Scars of Sweet Paradise : The Life and Times of Janis Joplin
Author: Alice Echols
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 9
Review Date: 6/19/2014


This is a great book in that it provides a lot of information about the time and places that are the backdrop for Janis'short life and the things that drove her to excess. I enjoyed the writer's style immensely.

I highly reccomend this book.


Somewhere in Heaven: The Remarkable Love Story of Dana and Christopher Reeve
Review Date: 10/15/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Very touching book, a great read!


Success With Houseplants
Success With Houseplants
Author: Reader's Digest Editors
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 6/29/2010


This is a great houseplant book with great color plates for easy identification. I used it A LOT when I first started raising plants indoors. I would highly recommend it!


Trans-Sister Radio
Trans-Sister Radio
Author: Chris Bohjalian
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 184
Review Date: 6/7/2012


I liked it more than I thought I would, it held my interest. I don't read a lot of fiction.

The story was set in an area I'm familiar with as my in-laws have lived in South Burlington for the 30+ years I've known them. I would recommend this book.


The Warmth of Other Suns: The Epic Story of America's Great Migration
Review Date: 4/19/2015
Helpful Score: 1


This is a long book, but well worth the read. I couldn't put it down and I feel after reading it that I have a new perspective on this part of our nation's history.

It is so well researched and helps to put in perspective the struggles of African Americans and how those struggles relate even to our present day.

I understand why it has a wish list on PBS of over 300 people. I absolutely loved the book!


When the Troll Heard the Squeak
When the Troll Heard the Squeak
Author: Kevin Hawkes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/2/2009


This is a nice book:

Here are two of the customer reviews from amazon:

5.0 out of 5 stars Loved it!, April 13, 2005
By Christi Solomon "cool book junkie" (Taylor, Az) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Then the Troll Heard the Squeak (Library Binding)
We've had this book for a long time, and we love it! My kids think it is hilarious, especially the pictures. My personal favorite is the cranky grandma sitting in bed when the walls start shaking from Miss Terry jumping on her bed. The wall paper in each room kind of describes the person in each room and in her room it has crabs all over it! Maybe I have a weird sense of funny. Kevin illustrates with such attention to detail-things you wouldn't think of. Theres not a lot of words, but who needs them when the pictures say it all. There is another good one that he has illustrated that I didn't find here...Lady Bugatti, by Joyce Maxner.



5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful book!, December 31, 2002
By "inertiafactor" (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: When the Troll Heard the Squeak (Hardcover)
This book is one of my most favourite children's books. It is a simple little rhyme about Miss Terry who jumps on her squeaky bed and wreaks havok through out the entire house. Until the Troll, who lives in the basement, hears the squeak and sets off to deal with Miss Terry himself. The illustrations are wonderful. I took this book to read to my four year olds when I worked in a daycare, and they asked for it again and again whenever storytime came around. You can't ask for a better recomendation than that!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Report this | Permalink
Comment Comment


1 to 16 of 16