Sylvia W. (Sly1) - , - Reviews

1 to 20 of 44 - Page:
Best-Laid Plans (Signet Regency Romance)
Best-Laid Plans (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Vanessa Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 8/28/2010


From Inside Cover: Pommy felt Justin's hot gaze on her, sliding caressingly from crown to toe. He must, she thought, hear the blood pounding in her head as he came toward her. She felt the kiss in his eyes as though his lips had already taken possession of hers. She understood the hunger she saw in his eyes, for that same need swept over her in wordless demand.

Pommy of course, was engaged to another man, the odious Frederick Watters. And Justin was engaged to another woman, the insipid Anilee Mortimer.

What they were engaged in now, though, was something else. Something close to scandal....

Light and entertaining read. Easy plot, not overly complicated.


The Christmas Carrolls
The Christmas Carrolls
Author: Barbara Metzger
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 11/22/2010


From Back Cover: If Lord Carroll had one wish, it was to see his lovely daughters --Joia, Hollice and Meredith--happily wed. The problem was finding three suitable beaus.

However, twas Christmas, a time for surpirses. Joia found a notorious rake coming to her rescue. Holly could not believe who was suddenly vying for her affection. And Merry won the heart of a brave but broken soldier. Not the best matches, perhaps. But if the season was truly magical, the Christmas Carrolls would indeed receive tidings of comfort and joy!

Very light read. Characters are not well developed as one would expect for having 3-4 short stories rolled up into one. But cute for a quick holiday read.


A Christmas Promise (Signet Regency Romance)
A Christmas Promise (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 38
Review Date: 6/7/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Randolph Pierce is a penniless lord, and Eleanor Transome is the rich daughter of a dying Cit. Her father practically blackmails Randolph into marrying his daughter, and she believes herself to be in love with another, but allows herself to fall in with her father's wishes and marry the Lord. They hate each other at first site, until a trip to his county home, and her warm and loving extended family come together at Christmas time. Then the season works its magic.

Overall, I enjoyed the book. The old-fashioned Holiday customs were fun to read about. I enjoyed the way the author would tell the story from both protagonists' points of view. I enjoyed most of the characters, but found the heroine a bit tedious at times, as she would always be wanting to pick a fight with the hero, when he would be offering the proverbial "olive branch".


The Colonel's Lady (Signet Regency Romance)
The Colonel's Lady (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Patricia Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


This is the love story of Regina, the Marquess of Gresham's sister (The Marquess being one of the Seven Corinthians from Patricia Oliver's series). This story was a little difficult for me to swallow. They marry under duress, when the Colonel's philandering brother causes the Lady to get herself into a compromising position. He then goes off to war, and she goes home. Apparently, absence makes the heart grow fonder, as she begins to miss her husband, as tales of the horror of the war begin to make it back to the public. When they get together again, they begin to heal their relationship somewhat, but Regina hasn't forgiven her father for forcing their marriage. When the father falls deathly ill, her husband insists she visit him, and during that stay, she experiences some tenderness and passion from her husband who she previously believed incapable of such emotions. Their marriage however remains unconsummated after 6 months, and she is mortified when her father begins to badger her about a grandchild. The Colonel and his wife return to their home, but a misunderstanding causes her to flee to her father's house again, where she pours out her marital problems to her brothers. The
Colonel pursues, and the Marquess and the Colonel engage in hand to hand combat. Both are badly bruised and as Regina nurses her husband's wounds, they finally clear up their misunderstandings.


The Controversial Countess (Signet Regency Romance)
The Controversial Countess (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Jo Putney
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 3/7/2010
Helpful Score: 1


From the back cover: Ravishingly beautiful Countess Magda Janos was the toast of Paris and the center of a swarm of suitors. But who was this gorgeous creature? Two men knew the truth about her. Attractive, charming Robert Anderson, the black sheep blue-blood, was her intimate ally in her life of dazzling deception. The other, was the devastatingly handsome Duke of Candover, who arrived from Regency London to damand that the controversial countess pretend to be his mistress in a dangerous game of intrigue. Which presented this lady of mystery with a duet of perils as she risked being unmasked by the domineering duke....and undone by love.

Apparently, the Duke of Candover, does get his own love story. This is a sequel to The Would Be Widow. It is a mystery/love story. Well done, characters are likeable. Heroine is of a different source, being older and very self-sufficient. A Good Read.


Courting Trouble (Zebra Regency Romance)
Courting Trouble (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Nonnie St.George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 14
Review Date: 6/25/2012


I loved this book! The Duke of St. Fell is the man you love to hate. He falls in love with Arabella Swann a rich merchants daughter. But with her large fortune and his reputation as a rake, how will he convince her that he loves her for herself and not her money. The secondary characters in the book, especially his mother, and her spinster aunt, who both love cheap romance novels, are a delightful addition to the story line. I hope Nonnie St. George gets back to writing regency romance real soon! This one is a keeper and her first foray into regency romance, The Ideal Bride was also a laugh out loud hit!


A Daring Deceit (Zebra Regency Romance)
A Daring Deceit (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Claudette Williams
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 8/25/2010


From Back Cover: Vivacious Lillian Aulderbury couldn't have been more delighted! Her very first London season had presented her with a perfect opportunityy to foil Sir Anthony Meade, the scheming blackguard who'd trifled with her affections. For what better way to catch one scoundrel than to enlist the aid of another- namely, her society escort, the rakish Earl of Raeburn? But Lilly soon discovered that resisting the handsome and worldy earl was proving a far more difficult - and irresistable challenge.

When he reluctantly agreed to squire the alluring Miss Aulderbury about London, Raeburn never expected to be inveigled into such a reckless scheme...or to find the innocent country lass as delectable as she was determined. There was no help for it - he would have to keep a watchful eye on the pretty, grey-eyed vixen and see that she came to no harm. But who would protect him from LIlly's refreshingly spirited charms- or from his own suddenly impassioned heart?

Enjoyed this book! The heroine is very likeable, as is the hero. My favorite, though, is Uncle Wizzy, who doesn't appear until approximately 2/3 way through the book and seems to sum up the situation before anyone else, including the hero/heroine. A good read, but could be cheesy in parts, but not overly so.


Daughter of the Dreadfuls (Signet Regency Romance)
Daughter of the Dreadfuls (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Barbara Sherrod
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.4/5 Stars.
 4
Review Date: 6/4/2012


Miss Emma Drenville lacks grace but is very beautiful. She comes from a family that is very eccentric. Hence the nickname the Dreadfuls. The hero, Nathan Hale is home from military duty. He is intrigued by her beauty, but unwittingly insults her family. He then follows her to London to make amends and to pursue her further. This was an ok book. I like my H/H to have more verbal sparring, but it was a quick and easy read.


Devil's Match (Signet Regency Romance)
Devil's Match (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Anita Mills
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/24/2009


From Inside Cover: Caroline did not hesitate when Patrick Danvers made his proposal of marriage. "No," she said. "I have not the least intention of selling my person for dresses and pin money. Now if you will excuse me."

But Patrick refused to move aside. "You would not find it an unpleasnat experience, I think," he murmured. Then, to her utter horror, he grasped her shoulders, and before she realized his intent, he bent his head to hers. It was her first real kiss.

Resolutely, she stiffened, and pushed him away. He released her abruptly. "Your pardon, Miss Ashley--I should not have done that."

"I should think it all of a piece," she choked when she found her voice. "'Tis expected of Devil Danvers!"

But what Caroline had not expected--though she did not say so--was what this devilish kiss had done to her....

I liked this story alot. The hero has a bad reputation, unjustly labeled. The heroine was likeable. There was a second libeled lord, that added some tension to the situation when it appeared he may be going after Caroline. I found Patrick's friend a bit annoying, as he was portrayed as a bit of a "slo-top". At the beginning of the story, we find Patrick somewhat antisocial. He has shunned the Polite Society, that has shunned him based on rumors. But he must marry and produce and heir within 1 yr to keep his inheritance, and his cousin turns him towards her companion. As Patrick's aquaintance with Caroline develops, he finds that he may want to be more a part of Polite Society than he ever thought before....


The Double Wager (Signet Regency Romance)
The Double Wager (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 23
Review Date: 8/25/2010
Helpful Score: 1


From Inside Cover: Miss Henrietta Tallant met the Duke of Eversleigh for the first time at a ball--when she tripped over her own feet in a waltz and stumbled over her own words in conversation. Then he appeared again--in her drawing room.

"Miss Tallant," he said, in a languid tone that belied his clear strength of person and authority of bearing, "I can see it is useless to try to make polite small talk with you. I shall get immediately to thepoint. Will you do me the honor of becoming my wife?"

Henry's jaw dropped. "Your wife?" she said faintly.

"I have taken you by surprise, I see," said the Duke. "Should I have paved the way more carefully by falling on my knees and declaring undying love and devotion? I can still do so if you wish."

Henry stood frozen. She had only to say yes to possess everything any young lady could want...any young lady but her.....


I loved this book. One of my Balogh favorites and goes in my "Do not depart with" file. I like how we can tell from the get go that the Duke is in love with Henry, even though he is a quiet man, and not overly demonstrative. He is always very gentle in his guiding of Henry. She is delightful, very likeable. Her extended family is quite a trip too, and I love how Everleigh takes it all in stride. Good Read.


Duel Of Hearts
Duel Of Hearts
Author: Elizabeth Mansfield
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.7/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 5/5/2010


From Back Cover: "There's no time to explain!" Sarah said. "Come and sit down beside me. Quickly!" She pulled him to the sofa. The door had been left open so that anyone passing would be bound to see them. Sarah placed his arms firmly around her waist. "Now, Edward, try not to be too shocked. I want you to kiss me"

"What?" Edward gaped at her. "You can't mean..."

"Yes, I do!" She threw her arms around him and lifted her face to his. "Kiss me....as if you really mean it!"

Ok book. Somethings a bit hard to swallow, like Lord North's pursuing heroine for years, excessive possessiveness, a little creepy if you ask me. Also Edward the hero, was a little slow to come to realization of who he really loved. A bit annoying.


The Duke's Wager (Dishonored, Bk 1) (Signet Regency Romance)
The Duke's Wager (Dishonored, Bk 1) (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Edith Layton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.7/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 11/17/2010


Beautiful and innocent Regina Berryman finds herself in sombre circumstances when two rakes of the realm vie for her affections. The Duke of Torquay is very scandalous and will sink to low levels to get his way. The Marquis of Bessacarr, rumored to be the Duke's successor as the most scandalous rake, is acting as her protector, but also has nefarious plans in mind. With two such men plotting against her, can the lovely Regina hold on to her virtue?

This book was ok. I found it somewhat unbelievable and disturbing at what lengths the Duke would sink to in order to make her dependent upon him.


Dunraven's Folly (Signet Regency Romance)
Dunraven's Folly (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Dawn Lindsey
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 11/9/2010


From Inside Cover: "What first attracted me about you was the fact that you were wholly indifferent to my war wound," Lord Simon Grey confessed. "Most women I meet want to soothe my brow with their soft white hands."
Cathleen gave a low laugh. "Then you needn't worry. I have no soft white hands. If the bruth be known, I'm far more accustomed to mucking out stables than pouring tea in a drawing room."
He captured her hands and held them. "Don't be ashamed of such hands. Why do you think I fell in love with you almost at first sight, except that you were wholly unlike all the women I've known?"
"Because of my ruined hands, " Cathleen joked. Then his words penetrated, and her face went deathly pale. " What did you say?"
But Cathleen knew perfectly well what Lord Simon had just said. The question is: What should she...what could she...what would she..do?

This book is pretty simple and straightforward. I really liked it though, because the hero is rendered vulnerable by his damaged leg from war and I have a real soft spot for vulnerable men. Also, the heroine has a saucy tongue, and I do enjoy good bantering between the protagonists. I recommend this book for a quick and easy read, and enjoyable story line.


The Dutiful Daughter
The Dutiful Daughter
Author: Vanessa Gray
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.2/5 Stars.
 3
Review Date: 11/16/2009


From the Inside Cover: In the competition for Chloe Rothwell's hand, four contenders had forged out ahead of the pack. There was Lord Francis Hensley, whose polished manners and high connections almost covered up the vast vacancy of his mind. There was Thaddeus Invers, whose wit and wisdom were stolen only from the very best authors. There was Julian Stoddard, famous for his success both at the gaming table and in the boudoir. And last but hardly least, there was Sir Richard Davanant, who was far too good a friend for Chloe to consider turning into a lover. All four were in a race against each other to win Chloe--and Chloe was in a race against time to make up her mind...and her heart....


The Ideal Bride (Zebra Regency Romance)
The Ideal Bride (Zebra Regency Romance)
Author: Nonnie St.George
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 20
Review Date: 5/3/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Back Cover: Why look for the ideal wife....Marriage is a serious matter according to wealthy businessman Gabriel Carr, not to be influenced by anything so frivolous as emotion -- or the ususally giddy female reaction to his striking good looks. Drawing up a list of the traits he requires in a bride is the first step; the second is asking his merchant tenants to introduce him to suitable young women. Lady Nola Grenvale, the first candidate, is far from ideal -- espiecially when Gabrile learns that her interest in him has nothing to dod with marriage, but with his Soho Square warehouse instead!

When true love has just arrived? Nola's fondest dream is to create a bazaar where war widows might sell their handiwork, and Gabriel's warehouse is a perfect site for the enterprise. Yet the stubborn man, ridiculously handsome though he may be--refuses to lease it to her! Determined to prove that her scheme is sensible, Nola agrees to lend her aid to some of his other projects--and soon realizes that Gabriel's masculine appeal is not the only thing about him she admires. It's clear that she fulfills none of his stated ideals, yet before long she yearns to offer the irresistible man the one thing he hasn't listed...her love.

Loved, loved, loved this story. It is very unique. Gabriel is almost the woman in this book. He batts his eyelashes, is obsessed with being loved for himself and not his warehouse. I also love his mother, who openly mocks her son's plans, and comments on his imperfections attempting to bring him down a notch or two. Very entertaining read!


An Immodest Proposal (Signet Regency Romance)
An Immodest Proposal (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Patricia Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 6/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Lady Cynthia Lonsdale, was young, newly widowed, and fabulously wealthy--the ideal prey for every fortune hunter in the realm. Cynthia, however, refused to look in their direction--nor would she let her father wed her to yet another elderly lord. Instead she would take immodest advantage of being sinfully rich. She would choose a handsome young man and pay him to join her in a marriage that at least would be an honest bargain--not an odious deception. (From the back cover)

Lady Cynthia is the cousins of the Marquess of Monroyal and Hon. Willoughby Hampton, both of whom figure prominently in the Seven Corinthian Series by Ms. Oliver. Overall, I liked this book, but I found it difficult to believe that a lady would be able to "purchase" her new husband in those days, and this would be sanctioned by her parents, who were aware of what she was about. Also, Lady Cynthia and the Marquess did have a very fliratious relationship. I almost believed that the Marquess harboured a secret love for her. She could be silly sometimes, not telling her husband simple and important facts, that she shared with others first.


Lady with a Black Umbrella (Signet Regency Romance)
Lady with a Black Umbrella (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Mary Balogh
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 8/10/2010
Helpful Score: 1


Mary Balogh is one of my favorite authors, and with good cause. Lady with a Black Umbrella does not disappoint. The heroine, Daisy, is a very likeable character. Considering herself "on the shelf" at age 25, she is determined that her beautiful younger sister Rose, will make a good match. When she arrives in London and finds her aunt and uncle out of the country, she has to find someone to make introductions for her sister and self. Thankfully, she rescued a very good-looking and titled lord(Lord Kincaid) from some thugs at the local inn (using her black umbrella). When same said lord must leave without paying his bills, she pays them for him, even his whore. When she meets up with him in London, she feels he might be grateful enough to help her with the introductions she needs. What she is oblivious to is that he is angry and humiliated that she has paid his debts of such delicate nature, especially when this becomes public knowledge. Aggravation and chaos gradually blossom into mutual feelings. A delightful read!


Lord Gresham's Lady (Signet Regency Romance)
Lord Gresham's Lady (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Patricia Oliver
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 6/27/2009
Helpful Score: 1


Lady Sarah Stanton had all too good reason to despair of her future--and to fear for her virtue. Prudence and proprpiety were forcing the beautfiul but impverished young widow into wedlock with the repulsive Sir Edward Grimes. But the alternantive was even worse. The dazzlingly handsome, totlly hearless Lord Gresham offered everything except marriage if she would satisfy his hunger for her. (From the back cover)

Lord Gresham is one of the Seven Corinthians. He is a notorious rake, who finds himself in the country on familial visit with his fellow corinthian, Hon. Willy Hampton. He sees Willy's cousin Lady Sarah and is instantly smitten, but he is not the marrying kind. He offers her carte blanche, which is what she doesn't want. But she is constantly finding herself taking generosities from Lord Gresham. She finally sees that she must pay back her debt to the Marquess by giving him what he wants. After the deed is done however, she realizes she can't live like that and breaks it off from the Marquess. I found this book interesting for two reasons: the first was that it demonstrated that during that time period, if a Lady was poor she could be forced to do things against what she wanted, manipulated if you will, and second, Ms Oliver touched on an unusual subject, and that was an early sexual experience that the Marquess suffered from an older lady at the age of 16, and how that had contributed to his becoming a Rake, and his distrust of women, and unwillingness to committ. A good Read!


Lord Ramsay's Return (Ramsay, Bk 2) (Signet Regency Romance)
Lord Ramsay's Return (Ramsay, Bk 2) (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Elisabeth Fairchild
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 2.3/5 Stars.
 6
Review Date: 7/23/2009


Lovely young Miss Prudence Stanhope was intimately acquainted with the danger of men's desires, and the devices and deceits designed to undo a lady's defenses. Already she had survived one such campaign of conquest with her illusions shattered, her heart broken, but her innocence still intact.

Nothing, however, prepared Prudence for Lord Charles Ramsay. Not only was this elegant aristocrat both handsome and charming, he had returned from India with seductive skills unknown to ordinary English gentlemen. How could Prudence resist this man who stalked a woman as he might a tiger? How could she show she had teeth and claws with her arms around his neck and her lips crushed under his? And above all, how could she tell before it was too late if the spell that bound her was the sensual sorcery of the east--or the genuine magic of true love? (From the back cover)


The Love Knot (Ramsay, Bk 1) (Signet Regency Romance)
The Love Knot (Ramsay, Bk 1) (Signet Regency Romance)
Author: Elisabeth Fairchild
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.3/5 Stars.
 8
Review Date: 7/19/2009


Miss Aurora Ramsay had set her sights on a moneyed marriage to save her family estate-and had found the perfect target. Not only was Lord Walsh wonderfully wealthy, he was her ideal of masterful masculinity and rugged good looks to boot. But Aurora was a novice when it came to the art of hunting for a man. She had to learn how to stir a man's senses as well as snare his heart without delay-and only one person could teach her. Miles Fletcher might be the kind of dandy she scorned, but this devastatingly handsome, exquisitely elegant gentleman knew every trick of enticement and strategy of seduction. He promised to make her irresistible to any man if she put herself in his knowing hands. He did not mention, though, what would happen when she found herself in his surprisigly strong arms....(From back cover)

I believe this to be the first of three books regarding members of the Ramsay Family. Lord Ramsay's Return being the following book and the The Rakehell's Reform the last. That aside, I loved this book. I found Miles Fletcher charming and liked how the author contrasted his look/qualities against the rugged, good looks of Lord Walsh. I found the heroine very likeable too, not too mishish, or slow to understand. I enjoyed reading(seeing) Miles in action seducing his protegee! Very enjoyable book!


1 to 20 of 44 - Page: