Maurene G. (HayabusaLvr) - Reviews

1 to 20 of 91 - Page:
1001 Ideas to Create Retail Excitement
1001 Ideas to Create Retail Excitement
Author: Edgar A. Falk
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 3/6/2006


I've done quite a bit of research into this area, and this book is worthwhile reading if you're thinking of opening your own retail/resale/consignment shop.


An Acceptable Time (Time, Bk 5)
An Acceptable Time (Time, Bk 5)
Author: Madeleine L'Engle
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 112
Review Date: 6/22/2006
Helpful Score: 1


This was a fairly good read, although I got the impression I had missed an earlier book in the series. Although I think it was written in 89 or thereabouts, it still had a timeless feel. I was somewhat disappointed that the rest of the family didn't make an appearance.


All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat
All I Need to Know I Learned from My Cat
Author: Suzy Becker
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 71
Review Date: 1/24/2006


And now I know it all....


Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Awaken Me Darkly (Alien Huntress, Bk 1)
Author: Gena Showalter
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 233
Review Date: 9/1/2006


Loved it! I can't wait until the next one in the series.


Bad Cats
Bad Cats
Author: Rick Stromoski
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 7/5/2006


What a disappointing book! There WERE a few cute cartoons, but quite a few of them just didn't make sense.


Barrow Sinister
Barrow Sinister
Author: Elsie Lee
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/19/2007


Yawn! I was so bored I couldn't even finish this book. I skipped right to the end. The ending was good enough that I wished I had read the entire thing but I still couldn't summon up enough interest.

But in any case, it's your typical gothic romance from the 70's or thereabouts. It's not going to enhance your life, but perhaps you'll find it of more interest than I did.


Beneath the Surface (Circle, Bk 3) (Silhouette Dreamscapes)
Beneath the Surface (Circle, Bk 3) (Silhouette Dreamscapes)
Author: Evelyn Vaughn
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.1/5 Stars.
 5
Review Date: 7/10/2006


This was better than I expected it to be.


Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Bitten & Smitten (Immortality Bites, Bk 1)
Author: Michelle Rowen
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 424
Review Date: 2/27/2006


Not bad! The heroine reminds me a bit of MJD's Betsy Taylor, although Sarah is a little less "blonde." But if you like that series, you'll probably like this book. Just wish I knew how to pronounce Thierry....


Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Bitten (Otherworld, Bk 1)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 350
Review Date: 11/19/2007


This one is a keeper. I found myself rooting for the wrong guy! Had I read the others first that might have been different. But it was a good enough read to get me interested in the sequels, all of which I loved. Perhaps it's not the best of the bunch but it's worth reading for background if nothing else.


The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
The Book of Shadows (Herculine, Bk 1)
Author: James Reese
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 102
Review Date: 3/6/2006


I found this a bit of a yawn. I made it page by page up to the point she moved out of the school, and then I skimmed to the end. It's not bad, it just didn't interest me.


The Book of the Dead (Pendergast, Bk 7)
The Book of the Dead (Pendergast, Bk 7)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 311
Review Date: 11/19/2007
Helpful Score: 1


Loved it! I'm a big fan of these guys, and particularly of the Pendergast series. Nothing earthshaking perhaps, but a very good read nevertheless.


Born in Shame (Born In, Bk 3)
Born in Shame (Born In, Bk 3)
Author: Nora Roberts
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 583
Review Date: 11/19/2007


If you love Nora Roberts, you can't go wrong with this book.


Broken (Women of the Underworld, Bk 6)
Broken (Women of the Underworld, Bk 6)
Author: Kelley Armstrong
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 482
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Another excellent read by this author. I didn't much care for the Paige storyline nor for the dead woman's, but I love this particular series. I'm keeping this one!


Burning Water (Diana Tregarde, Bk 1)
Burning Water (Diana Tregarde, Bk 1)
Author: Mercedes Lackey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 120
Review Date: 6/7/2006


I didn't much enjoy this book. I thought the writing was a little amateurish, the story was a bit drawn out and I couldn't wait to finish it. No romance either.


Charmed to Death (Ophelia and Abby, Bk 2)
Charmed to Death (Ophelia and Abby, Bk 2)
Author: Shirley Damsgaard
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 235
Review Date: 8/11/2008


This is my second Shirley and I liked it as much as the first. I'm looking forward to getting more!


Children at Risk
Children at Risk
Author: James Dobson, Gary L. Bauer
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.5/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 11/19/2007


I ordered this book for laughs - I'd heard that it touched on the occult and whatnot. I ended up not being as interested as I was when I first heard of it, and since I neither have kids nor agree with their concerns, I quickly lost interest.

But I guess if you want to worry about those things, this is the book for you.


Coincidence
Coincidence
Author: David Ambrose
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.8/5 Stars.
 2
Review Date: 6/30/2008


I loved this book! I first read his The Man Who Turned Into Himself and realized I'd hit the jackpot with a possibly great new author. And this book didn't disappoint me. He's good enough to make it into my blog.

It's so refreshing to read a book (for a change) where I can't guess what's going to happen next, or even where I can't guess what the characters are likely to say or do at any point.

Although this book isn't the type I usually read (paranormal romance), it's scientific-ness wasn't so far removed....the ooky factor was there albeit watered down with logic.

An excellent read. Can't wait for the next one!


Crescent Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 4)
Crescent Moon (Nightcreature, Bk 4)
Author: Lori Handeland
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 214
Review Date: 7/5/2006


Not bad at all. I was expecting, and got, a crossover from the earlier series which was a bonus. She's definitely on my watch list!


The Crying Child
The Crying Child
Author: Barbara Michaels
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 36
Review Date: 11/19/2007


Typical BM of this era. You've got your ooky and you've got your romance. I can't say this book was one of her best, but if you like what BM has to offer this is a good read. Unlike some of her other books, there's less of a feminist stance here, and I don't recall that any of the details seem outdated.


Dangerous Boys and Their Toy
Dangerous Boys and Their Toy
Author: Shayla Black
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 117
Review Date: 8/20/2009
Helpful Score: 7


Woof! It's short but oh so sweet. But I don't mean cloyingly sweet.....this book is smoking hot and one of her best. But a word of warning - if you're homophobic you'd better take a pass. This isn't gay porn but there is some definite guy in and on guy action. If that creeps you out, move on. If it doesn't....then you'll be glad you picked this up and you might even start looking for more!


1 to 20 of 91 - Page: