Kitty S. (KittyS) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 23 - Page:
The Ambler Warning
The Ambler Warning
Author: Robert Ludlum
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 221
Review Date: 7/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was an engrossing, thrilling read.


Amen Corner
Amen Corner
Author: Rick Shefchik
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 8/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


The author is from Minnesota; the Minnesota references are especially fun for us Minnesota readers, and the behind-the-scenes look at the Masters was cool.


At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
At Risk (Winston Garano, Bk 1)
Author: Patricia Cornwell
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 362
Review Date: 7/24/2007


Patricia Cornwell is a pleasure to read. She knows all the details, with her background in forensic science. I read all her books.


Big If
Big If
Author: Mark Costello
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/24/2007


A really really good behind-the-scenes look at what the lives of Secret Service bodyguards are like - not all glamour, which is what my picture had been till I read this.


Buddenbrooks
Buddenbrooks
Author: Thomas Mann
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 4/6/2007


Thomas Mann was awarded the Nobel Prize for Literature. If you enjoy his writing, you'll treasure this book.


Death Match
Death Match
Author: Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 194
Review Date: 3/2/2007
Helpful Score: 2


Nicely told story - and the end was unexpected.


First Cut
First Cut
Author: Leah Ruth Robinson
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 7/24/2007


"Even for a seen-everything New York emergency room resident like Dr. Evelyn Sutcliffe, things seem to be getting a bit out of hand. There's a serial killer loose in the neighborhood, anti-abortion activists have shot a clinic doctor and bombed a bus stop, and Dr. Sutcliffe is inexplicably assaulted on her way to work at six o'clock in the morning. Upon discovering that she knew one of the serial killer's victims, Dr. Sutcliffe decides to seek clues to the killer's identity. When a medical student helping Dr. Sutcliffe investigate is found stabbed in the doctors' residence hall and the serial killer's signature baby doll is found at the scene, Dr. Sutcliffe begins to fear that her life might also be in danger."


First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
First to Die (Women's Murder Club, Bk 1)
Author: James Patterson
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1706
Review Date: 3/26/2007


A good read.


The Gathering
The Gathering
Author: Anne Enright
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 226
Review Date: 12/5/2010
Helpful Score: 3


I grew up in a large Catholic family; my mother was 100% Irish. I was totally engrossed in this book. There was so much that resonated with me because of my upbringing (both painful and joyful; the many personalities that populate a large family). I've highly recommended it to all of my siblings. This is one of those books that have stuck in my mind, that I keep returning to, months after I finished reading it. I do recommend it!


Getting In TTouch with Your Cat
Getting In TTouch with Your Cat
Author: Linda Tellington Jones
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 8/20/2008


A wonderful resource for cat lovers! 'A practical guide to Linda Tellington-Jone' revolutionary TTouches...over 20 easy to learn and apply techniques explained in detail.


Lies of Silence
Lies of Silence
Author: Brian Moore
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 2/26/2007


From the book jacket: National Bestseller: Civilized and apolitical, Michael Dillon is the manager of the finest hotel in a dangerous, graffiti-gouled city divided against itself. On the eve of choosing between the two women in his life - a decision that will bring him great personal happiness - he is suddently and violently dragged into a worl of ethical temptations and fanatical terrorism. an ordinary man unwittingly trapped in a savage and terrifying conflict, he is now faced with only two options - both equally devastating...and deadly.


The Master Bedroom
The Master Bedroom
Author: Tessa Hadley
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/17/2008
Helpful Score: 2


This novel was woven together beautifully. The author looks at ordinary people in a pretty brutally honest way; the plot doesn't follow any expected route. The book is set in Cardiff, Wales - I don't think I've ever read a book set in Wales, which was also enriching for me. I was delighted to discover this author, and will read more of her books.


The Master Butchers Singing Club
The Master Butchers Singing Club
Author: Louise Erdrich
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/26/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This was a National Book Award Finalist - this may be Louise Erdrich's most engaging novel - it was a fascinating read, and easier than some of her writing.


Ordinary Wolves
Ordinary Wolves
Author: Seth Kantner
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 8/20/2007
Helpful Score: 1


From the book jacket: "I've not read anything that so captures the contrast between the wild world and our ravaging consumer culture. Ordinary Wolves is painful and beautiful" - Louise Erdrich
This is a beautiful, unique, wonderful read.


Over the Edge (Alex Delaware, Bk 3)
Over the Edge (Alex Delaware, Bk 3)
Author: Jonathan Kellerman
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 109
Review Date: 7/24/2007


One of the Alex Delaware novels. You care about both the plot and what's happening in Alex Delaware's life.


Perfume : The Story of a Murderer
Perfume : The Story of a Murderer
Author: Patrick Suskind
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 1/22/2007


Read this BEFORE you see the movie! This is one of those books that sticks with you for a really long time - quite a powerful read. I recommend it, but it's not for the squeamish.


The Poisonwood Bible
The Poisonwood Bible
Author: Barbara Kingsolver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1162
Review Date: 7/24/2007
Helpful Score: 1


This book is way up on the top of my list of good books.


The Prestige
The Prestige
Author: Christopher Priest
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 42
Review Date: 3/17/2007


I had seen the movie and wanted to read the original version. The story is quite different, and was quite a satisfying read. It gives a telling look at the substantial (and unnecessary?) changes Hollywood makes.


The Sea
The Sea
Author: John Banville
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.2/5 Stars.
 101
Review Date: 12/4/2007


This novel won the Man Booker Prize, among other prizes and 'best of year' lists, and appropriately, it's full of symbolism that makes it a very rich read.


The Sound and the Fury (Cliffs Notes)
The Sound and the Fury (Cliffs Notes)
Author: William Faulkner, James L. Roberts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/20/2007


This added immeasurably to my understanding of the original text.


1 to 20 of 23 - Page: