Sarah L. (soelo) - Reviews

1 to 14 of 14
The Book of Lost Things
The Book of Lost Things
Author: John Connolly
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 73
Review Date: 11/8/2012


This was a very gory book.


Cuban Heels
Cuban Heels
Author: Emily Barr
Book Type: Paperback
  ?
Review Date: 8/24/2009


This book is also known as Cuba. This is a great book that takes a few unexpected turns. In comparing this to Barr' other books that I have read, I'd say it is better than Solo (aka Atlantic Shift), about as good as Baggage, but not quite as good as Backpack.

It does take them a while to get to Cuba in the book, but I really liked the descriptions of Havana once they were there.


The Cursed Heir
The Cursed Heir
Author: Morgan Rhodes
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/27/2018


This book has been cancelled according to Morgan's Tumblr: http://morganrhodes.tumblr.com/post/174053518407/the-fate-of-spirits-thieves-3


Geektastic: Stories from the Nerd Herd
Review Date: 11/9/2011


Some of these stories are pretty good and some are, well, too long. Like many short story collections, many of them take too long to lay out the characters and setting and not enough time on the plot. I Never, Quiz Bowl, Everyone But You and The Stars at the Finish Line are my favorites.


The Golem's Eye (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 2)
The Golem's Eye (Bartimaeus Trilogy, Bk 2)
Author: Jonathan Stroud
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 139
Review Date: 8/24/2012


It took me a little longer than usual to read this book, but in a good way. Amulet was good and interesting, but I think Golem's Eye was a little better. I enjoyed the three different points of view and the story of Kitty's indoctrination. While the reader gets some satisfaction from the revenge that is applied to some characters, there is still plenty of the moral ambivalence that we saw in Amulet. A great adventure overall, and I can't want to read Ptolemy.


The Hanging Tree
The Hanging Tree
Author: Ben Aaronovitch
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 12/25/2016


This is a great addition to Peter's story and the new characters are interesting and add to the intrigue. I was able to get a copy from Amazon's used section because this has been released in the UK but not the US yet. I tried to get it new from Amazon UK but the order was cancelled after shipping with no explanation.


The Night Circus
The Night Circus
Author: Erin Morgenstern
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 205
Review Date: 2/23/2013


I loved this book, but it is hard to pinpoint why. The real world and the fantastic overlap in a believable way. The descriptions of the atmosphere of the circus were rich and detailed without getting tedious. The plot is not strictly linear, but it does follow a certain logic. Except for the antagonists, all of the characters are likeable or at least admirable without being Pollyannas.


The Oracle of Stamboul (P.S.)
The Oracle of Stamboul (P.S.)
Author: Michael David Lukas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/17/2012


As much as I loved this book, I kept waiting for the story to start. There are lots of detailed descriptions of Istanbul that bring the city alive.


Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography
Stories I Only Tell My Friends: An Autobiography
Author: Rob Lowe
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 62
Review Date: 8/30/2011
Helpful Score: 4


I found this book interesting even though I was only ever a casual fan of Lowe. He will start telling a story and then tell you who the famous person was at the end of the anecdote several times. I thought that might get tiresome, but it didn't. I was surprised to learn about his royal relationship and the way he talks about rehab and his family was really sweet. Lowe is hilarious in Parks & Rec and he explains how the comedic part of career came about after hosting Saturday Night Live.


Storybound
Storybound
Author: Marissa Burt
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/25/2012


This is an interesting twist on the concept of fairy tales and stories in general. Things start a bit slow, but pick up to a normal pace in the middle of the book. The ending is quite a cliffhanger for the next book, Story's End.


The Time Travelers (Gideon Trilogy, Bk 1)
The Time Travelers (Gideon Trilogy, Bk 1)
Author: Linda Buckley-Archer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 24
Review Date: 7/8/2017


The first book in a wonderful series. If you like history and fantasy, this book is right up your alley. It is geared towards middle grade readers.


The View from Saturday
The View from Saturday
Author: E. L. Konigsburg
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 59
Review Date: 5/15/2012
Helpful Score: 1


I went into this thinking it was going to be a Fantasy story, but it wasn't. It was a very good story, though. I like how each section is told by a different character but they each build on the others. I think Nadia's section was my favorite


Wanderlust
Wanderlust
Author: Chris Dyer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 40
Review Date: 10/31/2010


I found the writing style pretty annoying. The story would have been much better told in a straightforward manner than as emails.


Wish You Were Here #4 (Benjamin Bartholomew Piff)
Review Date: 11/17/2012


It seems that this book is only available on the NOOK.


1 to 14 of 14