Jeff S. - Reviews

1 to 20 of 32 - Page:
The Advocate: A Novel of World War II, Conspiracy, and Murder
Review Date: 3/24/2007


A great change of pace if you like legal thrillers. The WWII setting and military overtones present a stage that one doesn't normally see. Refreshing and easy to read!


Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Angels & Demons (Robert Langdon, Bk 1)
Author: Dan Brown
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 3674
Review Date: 5/15/2006


Before the Da Vinci Code... This is an equally engaging prequel. His writing is hard to put down as the pace just pulls you into every page. A great story without the controversy of the current book.


Between You and Me
Between You and Me
Author: Gary Paul Gates, Mike Wallace
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 10
Review Date: 3/5/2007


Great read--lots of history and insight from the icon- "Mike Wallace", from politics to stars! Plus a CD of interviews in the book!


The Boeing 747 (Aero Series)
The Boeing 747 (Aero Series)
Author: David H. Minton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Everything you'd want to know about the venerable 747!


Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Brimstone (Pendergast, Bk 5)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.1/5 Stars.
 329
Review Date: 9/30/2006


Has the devil come to claim his due? FBI Special Agent Pendergast is back! From Relic, to Reliquery and on---continue the adventure with this modern-day Sherlock. A hero's hero! Fun to read and keeps you turning pages long into the night!


The Broker
The Broker
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.7/5 Stars.
 1001
Review Date: 12/7/2006


Very different for Grisham, as more of a spy thriller. Very well done and thought out!


The Cannibal Queen
The Cannibal Queen
Author: Stephen Coonts
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 7
Review Date: 12/21/2005


A non-fiction diary-style read, filled with great aviation-oriented exploration as Coonts flies all around the country in a vintage biplane, fulfilling a dream in the fashion of the classic barnstormers. I found it insightful as you listen to him find "himself" and various truths throughout the journey.


The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
The Codex (Codex, Bk 01)
Author: Douglas Preston
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.8/5 Stars.
 273
Review Date: 10/9/2006


Excellent suspense thriller set in the jungles of Honduras. A great plot of a rich father that buries himself with all his treasures and challenges his sons to find him!


Combat 3
Combat 3
Author: Stephen Coonts (Editor)
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 15
Review Date: 12/21/2005
Helpful Score: 2


4 good stories instead of one long novel! All well-written by top authors--the sampler platter!


The Complete Idiot's Guide to DOS
The Complete Idiot's Guide to DOS
Author: Jennifer Fulton
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/21/2005


This is a brand-new, unused book in excellent condition. The cover says it all: No pain, no strain...just easy steps. A great tool for the computer user/learner!


Dance of Death (Pendergast, Bk 6)
Dance of Death (Pendergast, Bk 6)
Author: Douglas Preston, Lincoln Child
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4.2/5 Stars.
 302
Review Date: 1/12/2007


Great mover of the trilogy following Agent Pendergast and D'Agosta. --Can't wait to pursue the next book by these fine authors!


The Devil's Captain
The Devil's Captain
Author: Phillip Shea
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/21/2005


A great pirate tale! In the vein of Blackbeard or Pirates of the Carribbean, this story gives insight to what that life would have been like. Refreshing and interesting, with good action throughout. Arrrgh!


F-117A Stealth Fighter
F-117A Stealth Fighter
Author: Steve Pace
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 12/7/2006


A complete history of the Stealth Fighter program--from its inception all the way through the F-117A's deploymeny in Operation Desert Storm!


Ice Hunt
Ice Hunt
Author: James Rollins
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 375
Review Date: 11/2/2006
Helpful Score: 1


Action from start to finish. This one keeps you on your toes as you try to figure what's next!


Jupiter
Jupiter
Author: Various
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.5/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 2/24/2006


A fine sampler of Science Fiction, all based upon the planet Jupiter. Timely as we extend our reach into our solar system, and thought-provoking. Easy reading and enjoyable!


The Measure of a Man : A Spiritual Autobiography
The Measure of a Man : A Spiritual Autobiography
Author: Sidney Poitier
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 3.9/5 Stars.
 17
Review Date: 9/30/2006


An insightful memoir that looks deeply into Sydney Poitier's views on life and what makes it "life". A great read that really makes you think and look inward!


The Mighty Johns
The Mighty Johns
Author: Otto Penzler (Editor)
Book Type: Hardcover
  • Currently 2.9/5 Stars.
 11
Review Date: 1/31/2018


Despite initial appearances, this is actually a collection of short stories--not just one Baldacci Novel. They're all football-related mysteries and fun to experience in all the ways the plots can run from a single idea/premise.


A Painted House
A Painted House
Author: John Grisham
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 1235
Review Date: 8/7/2006


Excellent story, even if you are looking for his law-related tales. Graet to see Mr. Grisham expanding horizons. Give it a try!


The Ragman's Son: An Autobiography
The Ragman's Son: An Autobiography
Author: Kirk Douglas
Book Type: Paperback
  • Currently 4/5 Stars.
 1
Review Date: 5/15/2006


What a life.. No holds barred, from growing up to behind the Hollywood scenes. I've benn looking for his movies ever since I read it. --Gives me a whole new perspective!!


Red Rabbit (Jack Ryan, Bk 2)
Red Rabbit (Jack Ryan, Bk 2)
Author: Tom Clancy
Book Type: Mass Market Paperback
  • Currently 3.6/5 Stars.
 188
Review Date: 8/7/2006


Classic spy vs. spy by Clancy. Filled with the details you expect from the thorough writer he is. Great tale with a wide cast of characters.


1 to 20 of 32 - Page: